Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Taste of Molecules - In Search of the Secrets of Flavor - cover

A Taste of Molecules - In Search of the Secrets of Flavor

Diane Fresquez

Publisher: The Feminist Press at CUNY

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A delicious exploration of what creates the flavors we love—and why our taste buds respond to them—in a fascinating, “very pleasant and easy read” (Flanders Today).   In this unique scientific study of food, drink, and how the human taste buds sense taste, food journalist Diane Fresquez brings readers along on a journey of gastronomic discovery.   She begins by following a Belgian beekeeper who uses science to give the ancient drink of mead (or “honey wine”) a modern taste-makeover. Fresquez then travels to Holland to learn how food memories are tested at a research center called the Restaurant of the Future. And elsewhere, she discovers how much skill it takes to make banana flavor in the lab, and experiments on a group of scientists during a surprise meal eaten in the dark.   Stuffed with fascinating food facts, anecdotes from the author’s own culinary life, and a selection of irresistible recipes (including a cocktail with dancing molecules), A Taste of Molecules is an exploration of the senses that will delight foodies and science enthusiasts alike.
Available since: 10/21/2013.
Print length: 214 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Asthma - Symptoms Treatments and Medication for Asthma and Bronchitis - cover

    Asthma - Symptoms Treatments and...

    Joseph Barrel

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Every day, without conscious effort, we engage in a fundamental act that sustains our life: breathing. The act of drawing in oxygen and expelling carbon dioxide is so integral to our existence that we often take it for granted. However, for millions of people around the world, this simple act can be a daily struggle, fraught with challenges and uncertainties. Welcome to a journey into the world of respiratory health, where we explore the complex and often misunderstood conditions of asthma and bronchitis. 
    Respiratory health is a cornerstone of our overall well-being, influencing our energy levels, physical capabilities, and overall quality of life. Yet, the prevalence of respiratory conditions such as asthma and bronchitis continues to rise, impacting individuals of all ages, backgrounds, and walks of life. As we embark on this exploration, it is essential to grasp the significance of these conditions and their profound effects on those who live with them.
    Show book
  • Summary of Jason Schreier's Press Reset - cover

    Summary of Jason Schreier's...

    Falcon Press

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Buy now to get the main key ideas from Jason Schreier's Press Reset 
      
    For many of us, video games offer entertainment and leisure away from the worries of life and its obligations. But what happens behind the scenes of the video game industry? It’s not all fun and games. Press Reset: Ruin and Recovery in the Video Game Industry (2021) offers a deep dive into the world of the video game industry and the people of who work in it. 
    Jason Schreier, a veteran of the industry, provides a well-researched investigation based on interviews. The world of video games is both admirable and complex: from game development to hard business decisions and studio closures, the industry is filled with corrupt leaders, hostility, and abusive bosses. Schreier raises questions about the stability of jobs in the video game industry, and points out that the need for solutions is greater than ever.  
    Show book
  • Multiverse The: Time and Dimensional Travel Q&As - cover

    Multiverse The: Time and...

    Martin K. Ettington

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The subjects of time and dimensional travel really fascinate me. I went to Engineering School and took advanced courses in physics and mathematics so I have a pretty good understanding of science’s view of our Universe.I’ve also been fortunate to have learned and practiced techniques to become more spiritually and psychically developed. One of the things this led to were my numerous experiences with premonitions and prophecy which I’ve written about.My research also led me to write several books about stories of real time travel and dimensional shifting experiences.This book is a series and questions and answers to review and discuss what I’ve learned about time and dimensions which I hope will shed some light on the mysteries of these strange phenomena.The world is much more mysterious than we ever thought possible and our speculation is part of our developing an understanding of our universe.
    Show book
  • Tales of a Poultry Farm - cover

    Tales of a Poultry Farm

    Clara Dillingham Pierson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Another interesting book by Clara Dillingham Pierson, this time focusing on the poultry you might have in your farmyard! The chickens, ducks, and turkeys get some new experiences as a new owner comes to the farm, and does some things that seem very odd to them. Learn along with the chickens about the new owner, and also some other things that are worse, like the awful hook worms that some young chickens experienced when they disobeyed their mom. This book is just as interesting as the others by this author, so enjoy living in the poultry yard for a while! (Summary by Trotsa)
    Show book
  • Patently Mathematical - Picking Partners Passwords and Careers by the Numbers - cover

    Patently Mathematical - Picking...

    Jeff Suzuki

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fascinating facts and stories behind inventions based on mathematics—from search engines to streaming video to self-correcting golf balls.  
     
    How do dating sites match compatible partners? What do cell phones and sea coasts have in common? And why do computer scientists keep ant colonies? Jeff Suzuki answers these questions and more in Patently Mathematical, which explores the mathematics behind some of the key inventions that have changed our world. 
     
    In recent years, patents based on mathematics have been issued by the thousands—from search engines and image recognition technology to educational software and LEGO designs. Suzuki delves into the details of cutting-edge devices, programs, and products to show how even the simplest mathematical principles can be turned into patentable ideas worth billions of dollars. Discover: 
     
    • whether secure credit cards are really secure 
     
    • how improved data compression made streaming video services like Netflix a hit 
     
    • the mathematics behind self-correcting golf balls 
     
    • why Google is such an effective and popular search engine 
     
    • how eHarmony and Match.com bring couples together, and much more 
     
    Combining quirky historical anecdotes with relatable everyday examples, Suzuki makes math interesting for everyone who likes to ponder the world of numerical relationships. 
     
    Praise for Jeff Suzuki’s Constitutional Calculus 
     
    “An entertaining and insightful approach to the mathematics that underlies the American system of government.” —Mathematical Reviews 
     
    “A breath of fresh air. . . . A reaffirmation that mathematics should be used more often to make general public policy.” —MAA Reviews
    Show book
  • Gut Feelings - The Intelligence of the Unconscious - cover

    Gut Feelings - The Intelligence...

    Gerd Gigerenzer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Gerd Gigerenzer is one of the researchers of behavioral intuition responsible for the science behind Malcolm Gladwell's bestseller Blink. Gladwell showed us how snap decisions often yield better results than careful analysis. Now, Gigerenzer explains why our intuition is such a powerful decision-making tool. Drawing on a decade of research at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development, Gigerenzer demonstrates that our gut feelings are actually the result of unconscious mental processes-processes that apply rules of thumb that we've derived from our environment and prior experiences. The value of these unconscious rules lies precisely in their difference from rational analysis-they take into account only the most useful bits of information rather than attempting to evaluate all possible factors. By examining various decisions we make-how we choose a spouse, a stock, a medical procedure, or the answer to a million-dollar game show question-Gigerenzer shows how gut feelings not only lead to good practical decisions but also underlie the moral choices that make our society function.In the tradition of Blink and Freakonomics, Gut Feelings is an exploration of the myriad influences and factors (nature and nurture) that affect how the mind works, grounded in cutting-edge research and conveyed through compelling real-life examples.
    Show book