Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Men in the Making - Stories - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Men in the Making - Stories

Bruce Machart

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A collection of “artful, emotional” and “manly” short stories from the acclaimed author of The Wake of Forgiveness (Dallas News). From the critically acclaimed author of The Wake of Forgiveness—“a mesmerizing, mythic saga,” as described by the New York Times—come ten remarkable stories that uncover unexpected beauty in the struggles of the modern American male. Like Richard Russo, Bruce Machart has a profound knowledge of the male psyche and a gift for conveying the absurdity and brutality of daily life with humor and compassion. Whether they find themselves walking the fertile farmland of south Texas, steering trucks through the suffocating sprawl of Houston, or turning logs into paper in the mills just west of the Sabine River, the men of these stories seek to prove themselves in a world that doesn’t always welcome them. Here are men whose furrows are never quite straight and whose hearts are near to bursting with all the desires they have been told they aren’t supposed to heed. “Bruce Machart is one of our most ambitious and fearless young writers. With Men in the Making, he has composed a remarkable paean to the complex fragility of the American male. I read these stories in a state of tender amazement.”—Steve Almond, author of Rock and Roll Will Save Your Life
Available since: 10/25/2011.
Print length: 208 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sauve Qui Peut - Stories - cover

    Sauve Qui Peut - Stories

    Lawrence Durrell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For the British delegation to Vulgaria, no problem is too small to become a crisis in this lively story collection of diplomatic misadventureIn the words of Antrobus, master diplomat in the King’s service, diplomacy was once “a quiet and restful trade carried on in soothing inanity among a hundred shady legations and embassies all over the globe.” What changed? What caused this most noble profession to fall from grace? Women, of course. A diplomatic incident begins brewing as soon as the lovely new French ambassador—or is it ambassadress?—arrives in Vulgaria. One of the British delegation is instantly besotted, and about to begin his pursuit when a rival appears in the form of roguish Italian diplomat Bonzo di Porco. Because these are servants of the most advanced governments in the world, they settle their dispute rationally: with swords. Jealousy, selfishness, swordplay? All are commonplace in Antrobus’s embassy. In these nine juicy tales, the King’s diplomats may seldom be diplomatic, but they always manage to get the job done—with or without bloodshed.
    Show book
  • Why Frau Frohmann Raised Her Prices and Other Stories - cover

    Why Frau Frohmann Raised Her...

    Anthony Trollope

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A collection of five stories by Anthony Trollope: Why Frau Frohmann Raised Her Prices; The Lady of Launay;Christmas at Thompson Hall; The Telegraph Girl; and Alice Dugdale - Summary by Nicholas Clifford
    Show book
  • The Secret Adversary - cover

    The Secret Adversary

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Tommy Beresford and Prudence 'Tuppence' Cowley are young, in love… and flat broke. Just after Great War, there are few jobs available and the couple are desperately short of money. Restless for excitement, they decide to embark on a daring business scheme: Young Adventurers Ltd.—"willing to do anything, go anywhere." Hiring themselves out proves to be a smart move for the couple. In their first assignment for the mysterious Mr. Whittingtont, all Tuppence has to do in their first job is take an all-expense paid trip to Paris and pose as an American named Jane Finn. But with the assignment comes a bribe to keep quiet, a threat to her life, and the disappearance of her new employer. Now their newest job are playing detective.Where is the real Jane Finn? The mere mention of her name produces a very strange reaction all over London. So strange, in fact, that they decided to find this mysterious missing lady. She has been missing for five years. And neither her body nor the secret documents she was carrying have ever been found. Now post-war England's economic recovery depends on finding her and getting the papers back. But he two young working undercover for the British ministry know only that her name and the only photo of her is in the hands of her rich American cousin. It isn't long before they find themselves plunged into more danger than they ever could have imagined—a danger that could put an abrupt end to their business… and their lives
    Show book
  • Sticky Fingers 2 - Another 12 Twisted Short Stories - cover

    Sticky Fingers 2 - Another 12...

    JT Lawrence

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Diverse, dark-humored, and deliciously bite-sized: USA Today bestselling author JT Lawrence ratchets up the tension with this compelling collection of short stories perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Roald Dahl. 
    GATSBY’S DOUBLE 
    An artist’s Pomeranian has been replaced by an imposter. 
    COURT, MARRY, KILL 
    Whose body ends up being unzipped by fish on the ocean floor? 
    ROCKABYE BABY 
    A female-only cult has a very dark side. 
    HE DID IT 
    A detective relies on his gut (and his hallucinations) to help him solve murder cases. 
    THE BRAIN BLEACHER 
    He can remove your pain by hacking your memory, but his own suffering is here to stay. 
    *** 
    ★★★★★   "Lawrence makes every word count, telling each story with elegance and emotional punch.” — Patsy Hennessey 
    ★★★★★   "JT Lawrence is the queen of short stories." — Dora Bona 
    ★★★★★   "Each story is masterfully constructed ... Humorous, touching, creepy, but most of all entertaining, this collection is superb." — Tracy Michelle Anderson 
    *** 
    If you're a fan of Roald Dahl or Gillian Flynn you'll love these unsettling stories with a twist in the tale.  
    Are you ready to stay up all night with USA Today bestselling author JT Lawrence? 
    Click now to start listening.
    Show book
  • Wedding Heat Friday - A collection of the first 6 books in the Wedding Heat series - cover

    Wedding Heat Friday - A...

    Giselle Renarde

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Forget the happy couple—it’s the guests that make this wedding sizzle!This audio anthology of Wedding Heat novelettes contains all six audiobooks from the series’ first season. What have we got?  Straight, gay, bisexual, lesbian, and transgender erotic stories featuring ménage, BBW, fetish, older adults, and even office romance!In “One in the Hand” a married couple develops a love of outdoor sex en route to their niece’s wedding. In “Two in the Bush” a curvy girl and her coworker crush come together with the help of a beautiful stranger.“Skinny Dipping” follows Joey as he strips down and swims with the boys, only to lose his virginity to Greg.  Next up, Vanessa finds out a secret about Maggie that might just land them both in hot water in “Pretty Bride.”In “MILF of the Groom,” rumours about Ellora have been greatly exaggerated, but she can’t resist a younger man’s advances.  When Farrah meets up with a long-lost love, can he cherish her transgender heart in “If the Shoes Fit”?This wedding’s already got serious sizzle, and it’s only Friday night!
    Show book
  • Sentinels of Fire - cover

    Sentinels of Fire

    P. T. Deutermann

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A dramatic World War II adventure set on a US destroyer under ferocious kamikaze attack, by the Boyd Award-winning author of Pacific Glory 
     
    By the spring of 1945, the once mighty Japanese fleet has been virtually destroyed, leaving Japan open to invasion. The Japanese react by dispatching hundreds of suicide bombers against the Allied fleet surrounding Okinawa. By mid-May, the Allied fleet is losing a major ship a day to murderous swarms of kamikazes streaming out of Formosa and southern Japan. The radar picket line is the first defense and early warning against these hellish formations, but the Japanese direct special attention to these lone destroyers stationed north and west of Okinawa. 
     
    One destroyer, the USS Malloy, faces an even more pressing issue when her Executive Officer Connie Miles begins to realize that the ship's much-admired Captain Pudge Tallmadge is losing his mind under the relentless pressure of the attacks. Set against the blazing gun battles created by the last desperate offensive of the Japanese, Executive Officer Miles and the ship's officers grapple with the consequences of losing their skipper's guidance-and perhaps the ship itself and everyone on board. 
     
    Vividly authentic, historically accurate, and emotionally compelling, Sentinels of Fire is military adventure at its best.
    Show book