Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Women Crime Writers Volume One - The Crate His Garden Inconvenience Gone - cover

Women Crime Writers Volume One - The Crate His Garden Inconvenience Gone

Diane Marger Moore, Deborah Vadas Levison, Anne K. Howard

Publisher: WildBlue Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Three award-winning and bestselling true crime writers following in the steps of Ann Rule with these three fantastic books!  The Crate: A Story of War, a Murder, and Justice—After surviving the horrors of the Holocaust—in ghettos, on death marches, and in concentration camps—a young couple seeks refuge in North America. They settle into a new life, certain that the terrors of their past are behind them…until a single act of unspeakable violence defiles their sanctuary.  The Crate is the winner of seven literary awards!  “The Crate is an impressive and important piece of work. I'm glad it was written, and I'm glad I read it.”—Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author  His Garden: Conversations With a Serial Killer—The remains of seven people are found in a grisly burial ground behind a strip mall. His Garden tells the spine-chilling story of the monster behind the murders, shared exclusively with this author.  The winner of the PENCRAFT Literary Excellence Award!  “Howard skillfully blends true crime procedural into her personal journey as she gets to know the serial killer being investigated…Fans of true crime should not miss this one!”—Katherine Ramsland, Ph.D., author of Confession of a Serial Killer: The Untold Story of Dennis Rader, the BTK Killer  Inconvenience Gone: The Short, Tragic Life of Brandon Sims—Where is Brandon Sims? The four-year-old had not been seen since July 3, 1992, when he attended a birthday party with his twenty-year-old mother, Michelle Jones. His body has never been found...
Available since: 12/08/2019.
Print length: 750 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Oswald Talked - The New Evidence in the JFK Assassination - cover

    Oswald Talked - The New Evidence...

    Mary La Fontaine, Ray La Fontaine

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Investigative journalists present explosive new evidence connecting the accused JFK assassin to the CIA—and to his own killer. Journalists Ray and Mary La Fontaine have uncovered significant new evidence in the Kennedy assassination—evidence that substantiates the existence of a conspiracy, and that suggests Lee Harvey Oswald was framed for the president’s murder. In Oswald Talked, they establish a crucial link between Oswald and Jack Ruby, the CIA, and other government agencies.  Among the evidence uncovered here is a Department of Defense card showing that Oswald was employed by the US government after his discharge from the Marines; testimony by a man who altered photos of Oswald for the official investigation; and arrest records and names of the three enigmatic vagrants who have been at the heart of several conspiracy theories.  Most significant of all, the La Fontaines speak with John Elrod, who was arrested the day of Kennedy’s assassination—and kept in a cell next to Oswald’s. His incarceration had been hidden by the FBI for decades. In Oswald Talked, they reveal what Elrod learned from Oswald himself that day.
    Show book
  • Overkill - cover

    Overkill

    Lyn Riddle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Laurie Show was as compassionate as she was hardworking. The outgoing high-school junior worked part-time to pay for the home she and her divorced mother shared. Yet she always had time to tutor friends struggling in school. And she befriended a dejected classmate after his traumatic breakup with his pregnant long-time girlfriend Michelle Lambert.But soon things spiraled into jealous obsession, stalking, and a brutal attack that left Laurie murdered in her own bedroom. And once Michelle started telling one lie too many, the ensuing investigation shattered a peaceful community. Noted crime writer Lyn Riddle also brings you the latest updates on Michelle Lambert, her accomplices, and those involved in this unforgettable case.
    Show book
  • Cheka The: The History of the Soviet Agency that Eventually Became the KGB - cover

    Cheka The: The History of the...

