Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Shuggie Bain - A Novel (Booker Prize Winner) - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Shuggie Bain - A Novel (Booker Prize Winner)

Douglas Stuart

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A startling debut novel from a remarkable new voice in fiction, Shuggie Bain is one of the most exciting debuts Grove has acquired in recent years.  It was bought from agent Anna Stein who represents some of the most successful literary writers working today, from Ben Lerner to Hanya Yanagihara to Etgar Keret to Maria Semple. The last debut writer Stein was this excited about was Hanya Yanagihara, and A Little Life has since been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and has sold over 300,000 copies in all formats. We are thrilled to have won this extraordinary book. 

A kind of answer to the privileged upper-class milieu of Alan Hollinghurst’s The Line of Beauty, Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty during the Thatcher years in Scotland. Shuggie is a character you can’t help but root for as he navigates class, sexuality, and addiction while trying to find a place in a world that seems to push him away.

Rights has already been sold well before publication, to Ravi Mirchandani at Picador in the UK, to Bonniers in Sweden, and Gyldendal in Norway. All three are editors of A Little Life and, like the agent, see this book as a title with a similar potential. It is very unusual to have rights sales especially to countries in Scandinavia over a year before publication.

The past few decades have seen a number of Irish writers published to great acclaim, especially Sally Rooney, and we hope Shuggie Bain will inspire a similar reception for Scottish literature, following in the footsteps of major commercial successes like Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.

We are pursuing blurbs from many highly regarded writers, including Colm Tóibín, Edmund White, Leslie Jamison, Gail Honeyman, Anne Enright, Claire Messud, and Garth Greenwell, and already have glowing early praise from Karl Geary, author of Montpelier Parade. 

It is rare that we see a novel set in and by a writer from the poorest part of the working class. Like Anna Burns or Edouard Louis, Douglas Stuart gives readers a window into a world unknown to most of them, and it will appeal to fans of Angela’s Ashes and the work of Anne Enright.

Douglas’s personal story is a very powerful one and it echoes the subject matter of the novel. By the age of sixteen, he was living alone in a tenement room in a Glasgow sublet, but managed to enroll himself in technical college and ultimately graduate with an MA from the Royal College of Art, whereafter he was recruited by Calvin Klein and moved to New York City. His last job in fashion was as a VP at Jack Spade, and he now writes full time. Shuggie Bain was the product of ten years of work and Stuart is already working on his next novel.

The novel has a strong visual, filmic quality, and has invoked comparisons from early readers to films from Billy Elliot to Ken Loach’s work to Trainspotting. We hope for a potential adaptation of Shuggie Bain down the line.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Beast Hunters - cover

    The Beast Hunters

    Christer Lende

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    When a monster brutally kills her parents, Ara is saved by two beast hunters. Becoming their apprentice, she discovers serums, secret bestiary knowledge, and remarkable abilities—all to save unsuspecting souls from the same fate her parents suffered. But, terrifying creatures lurk everywhere and Ara must master the art of beast hunting quickly if she is to uncover the elusive creature plaguing the village of Cornstead.
    Show book
  • The Stonefly - cover

    The Stonefly

    Scott J. Holliday

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this urban fantasy-mystery series opener, a tattooist cursed with the powers of a djinn must grant every wish he hears, even when it means murder.   Jacob is bound by a mysterious curse he doesn’t completely understand. Now, in order to save an innocent boy, he must find and kill a man he’s never met.   But there is another killer lurking these city streets.   And Jacob is running out of time.  The Stonefly series is a captivating mix of urban fantasy and traditional mystery. It explores the true commitment of friendship, and the moral conflict found within all of our souls.
    Show book
  • Oathmark: Oathbreakers - cover

    Oathmark: Oathbreakers

    Joseph A. McCullough

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Dark necromancers have laid claim to forsaken kingdoms and summoned forth the souls of those who defiled their oathmarks. The dead, once again, march to war. As armies of wraiths and skeletal warriors bring destruction to their lands, the small kingdoms of the Marches also turn to the spirits of the dead. Gathering the most ancient and powerful of oathmarks, they recall the spectral forms of those that died in loyal battle to once again come forth in defence of their kingdoms. With these ethereal warriors joining their ranks, the kings of the Marches may yet stand. 
     
