Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Lightning Catcher - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

The Lightning Catcher

Clare Weze

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

'This exciting, science-packed novel is a cracking read and bursts with action, warmth and humour' - BookTrust Great Books Guide 2021 
 
'This is great fun; an energetic middle-grade debut with a fresh contemporary feel and a good dash of Stranger Things' - The Bookseller 
 
Alfie has noticed a few things since his family moved to Folding Ford. He really misses life in the city. He and his sister don't exactly fit in here. But the most interesting one is that the weather is BONKERS. One frost-covered branch on one tree in the middle of June? A tiny whirlwind in a bucket in the garden? Only in Folding Ford.  
 
Armed with his bike, a notepad and his new best mate Sam, Alfie is going to investigate. His best clue is Nathaniel Clemm … the only thing in town weirder than the weather. When Alfie 'investigates' Mr Clemm's garden, only SLIGHTLY illegally, he finds a strange box that freezes his trainers and makes his teeth tingle. And when he opens it, only SLIGHTLY deliberately, SOMETHING gets out. Something fast, fizzing and sparking with electricity and very, very much alive. But the creature from the box brings trouble of its own, and as barometers and tempers go haywire in Folding Ford, Alfie finds himself at the centre of a perfect storm. 
 
Skellig meets Stranger Things in this funny, heartfelt adventure story perfect for fans of Ross Welford, Christopher Edge and Frank Cottrell Boyce.
Available since: 05/13/2022.
Print length: 272 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Wanderers - cover

    The Wanderers

    Kate Ormand

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Unique Twist on Shape-Shifters with Fast-Paced Action, Thrilling Adventure, Mystery, and a Bit of RomanceFlo lives an eccentric life?she travels with a popular circus in which the main acts star orphaned children with secret shape-shifting abilities. Once Flo turns sixteen, she must perform, but she’s not ready. While practicing jumping a flaming hurdle in a clearing beside the circus, she spots a dark figure in the trees and fears he saw her shift. The news sends the circus into a panic.In Flo’s world, shifters are unknown to humans with the exception of a secret organization?the EOS, referred to as ?hunters.” Hunters capture and kill. They send some shifters to labs for observation and testing?testing they don’t often survive?and deem others useless, a danger to society, and eliminate them. To avoid discovery, shifters travel in packs, constantly moving and keeping themselves hidden. Up until now, the circus was the perfect disguise.Believing she has brought attention to the group, Flo feels dread and anxiety, causing her to make a mistake in front of the audience during her performance?a mistake that triggers a violent attack from the hunters.Flo manages to flee the torched circus grounds with Jett, the bear shifter who loves her; the annoying elephant triplets; and a bratty tiger named Pru. Together they begin a new journey, alone in a world they don’t understand and don’t know how to navigate. On the run, they unravel secrets and lies that surround the circus and their lives?secrets and lies that all point to the unthinkable: Have they been betrayed by the people they trusted most?Sky Pony Press, with our Good Books, Racehorse and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of books for young readers?picture books for small children, chapter books, books for middle grade readers, and novels for young adults. Our list includes bestsellers for children who love to play Minecraft; stories told with LEGO bricks; books that teach lessons about tolerance, patience, and the environment, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
    Show book
  • F Is for Fairy Tale - cover

    F Is for Fairy Tale

    Greg Paprocki

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An engaging collection of 26 illustrations featuring many different fairy tales and fairy tale objects—such as Castle, for Cinderella; Lamp, for Aladdin; Tower, for Rapunzel; and Red Roses, for Alice in Wonderland. Teach your little ones to be just like a fairy tale hero with words such as Brave, Fearless, and Mighty.
    Show book
  • Jude's Moon - cover

    Jude's Moon

    Nancy Guettier

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Nighttime is the best time for a boy and his best friend in this charming tale from the author of Circus in the Sky and Mermaids on Mars.  Jude’s Moon is a delightful story of a little boy who is fascinated by the moon. He believes he is the only one who can see it, so he is always so excited to point it out to his mom. “There’s the moon!” he shouts with glee every time he sees it. One day Jude is confused when the moon changes shape. He thinks someone has stolen his moon and replaced it with a croissant. When he learns it is a crescent moon, he is even more curious to learn how it changes shapes. This story is a fun and easy way to educate children on the phases of the moon.   “I recommend this book to kids that love science, teachers that want to teach their class about moon phases and parents that love to read with their kids.” —5 Girls Book Reviews   “In Jude’s Moon, Jude loves the moon so much that he believes he is the one who hung it in the sky. Throughout the story, Jude examines the phases of the moon, as well as fun facts about the sun.” —MySocialGoodNews.com  
    Show book
  • Desert Dreams - cover

    Desert Dreams

    Cindy Leaney

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Listen to the story Desert Dreams by Cindy Leaney to hear the sound d can make.
    Show book
  • Four Sides the Same - A Book About Squares - cover

    Four Sides the Same - A Book...

    Christianne Jones

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Provides an introduction to squares by identifying things having this shape within a backyard picnic. Includes an activity.
    Show book
  • A Long List - cover

    A Long List

    Cindy Leaney

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Listen to the story A Long List by Cindy Leaney to hear the sound the letter l makes.
    Show book