Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Seven - cover

Seven

Farzana Doctor

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A rich, nuanced inter-generational family tale that brings visibility to the practice of female genital cutting
Leaving New York to visit India with her husband, Sharifa dives into genealogical research and is intrigued by the missing stories of her great-great-grandfather's four wives. Soon Sharifa uncovers uncomfortable truths about her family's past and is faced with reconciling age-old traditions with their place in the modern world.
Author's previous novel Six Metres of Pavement won a Lambda Literary Award, was shortlisted for the Toronto Book Award, and won One Book One Brampton 2017
Author volunteers with WeSpeakOut, a group that is working to ban female genital cutting in her Dawoodi Bohra community

Other books that might interest you

  • Bittersweet Manor - A Novel - cover

    Bittersweet Manor - A Novel

    Tory McCagg

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After a four-month estrangement from her family, thirty-two-year-old Emma Michaels visits The Harbor View Assisted Living Home to tell her grandmother, Gussie, that she has made a decision: she’s going to sell the family property—her inheritance. Sitting on the dock of Poquatuck Village, Connecticut, looking across the harbor to their family’s longtime home, the two women debate over Emma’s choice—and their conversation lays the framework for the book, which flows over the decades, all the way back to Gussie's youth and marriage, then forward through the lives of her three children, Auggie, Livy, and Alyssa, whose hopes and talents are warped by their mother’s influence and disappointed expectations. Expectations passed down through the generations. Subtle. Unspoken. Implacable. 
    
    
    
    As Emma and Gussie remember the choices and dynamics that have produced the complicated tapestry that is their family’s history, Emma makes a number of surprising discoveries about her loved ones—and herself—and she prepares to do what no one else in her family has dared: let go of the past to make room for the future, though doing so will destroy the thing her grandmother holds most dear.
    Show book
  • The Day She Died - cover

    The Day She Died

    S. M. Freedman

    • 5
    • 22
    • 1
    A mind-bending psychological thriller that's The Girl on the Train meets The Silent Patient with a tragic, whimsical tone
    Told in alternating chapters of Eve’s unreliable, murky memories, and flashbacks of her childhood birthdays and that of her dead friend, the picture of Eve’s dark, twisted past begins to form, leaving the reader guessing until the very end
    Central questions around what is real and what is imagined and what makes something “real” or “fake”
    Author's debut novel was selected by Suspense Magazine as one of the "Best Books of 2015" in the Debut Author category
    Author is a former private investigator
    Show book
  • The Wolves of Savernake - A gripping medieval mystery from the bestselling author - cover

    The Wolves of Savernake - A...

    Edward Marston

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Ralph Delchard, a soldier who fought at the Battle of Hastings, and Gervase Bret, a talented lawyer, have been commissioned by William the Conqueror to look into irregularities brought to light during the compilation of the Domesday Book, the great survey of  England. Their investigations take them throughout the kingdom, but the pair often find themselves embroiled in more sinister mysteries in the towns they visit. The King’s work is a dangerous business. 
    A man’s body is found mutilated in Savernake Forest and the residents of Bedwyn sleep uneasy at night, fearing a monster stalking the town. When Ralph Delchard and Gervase Bret arrive, they soon discover that the locals are harbouring dark secrets and that the real killer may be a little closer to home…
    Show book
  • Fourteen Little Red Huts and Other Plays - cover

    Fourteen Little Red Huts and...

    Andrei Platonov

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this essential collection of Andrei Platonov's plays, the noted Platonov translator Robert Chandler edits and introduces The Hurdy-Gurdy (translated by Susan Larsen), Fourteen Little Red Huts (translated by Chandler), and Grandmother's Little Hut (translated by Jesse Irwin). Written in 1930 and 1933, respectively, The Hurdy-Gurdy and Fourteen Little Red Huts constitute an impassioned and penetrating response to Stalin's assault on the Soviet peasantry. They reflect the political urgency of Bertolt Brecht and anticipate the tragic farce of Samuel Beckett but play out through dialogue and characterization that is unmistakably Russian. This volume also includes Grandmother's Little Hut, an unfinished play that represents Platonov's later, gentler work.
    Show book
  • The Lies Within - cover

    The Lies Within

    Jane Isaac

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A well-crafted mystery . . . Crime writing at its best” from the bestselling author of Beneath the Ashes and Before It’s Too Late (David Evans, international bestselling author).  Be under no illusions by her kind face and eloquent manner . . . This woman is guilty of murder . . .   Grace Daniels is distraught after her daughter’s body is found in a Leicestershire country lane. With her family falling apart and the investigation going nowhere, Grace’s only solace is the re-emergence of Faye, an old friend who seems to understand her loss. DI Will Jackman delves into the case, until a family tragedy and a figure from his past threaten to derail him.   When the police discover another victim, the spotlight falls on Grace. Can Jackman find the killer, before Grace is convicted of a crime she didn’t commit?   “Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Visceral and compelling reading. Another cracker from Jane Isaac.”—Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon “Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable.”—Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series “A perfectly executed police investigation into a horrific act of violence and a moving depiction of buried secrets. My first read from Jane Isaac but definitely not my last.”—Sarah Ward, author of A Deadly Thaw   “An intelligent, convincing thriller with genuine characters and a pacy plot. Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction.”—Michael Wood, author of The Murder House   “Gripped from the very first page . . . Mesmerizing and disturbing.”—June Taylor, author of Keep Your Friends Close
    Show book
  • For Better For Worse - Domestic noir meets police procedural in this gripping page-turner - cover

    For Better For Worse - Domestic...

    Jane Isaac

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    'Jane Isaac knows how to tell a good yarn. Expertly plotted and true to life' Mel Sherratt. 
     
    Stuart Ingram was once a respected local councillor... 
     
    The first time the police knocked on Gina's door, they arrested her husband. 
     
    The second time, they accused him of child abuse. 
     
    But he died a guilty man. 
     
    This time, the police are here for Gina – to tell her that her husband is dead. Murdered, just two weeks before his trial. 
     
    Gina always stood by her husband. Even when everyone else walked away. She believed the trial would clear his name. But now Stuart is dead. 
     
    And his wife is the suspect. 
     
    It's a race against time for DC Beth Chamberlain to uncover the truth – especially when a second man turns up dead. 
     
    Domestic noir meets police procedural in this pacy thriller from Jane Isaac, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing, Fiona Barton and K.L. Slater. Previously published as Presumed Guilty. 
     
    Praise for Jane Isaac: 
     
    'Gripping subjects, brilliantly drawn characters and a twisty turny journey from beginning to end. A tense, thrilling read and definitely 5 humongous ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me' Angela Marsons on Hush Little Baby. 
     
    'Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread' Publishers Weekly. 
     
    'Move over La Plante...' Susan May, Suspense Magazine. 
     
    'Tense, dark and gritty: perfect combination' Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon. 
     
    'Crime writing at its best' David Evans, CWA Debut Dagger-shortlisted author of Torment. 
     
    'Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable' Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series. 
     
    'Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction' Michael Wood, author of For Reasons Unknown. 
     
    'Gripped from the very first page ... and just when you think it's over, it's really only the beginning' June Taylor, author of Losing Juliet. 
     
    'Brilliantly and intricately plotted, Jane Isaac has produced a terrific page-turner' Lizzie Sirett, Mystery People.
    Show book