"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Seven - cover

Seven

Farzana Doctor

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

AN INDIGO BEST BOOK OF 2020 • A GLOBE AND MAIL  BEST INDEPENDENT READ FOR FALL 2020 • AN APPLE BOOKS BEST BOOK OF 2020 • A NOW MAGAZINE TOP TEN BOOK OF 2020 • A CBC BOOKS BEST CANADIAN FICTION 2020 
 
"Be prepared for this novel to stay with you for a long time, especially its ending."—GLOBE AND MAIL 
"[An] extraordinary book... packed with discovery and jarring emotional arcs."—TORONTO STAR 
"Penetrating and subtle ... [An] immersive, absorbing portrait."—EDEN ROBINSON 
"Explores with courage and storytelling finesse the harsh truths within the ideals of kinship and community." —DAVID CHARIANDY 
"An urgent and passionate read." —VIVEK SHRAYA 
"Visceral and emotional... a courageous feat."—QUILL & QUIRE (starred review) 
 
A brave, soulfully written feminist novel about inheritance and resistance that tests the balance between kinship and the fight against customs that harm us. 
 
When Sharifa accompanies her husband on a marriage-saving trip to India in 2016, she thinks that she’s going to research her great-great-grandfather, a wealthy business leader and philanthropist. What captures her imagination is not his rags-to-riches story, but the mystery of his four wives, missing from the family lore. She ends up excavating much more than she had imagined. 
 
Sharifa’s trip coincides with a time of unrest within her insular and conservative religious community, and there is no escaping its politics. A group of feminists is speaking out against khatna, an age-old ritual they insist is female genital cutting. Sharifa’s two favourite cousins are on opposite sides of the debate and she seeks a middle ground. As the issue heats up, Sharifa discovers an unexpected truth and is forced to take a position.

Other books that might interest you

  • Show Them a Good Time - cover

    Show Them a Good Time

    Nicole Flattery

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Show Them a Good Time is a master class in the short story-bold, irreverent and agonizingly funny." Sally Rooney, Author of Normal People and Conversations with Friends 
     
    Named A Most Anticipated Novel of 2020 by 
    Entertainment Weekly * Marie Claire * Wall Street Journal * The A.V. Club * The Millions * Time * Parade * The Chicago Review of Books * LitHub 
     
     A blisteringly original and wickedly funny collection of stories about the strange worlds that women inhabit and the parts that they must play. 
      
    A sense of otherworldly menace is at work in the fiction of Nicole Flattery, but the threats are all too familiar. SHOW THEM A GOOD TIME tells the stories of women slotted away into restrictive roles: the celebrity's girlfriend, the widower's second wife, the lecherous professor's student, the corporate employee. And yet, the genius of Flattery's characters is to blithely demolish the boundaries of these limited and limiting social types with immense complexity and caustic intelligence. Nicole Flattery's women are too ferociously mordant, too painfully funny to remain in their places. 
     
    In this fiercely original and blazingly brilliant debut, Flattery likewise deconstructs the conventions of genre to serve up strange realities: In Not the End Yet, Flattery probes the hilarious and wrenching ambivalence of Internet dating as the apocalypse nears; in Sweet Talk, the mysterious disappearance of a number of local women sets the scene for a young girl to confront the dangerous uncertainties of her own sexuality; in this collection's center piece, Abortion, A Love Story, two college students in a dystopian campus reconfigure the perilous stories of their bodies in a fraught academic culture to offer a subversive, alarming, and wickedly funny play that takes over their own offstage lives. And yet, however surreal or richly imagined the setting, Flattery always shows us these strange worlds from startlingly unexpected angles, through an unforgettable cast of brutally honest, darkly hilarious women and girls.  
       
    Like the stories of Mary Gaitskill, Miranda July, Lorrie Moore, Joy Williams, and Ottessa Moshfegh, SHOW THEM A GOOD TIME is the work of a profoundly resonant and revelatory literary voice – at once spiky, humane, achingly hilarious-- that is sure to echo through the literary culture for decades to come.
    Show book
  • The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz Carlyle Thriller - cover

    The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz...

    Stella Rimington

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    For fans of Homeland and The Night Manager, the latest thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling espionage series sees Liz Carlyle investigating a sinister Russian plot. 
     
    A Russian immigrant lies dying in a hospice in upstate Vermont. When a stranger visits, claiming to be a childhood friend, the FBI is alerted and news quickly travels to MI5 in London. 
     
