Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Race Across the Atlantic - Alcock and Brown's Record-Breaking Non-Stop Flight - cover

Race Across the Atlantic - Alcock and Brown's Record-Breaking Non-Stop Flight

Colin Higgs, Bruce Vigar

Publisher: Air World

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“Reveals their race across the Atlantic in stunning pictures . . . includes a first-hand account from Captain Brown of his world-first flight.” —Daily Mail Online   It was Tuesday, 15 July 1919 and for the residents of Clifden on Ireland’s west coast this was not to be a normal day. Just before 08.40 hours, descending out of the gloom, came a large, twin-engine airplane lining up for final approach. After a flight lasting 16 hours and 28 minutes, Captain John Alcock and Lieutenant Arthur Whitten-Brown had won the race to be the first to fly nonstop across the Atlantic—and the prize of £10,000, roughly equivalent to $1,000,000 in today’s money, offered by Lord Rothermere, aviation philanthropist and owner of the Daily Mail.   Illustrated by many unique photographs this book tells the story of the race, delayed for almost six years by the First World War. Many aircraft would be entered but few would even get off the ground. The teams faced great difficulties in preparing for the challenge of crossing one of the most hostile stretches of ocean on Earth.   The authors not only reveal tales of failures and technical difficulties, but of the intense frustration of waiting for the perfect weather-window. And even when finally airborne, Alcock and Brown’s flight almost ended in disaster on several occasions as weather conditions almost conspired to cast them down into the grey, cold waters of the Atlantic and almost certain death.   “Right from the first page, you’ll be hooked . . . you’re in the cockpit with Alcock and Brown and every dump and dive of the flight across the Atlantic.” —Vintage Airfix
Available since: 03/30/2019.
Print length: 232 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Out of the Frying Pan: Scenes from My Life - cover

    Out of the Frying Pan: Scenes...

    Keith Floyd

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Keith Floyd’s exuberant personality, as much as his cooking skills, has made him a favourite both as bestselling author and as television presenter. But here, for the first time, he tells his own story – and it is full of surprises. An idiosyncratic, splendid autobiography of a well known personality, and the discovery of a writing talent. 
    The stories from his childhood in Somerset are vivid and moving: his grandfather with his tin leg, his mother at the mills, and his uncle, the ferret keeper and the black sheep of the family for ‘carrying on’ with married women. 
    Keith Floyd spent a short spell on a local newspaper, and then, in a hilarious episode, joined the army. After he and the Ministry of Defense decided that they did not suit each other, he took his first cooking job as an assistant vegetable cook in a Bristol hotel. The great period of bistros and cafes had dawned and Keith Floyd was in the forefront, cooking in an open kitchen, with Pink Floyd blaring from the speakers. 
    What is wonderful about this book is the vividness of the scenes he paints and the deftness with which he draws the characters – including his several wives. Those who have admired Keith Floyd’s way with a whisk will now be impressed to discover and enjoy his remarkable skill with words. 
    For fans of Hairy Bikers (The Hairy Bikers Blood, Sweat and Tyres), Anthony Bourdain (World Travel), Stanley Tucci (Taste), Marco Pierre White (The Devil in the Kitchen), and Michael Parkinson (Parky).
    Show book
  • Dishwasher - One Man's Quest to Wash Dishes in All 50 States - cover

    Dishwasher - One Man's Quest to...

    Pete Jordan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Dishwasher is Public Radio favorite and underground celebrity Pete Jordan’s amusing memoir of his dishwashing extravaganza. Part adventure, part parody, and part miraculous journey of self-discovery, it is the unforgettable account of Jordan's transformation from itinerant seeker into "Dishwasher Pete"—unlikely folk hero, writer, publisher of his own cult zine, and the ultimate professional dish dog—and how he gave it all up for love.“For 12 years, I was the most prolific dishlicker of them all. From 1989 to 2001, I dished my way around the country, unwittingly searching for direction. From a bagel joint in New Mexico to a Mexican joint in Brooklyn; from a dinner train in Rhode Island to the Lawrence Welk Resort in Branson, Missouri; from an upper-crust ladies’ club to a crusty hippie commune—I washed the nation’s dishes. Whether it was a gig so lousy that I walked out within an hour or one where I toiled 120 hours a week, I remained a man on a mission: to bust suds in every state in the union.”—Pete JordanA smart, funny, and surprising look at life, Dishwasher is sure to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and Tom Perotta.
    Show book
  • Stash-Buster Quilts - Time-Saving Designs for Fabric Leftovers - cover

    Stash-Buster Quilts -...

    Lynne Edwards

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fourteen fun patchwork projects that are perfect for making use of bits and pieces—from the bestselling author of Making Scrap Quilts to Use It Up! 
     
