Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Concrete Fields - cover

Concrete Fields

David Gaffney

Publisher: Salt

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The countryside – what is it for? A paradise on earth where you can relax and get creative? Or an outdoor wool factory where every other house is an Airbnb and there are fewer trees than Camden. In his new collection of short stories David Gaffney explores the theme of town versus country through a number of different lenses, including his own experience of being brought up in west Cumbria then moving to Manchester.
A creative residency on the coast of Scotland becomes weirder and weirder in "The Retreat"; 'I've always had the feeling that the countryside has something against me and that one day it will take its revenge.' In "The Table", a recluse in Penrith uses mid-century furniture to lure city dwellers into a world of 'depressed farmers with shotguns and bottomless pits of slurry that will swallow you so hard you'll never be seen again. And in "The Garages" the pressure of city living forces a man to become oddly obsessed with empty spaces. Often funny, often haunting, often profound, Gaffney uses dark humour and surreal characters to demonstrate a deep understanding of how places, urban or rural, can shape, influence and sometimes distort our lives. 'People who like the countryside tend to believe in things that aren't really there,' says a character in "The Country Pub".
These are indeed stories about things that aren't really there, and this is why they resonate with you long after you have stopped reading.
Available since: 07/15/2023.
Print length: 144 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Prophet of Zongo Street - Stories - cover

    The Prophet of Zongo Street -...

    Mohammed Naseehu Ali

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A dazzling collection of stories, The Prophet of Zongo Street takes readers to a world that seamlessly blends African folklore and myths with modernity. Set primarily on Zongo Street, a fictitious community in West Africa, the stories -- which are reminiscent of the works of Ben Okri and Amos Tutuola -- introduce us to wonderfully quirky characters and the most uproarious, poignant, and rawest moments of life. There's Kumi, the enigmatic title character who teaches a young boy to finally ask questions of his traditions. And as Ali moves his characters to America we meet Felix, who struggles with America's love of the exotic in "Rachmaninov."The Prophet of Zongo Street heralds a new voice and showcases Mohammed Naseehu Ali's extraordinary ability to craft stories that are both allegorical and unforgettable.
    Show book
  • The Duel - And Other Stories - cover

    The Duel - And Other Stories

    Anton Chekhov

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Classic tales of changing lives and loves from one of Russia’s greatest playwrights, a master of the modern short story. Morality, philosophy, and science merge in “The Duel,” the classic tale of transformation in which educated Russian aristocrat Ivan Andreitch Laevsky falls in love with the married Nadya Fyodorovna and runs off to the Black Sea with her. As their passion wanes, Nadya turns to other men for comfort, while Ivan indulges in heavy drinking and gambling. When he receives word that Nadya’s husband has died, freeing them to marry, Ivan hides it. He knows he cannot marry a woman he no longer loves but struggles with the idea of leaving Nadya penniless and alone.   Soon Ivan’s conundrum becomes the topic of conversation around a doctor’s dinner table. When their discussion touches on evolution, one of the doctor’s boarders—a zoologist—states that someone with Ivan’s moral failings should not be allowed to reproduce. As events unfold, setting Ivan and the zoologist on a path to confrontation, the character of each man will be revealed—for better and for worse.   Other short stories collected in this volume include “Excellent People,” “Mire,” “Neighbours,” “At Home,” “Expensive Lessons,” “The Princess,” and “The Chemist’s Wife.”  
    Show book
  • Burning Wheel - cover

    Burning Wheel

    Aldous Huxley

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Though Aldous Huxley is best known for his later novels and essays, he started his writing career as a poet. The Burning Wheel is his first work, a collection of thirty poems that pay homage in style to poets who wrote in the Romantic or the French symbolist styles. Many of the poems deal with themes of light, darkness, sight, music, art, war, and idealism vs. realism. Though the optimism in his early works waned as he became older, his characteristically optimistic and determined point of view shines through.  - Summary by Mary KayThe last poem was read collaboratively by ezwa, AlgyPug and Larry Wilson.
    Show book
  • Jirel of Joiry - cover

    Jirel of Joiry

    C. L. Moore

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For fans of Red Sonja and Xena the Warrior Princess, a collection of five fantasy stories starring a mighty and powerful female warrior. The 1930s heralded the arrival of C.L. Moore, one of the pioneering women writers of speculative fiction, and the appearance of fantasy’s landmark female hero: Jirel of Joiry. With her red hair flowing, her yellow eyes glinting like embers, and her face streaked with blood, Jirel is strong, fearless, and driven by honor. Her legendary debut, Black God’s Kiss, begins as her castle, Joiry, is overrun by invaders, but knowing that this is one battle she cannot fight, she summons her courage and cunning and descends into the castle’s hidden reaches, where she crosses through a doorway into Hell itself…Jirel of Joiry collects the classic tales of blood and vengeance that secured C.L. Moore’s place among legendary authors of sword and sorcery like Robert E. Howard and Edgar Rice Burroughs. Originally published in the magazine Weird Tales, Moore’s fantastic tales of warriors, gods, and magic are defined by a fierce, romantic vision that helped define the genre, earning her the title of Grand Master for lifetime achievement by the World Fantasy Convention.Includes “Black God’s Kiss,” “Black God’s Shadow,” “Jirel Meets Magic,” “The Dark Land,” and “Hellsgarde.”“One of the best authors of her era.... The stories are engaging and well written, and the central character, who is headstrong and passionate, is more than compelling…. Fans of eldritch horror and sinister gods…will find much to enjoy here.”—Alan Brown, Tor.com
    Show book
  • My Adventure on Dartmoor - cover

    My Adventure on Dartmoor

    A. J. Alan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A. J. Alan was the pseudonym of Leslie Harrison Lambert (1883-1941), an English magician, intelligence officer, short story writer, and radio broadcaster. He was hugely popular in the '20s and '30s for his radio broadcasts, when he performed his own humorous and often macabre short stories, which he always delivered wearing full evening dress.My Adventure on Dartmoor is typical of A. J. Alan's amusing narratives, describing an eventful night in a remote cottage in the wilds of Dartmoor when he has to wrestle with an unruly cow and a stray actress, whom he inadvertently gets drunk on some very fine old brandy.
    Show book
  • Orgasmic Stories for Her - cover

    Orgasmic Stories for Her

    Various Authors

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This collection contains 5 steamy stories, written by women who are in-tune with feminine pleasure as a whole. Far from stories about a fictional Prince Charming, these stories reveal all the secrets behind the sizzling desires that occur when women take control of their sensual world.Provocative, chic and sexy, this audio book will open the doors to all the fantasies that will seduce you and set all your senses on fire.This audio book will lead you inside a unique sensual experience, where desire asserts itself with a voracious appetite. Let yourself be submerged by desire by leafing through the voluptuous fantasies of these 5 women, who all have in common the same quest for sensuality and pleasure.Let yourself be caressed by words which exalt and transport you, and discover all along the pages a new reading experience of a new kind of content that will escalate your pleasure in many ways.
    Show book