    Charles River Editors

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The KGB is one of the most famous abbreviations of the 20th century, and it has become synonymous with the shadowy and often violent actions of the Soviet Union’s secret police and internal security agencies. In fact, it is often used to refer to the Soviet state security agencies throughout its history, from the inception of the inception of the Cheka (Extraordinary Commission) in 1917 to the official elimination of the KGB in 1992. Whether it’s associated with the Russian Civil War’s excesses, Stalin’s purges, and even Vladimir Putin, the KGB has long been viewed as the West’s biggest bogeyman during the second half of the 20th century. 
    	However, the KGB did not appear out of thin air. Naturally, the earliest Soviet leaders utilized intelligence agencies that collected information both abroad and within the Soviet Union, targeting foreign opponents and domestic opponents alike. Lenin did not imagine the scale of the opposition he would have to face after the revolution, and he quickly came to the conclusion that "a special system of organized violence" must be created to implement the dictatorship of the proletariat. 
    	Thus, from nearly the beginning of the Bolshevik takeover of Russia, Lenin and his successors established and relied on a particularly ruthless agency: the All-Russian Extraordinary Commission for Combating Counter-Revolution and Sabotage, later abbreviated to the Extraordinary Commission. Known colloquially as the Cheka (Extraordinary Commission), it soon became as feared by non-socialists as the Tsar’s secret police had ever been. The main means approved by the Council of People's Commissars on December 20, 1917, which the Cheka had to use to fight the counter-revolution, were "seizure of property, resettlement, deprivation of cards, publication of lists of enemies of the people, etc."
    Show book
  • The Secret Poisoner - A Century of Murder - cover

    The Secret Poisoner - A Century...

    Linda Stratmann

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “This fine social history charts the changing patterns of using poison” and the forensic methods developed to detect it in the Victorian Era (The Guardian, UK).   Murder by poison alarmed, enthralled, and in some ways even defined the Victorian age. Linda Stratmann’s dark and splendid social history reveals the nineteenth century as a gruesome battleground where poisoners went head-to-head with scientific and legal authorities who strove to detect poisons, control their availability, and bring the guilty to justice.   Separating fact from Hollywood fiction, Stratmann corrects many misconceptions about particular poisons and their deadly effects. She also documents how the motives for poisoning—which often involved domestic unhappiness—evolved as marriage and child protection laws began to change. Combining archival research with vivid storytelling, Stratmann charts the era’s inexorable rise of poison cases.
    Show book
  • From The 911 Files - True Crime Confessions From Behind The Phone - cover

    From The 911 Files - True Crime...

    Jackson Anhalt

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the 911 Files takes you behind the scenes of a 911 communications center, where real-life emergency calls come in from people in distress. You’ll learn about the actual calls, and experience the reactions of real first responders as they work to save lives and keep the community safe. 
      
     You'll encounter everything from medical emergencies and car chases to murders and crimes of passion. You’ll also witness some of the lighter moments that help these dedicated professionals get through their toughest days. 
      
     Written for layman, From the 911 Files is a true crime book that explores the grittier side of life, and the resilience of those who work in the public safety field. You'll find themes of perseverance and dark humor woven throughout, and you'll come away with a deep appreciation for the men and women who dedicate their lives to keeping us safe. 
      
    Inspired by true crime stories, this book is perfect for fans of John Grisham and anyone who loves a good mystery. So if you're ready for a glimpse into the high-stakes world of emergency services, pick up your copy of From the 911 Files today.
    Show book
  • OCME - Life in America's Top Forensic Medical Center - cover

    OCME - Life in America's Top...

    Bruce Goldfarb

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Bruce Goldfarb spent ten years with Maryland's Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, where every sudden or unattended death in the state is scrutinized.Touching on numerous scandals, including Derek Chauvin's trial for the murder of George Floyd and the tragic killing in police custody of Freddie Gray, Goldfarb pulls back the curtain on a pioneer institution in crisis.Medical examiners and the investigators and technicians who support them play vital roles in the justice and public health systems of every American community. During Goldfarb's time with the Maryland OCME, opioid-related deaths contributed to a significant increase in their workload. Faced with a chronic shortage of qualified experts and inadequate funding, their important and fascinating work has become more challenging than most people could ever imagine.The public gets a skewed view of the relationship between police and medical examiners from procedural crime dramas, Bruce Goldfarb writes of his work inside one of America's most storied forensic centers. We aren't on the same team . . . We aren't on any team. The medical examiner’s sole duty is to the deceased person. We speak for the dead.
    Show book