    Is your fabric hoard growing on a daily basis, taking over shelves, spilling out of drawers, stacking up on chairs? Take action now—make a stash-buster quilt! 
     
    Lynne Edwards, world-renowned quilt maker, teacher and author, continues her campaign to help you reduce your fabric collection, leaving you free to go out and buy more! In this colorful book, 14 scrap quilt projects are described in step-by-step detail, complete with easy-to-follow piecing diagrams. Additional quilts are pictured to provide added inspiration for combining your leftover fabrics. Time-saving techniques are featured to help your quilt grow speedily. 
     
    Arranged in six chapters, the book starts with Layer Cake quilts, where several squares of fabric are layered and then cut into wedges, just like cutting the slices of a layer cake, to create three different scrap quilts, each with a variation. The next chapter, Stitch-a-Strip, looks at quilt designs made from patchwork strips, while Squaring It Up gives you quilt designs to make from fabric squares. The Bits and Pieces chapter looks at joining different shaped pieced into attractive blocks and designs. Finally, the Small but Satisfying chapter includes a selection of smaller projects from bags to soft toys to ensure every last scrap is used! The book ends with Lynne’s expert advice for finishing a quilt including how to add borders to your quilt, how to attach the quilt backing, how to bind a quilt and advice on quilting the finished item.
    Show book
  • A Street Cat Named Bob - And How He Saved My Life - cover

    A Street Cat Named Bob - And How...

    James Bowen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    James is a street musician struggling to make ends meet. Bob is a stray cat looking for somewhere warm to sleep. When James and Bob meet, they forge a never-to-be-forgotten friendship that has been charming readers from Thailand to Turkey. A Street Cat Named Bob is an international sensation, landing on the bestseller list in England for 52 consecutive weeks and selling in 26 countries around the world. Now, James and Bob are ready to share their true story with the U.S. in this tale unlike any you' ve ever read of a cat who possesses some kind of magic. When street musician James Bowen found an injured cat curled up in the hallway of his apartment building, he had no idea how much his life was about to change. James was living hand to mouth on the streets of London, barely making enough money to feed himself, and the last thing he needed was a pet. Yet James couldn't resist helping the strikingly intelligent but very sick animal, whom he named Bob. He slowly nursed Bob back to health and then sent the cat on his way, imagining that he would never see him again. But Bob had other ideas. Perfect for fans of Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat That Changed the World, this instant classic about the power of love between man and animal has taken the world by storm and is guaranteed to be a huge hit with American fans as well.
    Show book
  • A Pocket Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue - cover

    A Pocket Dictionary of the...

    Francis Grose

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A profane guide to the slang from eighteenth-century London’s backstreets and taverns and how to use the antique jargon and curse words in modern conversation.   This slang dictionary gathers the most amusing and useful terms from English history and helpfully presents them to be used in the conversations of today.   Originally published in 1785, A Classical Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue was one of the first lexicons of English slang, compiled by a militia captain who collected the terms he overheard on his late-night excursions to London’s slums, dockyards, and taverns. Now the legacy lives on in this colorful pocket dictionary.  Learn the origin of phrases like “birthday suit” and discover slang lost to time  An unexpected marriage of lowbrow humor and highbrow wit A Pocket Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue is perfect for enlivening contemporary conversation with historical phrases; it includes a topical list of words for money, drunkenness, the amorous congress, male and female naughty bits, and so on.  A funny book for wordplay, language, swearing, and insult fans, as well as fans of British humor and culture  Perfect for those who loved How to Speak Brit: The Quintessential Guide to the King’s English, Cockney Slang, and Other Flummoxing British Phrases by Christopher J. Moore; Knickers in a Twist: A Dictionary of British Slang by Jonathan Bernstein; and The Official Dictionary of Sarcasm by James Napoli
    Show book
  • Titanic - True Stories of her Passengers Crew and Legacy - cover

    Titanic - True Stories of her...

    Nicola Pierce

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This book commemorates the enduring legacy of the world's most famous ship – TITANIC.
    Her story is one of all those bound together on that fateful voyage. On board were: writers, artists, honeymooners, sportsmen, priests, reverends, fashion designers, aristocrats, millionaires, children, crew and emigrants looking for a better life.
    This book tells of their lives, and shines the spotlight on:
    
    - Some of the great ship's surprising treasures
    - Her fêted voyage from Belfast's
    
    Harland & Wolff shipyard
    - The fascinating museums devoted to her memory, including Titanic Belfast
    - The iconic music and movies
    - Her winged and four-legged passengers
    - The sister ships of Olympic and Britannic
    - Tales of heroism
    - Theories surrounding Titanic's fatal collision
    - The lifeboats and just how close the SS Californian was on that tragic night
    - How Arctic explorer Ernest Shackleton and the inquiries viewed eventsThese stories and much more lie inside.
    Show book