Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Strange Tales - cover

Strange Tales

Daniel Morden

Publisher: Firefly Press Ltd

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Bears, wolves and weird tangles of fate, these eight Strange Tales for 9-12s from master storyteller Daniel Morden have it all. In these pages you will meet travellers, tricksters, unlikely heroes, and animals who may not be what they seem... Honed folk and fairy tales favourites from a lifetime of performance, retold with a contemporary twist, stories such as 'Tatterhood', 'Fearless' and 'The Luck Child' will become family favourites for those who love the uncanny, the unnerving and the downright bizarre.
Available since: 09/28/2023.
Print length: 208 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Orwell's Luck - cover

    Orwell's Luck

    Richard W. Jennings

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When a wounded wild rabbit is found in the front yard, he is given a good home and a memorable name by a twelve-year-old with a liking for basketball, the trombone, and the newspaper’s daily horoscope. But Orwell is no ordinary rabbit. It soon seems that he is attempting to reward his young caretaker by mysteriously sending coded messages in the form of predictions: the final score of the Super Bowl, advance notice of a pop quiz at school, tomorrow’s winning lottery number! Can this little rabbit foretell the future? Can Orwell actually make luck happen? Here is a magical and heartwarming story about kindness, friendship, and hope in the shadow of fortune’s ever-turning wheel.
    Show book
  • Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times - cover

    Flights and Chimes and...

    Emma Trevayne

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A boy discovers a mysterious mechanical world he may never escape in this steampunk fantasy that’s “a thrill a minute” (Kirkus Reviews), set in nineteenth-century England.Ten-year-old Jack Foster has stepped through a doorway and into quite a different London.Londinium is a smoky, dark, and dangerous place, home to mischievous metal fairies and fearsome clockwork dragons that breathe scalding steam. The people wear goggles to protect their eyes, brass grill insets in their nostrils to filter air, or mechanical limbs to replace missing ones.Over it all rules the Lady, and the Lady has demanded a new son—a perfect flesh-and-blood child. She has chosen Jack. His only hope of escape lies with a legendary clockwork bird.The Gearwing grants wishes—or it did, before it was broken—before it was killed. But some things don’t stay dead forever.Fans of books like Splendors and Glooms and Doll Bones will find Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times irresistible!
    Show book
  • Shadow House: The Gathering - cover

    Shadow House: The Gathering

    Dan Poblocki

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Five tweens enter a mysterious house and are held hostage by ghosts in this middle grade horror story. 
     
    Some houses are more than just haunted . . . they’re hungry. Dash, Dylan, Poppy, Marcus, and Azumi don’t know this at first. They each think they’ve been summoned to Shadow House for innocent reasons. But there’s nothing innocent about Shadow House. Something within its walls is wickedly wrong. Nothing—and nobody—can be trusted. Hallways move. Doors vanish. Ghosts appear. Children disappear. And the way out? That’s disappeared, too . . . Enter Shadow House . . . if you dare.  
     
    “Shadow House has everything I love—strange characters, magic and the supernatural, endless danger and adventure—and a mystery I dare any reader to try to solve.” —R. L. Stine, author of the New York Times–bestselling Goosebumps series. 
     
    “Poblocki’s meticulously crafted narrative is chilling . . . A thrill for any reader who knows the only thing more frightening than an unopened door is being locked behind one.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • A Little More Like Jesus - cover

    A Little More Like Jesus

    Zach Williams

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Read by the author.  
    From Grammy Award-winning musician Zach Williams comes a fun and engaging picture book that invites children to hop on board for a ride to learn about the fruits of the spirit and discover how to be a little more like Jesus every day. 
    Destination KINDNESS! 
    All aboard for LOVE! 
    Take a ride to PATIENCE, PEACE … 
    and FAITH in God above! 
    Climb on board for GOODNESS—it’s just up ahead! 
    Buckle up for Jesus and hear the things he said. 
    Kids can uncover the joy of following Jesus’s example in A Little More Like Jesus by Christian music artist Zach Williams. This imaginative book invites children 4-8 to climb aboard for a journey that explores the fruits of the spirit in a new and exciting way, using simple-yet-impactful rhymes that help kids see just how easy it can be to show more love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control, and goodness to everyone they meet. This inspiring story for your young one will help them foster a strong connection with God through creativity and being exactly who God made them to be! 
    In addition, A Little More Like Jesus:Aids in spiritual development by giving kids real-world, hands-on examples of ways they can show Jesus’s love to those around themIs a perfect book for story time, family devotions, and bedtimeMakes a great holiday or birthday gift
    Show book
  • Guinea Pigs Don't Talk - cover

    Guinea Pigs Don't Talk

    Laurie Myers

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On Lisa's first day at a new school, she and bossy classmate Angel begin playing a series of tricks on each other, with the class guinea pigs as unwitting accomplices. The conflict escalates until Lisa devises a creative plan for converting her new enemies into friends.
    Show book
  • The Spiral Path - Book 3 in The Ayla Trilogy - cover

    The Spiral Path - Book 3 in The...

    Matt Griffin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The battle was won, the storm has subsided. But the enemy has escaped, the few remaining Danann leaving Fal with a threat that leaves Ayla, Sean, Finny and Benvy in no doubt: their home of Kilnabracka is in serious danger.
    All is not well in the town. It looks untouched; life goes on, with no sign of the dangerous Danann. But a storm is brewing, and the friends are being drawn into a trap, down a Spiral Path.
    Only they can save themselves and the townsfolk.
    Show book