Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
After the End - Stories of Life After the Apocalypse - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

After the End - Stories of Life After the Apocalypse

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When the apocalypse has come and gone, life still goes on for the survivors struggling to adapt to the new normal. 
In a drowned world, the descendants of surface dwellers remember the cities that were lost, the inhabitants of ocean floor colonies cling to outmoded customs and scavengers search the flooded ruins for anything that might be of use. In a world ravaged by droughts, two college students come face to face with how the other half lives. A lone explorer traverses the icy wasteland that used to be Europe. A group of children travels across a zombie-infested America in search of shelter and safety. After a robot uprising, a police officer is assigned to clean-up duties and finds an unexpected miracle among the ruins. And in a world blasted by electromagnetic solar storms, a nineteenth century technology suddenly becomes the sole means of long distance communication. 
This collection contains eight stories of life after the apocalypse of 24500 words or approximately 85 print pages altogether. 
Available since: 02/20/2017.

Other books that might interest you

  • Mr Lincoln's Wars - A Novel in Thirteen Stories - cover

    Mr Lincoln's Wars - A Novel in...

    Adam Braver

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this highly ambitious collection, Adam Braver explores Abraham Lincoln's inner life and personal turmoils -- while also reflecting on the indelible impact Lincoln had on the nation during the last year of his presidency. Braver brings the president to life, not just as the strong and resilient leader of history books but also as a grief-stricken father, heartbroken over the loss of his young son.Across a rich canvas of truth and imagination, Mr. Lincoln's Wars reveals a president within the White House walls. We see Lincoln as he explores the meaning of loss through a chance encounter with the father of a slain soldier. And a good-hearted young Union soldier is quickly turned into a killer in the name of President Lincoln. Finally, there is the assassination and the autopsy, as seen through the eyes of John Wilkes Booth, Mary Lincoln, the assistant surgeon general, and one of Lincoln's closest friends.Brilliant in its depiction of the country during the waning days of the war, this book is an insightful and moving exploration of the myth of celebrity and the passions it arouses. More than anything, Mr. Lincoln's Wars introduces a talented new writer whose storytelling ability knows no bounds.
    Show book
  • Gabriel-Ernest - cover

    Gabriel-Ernest

    Hector Hugh Munro, Saki Saki

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Hector Hugh Munro, who wrote under the pseudonym "Saki" tells the tale of a modern werewolf."There is a wild beast in your woods" observes the artist Cunningham to his friend van Cheele. It turns out that Cunningham is right. The next day, van Cheele finds a naked feral child in the woods, who speaks in a very disturbing way about eating flesh and hunting four-footed at night. Strangest of all is an uncanny remark about having eaten child's flesh recently.The next day, the strange naked boy turns up at Cheele's house and is adopted by his aunt, who names him Gabriel-Ernest. Van Cheele sets off to quiz Cunningham about the wild beast, while his aunt and Gabriel-Ernest prepare to host the Sunday school children's party. When van Cheele discovers that the beast Cunningham had seen was a werewolf, he realizes he has only until sunset to save the Sunday school children....
    Show book
  • The Woman Who Cut Off Her Leg at the Maidstone Club - And Other Stories - cover

    The Woman Who Cut Off Her Leg at...

    Julia Slavin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A New York Times Notable Book: Darkly comic fables of modern life from a “major discovery” whose “writing gets in your bloodstream like a fever” (The Washington Post Book World).   A housewife with a ravenous lust for the adolescent boy who mows her lawn swallows him whole. A woman nonchalantly hacks off her leg at a posh private club. A father babyproofs his house so thoroughly he never sees his wife and child. And a businessman passing through an airport risks it all to save a giant lobster from death.   In these “brisk, funny, stylish, original” stories, the award-winning author of Carnivore Diet merges the mundane with the unimaginable, and peels back the squeaky-clean façade of suburbia to expose the strangeness underneath (Elle). Combining biting wit, wild imagination, and “unsettling, hallucinatory” prose, Julia Slavin masterfully satirizes the world of upscale families and young professionals as they confront their greatest fantasies and most grotesque fears in unexpected, and often hilarious, ways (The New York Times Book Review).  
    Show book
  • Greener Pastures - cover

    Greener Pastures

    Michael Wehunt

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "Greener Pastures" is a short horror story by Michael Wehunt, one of 35 entries in the audio horror anthology Come Join Us by the Fire. 
    A long haul trucker is faces down a lonesome night as mysterious voices on the radio lures unwary folk into a darkness from which they may never return. 
    Come Join Us by the Fire, edited by Theresa DeLucci, is an audio-only horror anthology of 35 short stories from Nightfire Books, a horror imprint of Tor Books. The collection showcases the breadth of talent writing in the horror genre today, with contributions from a wide range of bestselling genre luminaries including China Miéville, Chuck Wendig, Richard Kadrey, and Victor LaValle; Shirley Jackson Award winners Paul Tremblay, Priya Sharma, and Sam J. Miller; Nebula Award winners Brooke Bolander, Alyssa Wong, Kij Johnson; and many, many more.
    Show book
  • Wood's Gamble - Action and Adventure in the Florida Keys - cover

    Wood's Gamble - Action and...

    Steven Becker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    What is the cost of freedom? 
    When several shipping containers are lost during a tropical storm, an unexpected and deadly chain of events is set in motion. 
    A Russian oligarch plans to trade the contents of the containers for immunity. But when Mac Travis discovers what is inside, he is compelled to stop the transaction. 
    A story that highlights the beauty of the Keys while exposing their undesirable underbelly, Wood’s Gamble features the unique character of the island chain. Filled with boating, diving, and fishing, with plenty of action, unique characters, and stunning locations, escape on a tropical adventure in the latest in the bestselling Mac Travis Adventures.
    Show book
  • Soldiers of Love - Beautiful Scars - cover

    Soldiers of Love - Beautiful Scars

    N'Tyse, Untamed Untamed

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Profoundly moving and nostalgic, Soldiers of Love: Beautiful Scars is a searing exploration of soul ties, love scars, second-chance romance, and the healing power of forgiveness. Inspired by real events, Soldiers is soul-stirring and perfect for fans of Seven Days in June and Before I Let Go.Liberty Mae Banks was her birth name, yet Zion called her Mrs. Forever …It took years and fistfuls of tears for Liberty to convince herself that Zion Malik Mitchell had been a figment of her imagination. She’d suppressed every memory to lessen the burn—and because it’s the proper thing to do once you’ve become another man’s wife. Now the mother, wife, and #SoldiersofLove relationship columnist for Love  Lifestyle magazine finds herself in a heartfelt tug of war when her childhood sweetheart, Zion, resurfaces.For Zion, Liberty had always been his peace and the one who got away. He needed her more than he was ever willing to admit, and while it’s often said that time heals all wounds, all time had done for Zion was rob him of a future with the love of his life. When tragedy strikes, Zion’s freedom is left hanging in the balance as he awaits sentencing. Plagued with guilt and fear, there’s only one person he trusts to help him through his most arduous battle ever—Liberty.Will Liberty sacrifice her picture-perfect life and rush to Zion’s side in hopes of healing and setting them both free, or will resurrecting their war-torn past open a Pandora’s box neither will be able to close?
    Show book