                This supplement for Oathmark: Battles of the Lost Age introduces the forces of the dead to the game. Some armies will use dark magic to summon the souls and corpses of traitors from the past, while others will recall the spirits of loyal warriors that gave their lives and willingly fight again. This book also includes expanded rules for characters, which allow you to chart their progress from battle-to-battle, and watch as they grow in rank, responsibility, and power. All of these rules are then incorporated into a campaign featuring new scenarios that together tell of an epic war for survival.
    Show book
  • Widow's Welcome - cover

    Widow's Welcome

    D.K. Fields

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    There's power in stories. This is a story of power. 
     
    Dead bodies aren't unusual in the alleyways of Fenest, capital of the Union of Realms. Especially not in an election year, when the streets swell with crowds from near and far. Muggings, brawls gone bad, debts collected – Detective Cora Gorderheim has seen it all. Until she finds a Wayward man with his mouth sewn shut. 
     
    His body has been arranged precisely by the killer and left conspicuously, waiting to be found. Cora fears this is not only a murder, but a message. 
     
    As she digs into the dead man's past, she finds herself drawn into the most dangerous event in the Union: the election. In a world where stories win votes, someone has gone to a lot of trouble to silence this man. Who has stopped his story being told? 
     
    _______________________________________________________
     
    'An utterly absorbing tale set in a fascinating world' MICK FINLAY. 
     
    'If you love storytelling, you'll love this' S.J. MORDEN. 
     
    'It's rare to find such a richly imagined world about the art of myth and storytelling' CHRISTOPHER FOWLER. 
     
    'Irresistibly thrilling, weaving together gaslit crime, fantasy and mystery ... I can't wait for more' TIM MAJOR. 
     
    'There is more than meets the eye in this gripping and inventive debut ... Rife with intrigue, deceit and cultural tension' JAMES AITCHESON.
    Show book
  • The Orphan Girl - A gritty saga of triumph over adversity - cover

    The Orphan Girl - A gritty saga...

    Lindsey Hutchinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Beloved author Lindsey Hutchinson is back with another novel of triumph over adversity set in the heart of a Black Country community. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Lyn Andrews. 
     
    Taken into service, orphan Lily Rae has heard all the stories about what entitled masters think their pretty maid's duties include. But when the very worst happens to her, she knows scrubbing the scullery floors of Ryder House no longer provide refuge from the sadistic Sebastian Ryder... Cold and alone, Lily makes for the town of Wednesbury, knowing she has only herself to rely on... 
     
    Tilley Green has nothing to her name except a fine figure her worn, patched-up clothes can't disguise, and the voice of an angel. Destined to be a chorus-hall star Tilley must first escape the clutches of her opportunistic and violent manager, a certain Seb Ryder... 
     
    Life has been a long tough struggle for both Lily and for Tilley, but the town of Wednesbury just could be where they can find their own glimmer of happiness...
    Show book
  • Raven - cover

    Raven

    Sam Michaels

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    She's out of retirement – and out for revenge
     
    When Georgina Garrett wakes in the night to find intruders in her house, she knows she must do everything she can to keep her children safe.
     
    But just when she thinks the ordeal is over, she realises something is terribly wrong. She arrives at her crime-lord husband David Maynard's London house to find a bloodbath. Six of David's best men lie dead and he is nowhere to be found.
     
    Georgina may have walked away from the game but she's still the best player on the street. Now, she will stop at nothing to get her husband back and to make whoever took him pay for ever daring to set foot in her town.
     
    'Terrific – read it and be hooked!' - bestselling author Jessie Keane on Trickster
     
    Readers are loving RAVEN! 
     
    'Fast moving, gritty and not for the faint hearted' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Another fantastic episode in the series' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Yet another amazing book by Sam Michaels' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Gritty, violent, edge-of-your-seat tension. The end – phew!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'This is a BRILLIANT book and Sam's fans will love it. Worthy of more than 5 stars!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Show book