    Liz Carlyle and her colleague Peggy Kinsolving are already knee-deep in conspiracies, and as they unravel the events that landed the man in the hospital, Liz learns of a network of Russians and their plot to undermine the German government. Liz and Peggy set out to locate and stop this insidious network, traveling the world from Montreal to Moscow.  
     
    The latest expertly plotted thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling series, The Moscow Sleepers is a white-knuckle ride through the dark underbelly of international intelligence, simmering political animosities, and global espionage.
    Show book
  • The Three Graces Collection - cover

    The Three Graces Collection

    Laura du Pre

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Travel back to the court of the French Renaissance!
     
    Mingle with the royal court of France with the Cleves sisters.  Now get the stories of each sister: Marie, Henriette, and Catherine, in a single volume.  
     
    Book One:  Almost a Queen. Who wouldn't want to be Queen?
     
    Cousins to the King of Navarre, the Cleves sisters witness the glamour and danger of the French royal court firsthand. Youngest sister, Marie is trapped in an unhappy arranged marriage with her cousin, Henri, Prince de Conde. Determined to make the best of her situation, she awaits the wedding of the King of Navarre in Paris.
     
    Paris of 1572 boils with religious war, and few will make it out of the wedding celebrations alive. Those that do survive face an impossible choice: convert or die. Will Marie and Conde make the decision to abandon their Protestant faith in order to save their lives? Will it cost them their souls?
     
    Along with the threat of death comes a chance for true love with the king's younger brother, the Duc d'Anjou. Yet Marie promised to love honor and cherish her husband till death did them part. Will death soon part them? Is it possible to find love in the midst of tragedy?
     
    Book Two: Lady of the Court.  
     
    What do you do when your world falls apart?
     
    Eldest sister, Henriette, sits at the apex of the royal court, wife to one of King Henri III's most trusted advisors
     
    In a country torn apart by religious war, things can change in an instant, and no one in France is safe. Henriette is desperate to hold on to her life, and hand it on to the next generation. To do so, she must have an heir, something that she has so far failed to do.
     
    Book Three:  Fate's Mistress.  Fate can be a cruel mistress...
     
    Middle sister, Catherine, is married to the Duc de Guise, the most rabid Catholic in France. Ambitious and well-connected, Guise is the main rival for the French throne, which is currently occupied by an unpopular Henri III.
     
    Guise managed to win concessions from Henri, but concessions come with a steep price on his head. As his Duchesse, Catherine is in a dangerous position of her own. Determined to play her part in bringing about the downfall of the Valois and the rise of the Guise, Catherine will risk her own safety.
     
    But is the risk worth the rewards? Will either of them escape with their lives? Catherine has to take a chance for herself, and the consequences will change French history.
    Show book
  • The Wayward Spy - cover

    The Wayward Spy

    Susan Ouellette

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    The terrorist threat has changed. The consequences haven’t. 
     
    When her fiancé, a CIA operative accused of treason, is killed overseas, intelligence analyst Maggie Jenkins smells cover-up and sets out to clear his name. Maggie disobeys direct orders and travels to Tbilisi, Georgia, to follow a trail littered with secrets and lies, corruption and deceit, risking her own life to expose the terrorist threat at the intersection where the Russian Mafia, Chechen rebels, Al Qaeda and … US government officials meet. 
     
    From the halls of power in Washington, D.C. to the political chaos of the former Soviet Union, Maggie must confront players from the intelligence, political, and criminal worlds who will do anything to stop her. How far will Maggie go to uncover the truth?
    Show book
  • A Forced Descent - cover

    A Forced Descent

    Marisette Hennesy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Deceitful and Overbearing Husband Becomes a Domesticated Pet. Katya has learned to make her own way in the world. The Polish femme lives in the Scottish Highlands where at just thirty-two she’s become a renowned trainer of unruly canines. Can she can train men as well? In Katya’s own words: 
     
    “If I were given unlimited access and time to a man – any man – I could not only make him obedient in the same way I would a dog but I would eventually have him in a position where he would actually behave as one, if it were my wish.” 
     
    And so, the story of an overbearing husband begins. He’ll pay a hard price for his years of faithlessness. At the hands of his wife and her cunning friend, he’s completely rewired to become a slave to women. Having behaved like a dog during his marriage, the punishment will certainly fit the crime. And it will take a long time too, if his trainer, the young Katya, has her way. 
    Show book
  • Amborlaine - cover

    Amborlaine

    ID Johnson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Amborlaine Greentinker's reality turns upside down, as the outside world forces itself into her life. She is unwittingly launched on a quest for the legendary dragon orbs. Laine must face decisions that will alter her destiny and the fate of the Realms of Xenkur.
    Show book