Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Girl on the Stairs - The Search for a Missing Witness to the JFK Assassination - cover

The Girl on the Stairs - The Search for a Missing Witness to the JFK Assassination

Barry Ernest

Publisher: Pelican Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

One man’s quest to investigate a dismissed eyewitness account of the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. 
 
Victoria Elizabeth Adams worked on the fourth floor of the Texas School Book Depository in 1963. She was on the back staircase of the building at the precise moment that Lee Harvey Oswald—according to the Warren Commission’s account—was making his escape. Yet, Adams saw and heard no one. 
 
This is the story—both frightening and fascinating—about a journey to seek the truth in the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. After a three-decade quest and an array of obstacles, investigative journalist Barry Ernest brings the full account of the girl on the stairs to life. 
 
Ernest, a frequent lecturer on the topic of the Kennedy assassination, won the 2011 Mary Ferrell Pioneer Award, a national honor presented for a lifetime of searching for the truth. 
 
David S. Lifton, author of the New York Times bestseller Best Evidence: Disguise and Deception in the Assassination of John F. Kennedy, provides a foreword to this intriguing saga. 
 
Praise for The Girl on the Stairs 
 
“Beautifully paced writing takes the reader along as Ernst searches for crucial information. . . . Highly recommended.” —Debra Conway, president, JFK Lancer Productions & Publications, Inc. 
 
“Ernest demonstrates there are still important lessons to learned and good historical research to be done.” —Larry Hancock, author of Someone Would Have Talked: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy 
 
“Brilliant, utterly compelling, very, very dark, and deeply troubling.” —Dr. Stephen Dorril, author of MI6:Fifty Years of Special Operations 
 
“Deserves space on the shelf of every Kennedy assassination buff in the country.” —Maj. Glenn MacDonald, Military Corruption 
 
“Totally engrossing and fascinating.” —Terry West, WAXX FM
Available since: 04/02/2013.
Print length: 336 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Beyond the Body Farm - cover

    Beyond the Body Farm

    Dr. Bill Bass, Jon Jefferson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Dead Do Tell Tales... 
    A pioneer in forensic anthropology, Dr. Bill Bass created the world's first laboratory dedicated to the study of human decomposition. Bill Bass's research at ""the Body Farm"" has revolutionized forensic science, helping police crack cold cases and pinpoint time since death. In this riveting book, the bone sleuth explores the rise of modern forensic science, using cases from his career to take readers into the real world of ""CSI.""  
    Some of Bill Bass's cases rely on the simplest of tools and techniques, while other cases hinge on sophisticated techniques Dr. Bass could not have imagined when he began his career: using computer data and video image processing to help identify murder victims; harnessing scanning electron microscopy to detect trace elements in knife wounds; and extracting DNA from a long-buried corpse, only to find that the female murder victim may have been mistakenly identified a quarter-century before. Witty and engaging, Bass dissects the methods used by homicide investigators every day, leading readers on an extraordinary journey into the high-tech science that it takes to crack a case.
    Show book
  • My Brother Jason - The untold story of Jason Corbett's life and brutal murder by Tom and Molly Martens - cover

    My Brother Jason - The untold...

    Tracey Corbett-Lynch, Ralph Riegel

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In August 2015 Limerick man Jason Corbett was murdered by his wife, Molly Martens, and her father, ex-FBI agent Tom Martens, in the bedroom of their luxury North Carolina home. He had been savagely beaten to death with a baseball bat and brick while his children slept nearby. For his sister, Tracey Corbett-Lynch, and the rest of his family in Ireland it was just the beginning of the nightmare that would involve a custody battle for his orphaned children, an online hate campaign by Molly Martens and, ultimately, the gripping trial that would lead to her conviction, alongside her father, for his murder.My Brother Jason is the story of how this seemingly all-American girl from a picture-perfect family targeted the widowed Jason Corbett, becoming nanny to his children in a desperate bid to create the family and security she craved, thus setting in motion a series of events that would lead to Jason’s brutal killing by the woman he had once loved.Here, for the first time, Tracey Corbett-Lynch tells her family's side of the story in a book that contains shocking revelations about Molly Marten's history of strange behavior and the lengths she was willing to go to in order to get custody of Jason's children.
    Show book
  • Betrayal - Whitey Bulger and the FBI Agent Who Fought to Bring Him Down - cover

    Betrayal - Whitey Bulger and the...

    Jon Land, Robert Fitzpatrick

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In Betrayal, renowned FBI agent Robert Fitzpatrick partners with USA Today bestselling author Jon Land to present the true story of the lawman’s pursuit of James “Whitey” Bulger, Jr., the notorious crimelord of Boston, Massachusetts’s Winter Hill Gang. The Jack Nicholson film The Departed didn’t tell half of their story. A poor kid from the slums, Robert Fitzpatrick grew up to become a stellar FBI agent and challenge the country’s deadliest gangsters. Relentless in his desire to catch, prosecute, and convict Whitey Bulger, Fitzpatrick fought the nation’s most determined cop-gangster battle since Melvin Purvis hunted, confronted, and killed John Dillinger.In his crusade to bring Bulger to justice, Fitzpatrick faced not only Whitey but also corrupt FBI agents, along with political cronies and enablers from Boston to Washington who, in one way or another, blocked his efforts at every step. Even when Fitzpatrick discovered the very organization to which he had sworn allegiance was his biggest obstacle, the agent continued to pursue Whitey and his gang . . . knowing that they were prepared to murder anyone who got in their way.At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
    Show book
  • Crooked Brooklyn - Taking Down Corrupt Judges Dirty Politicians Killers and Body Snatchers - cover

    Crooked Brooklyn - Taking Down...

    Jerry Schmetterer, Michael...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From 2001 to 2013, Michael Vecchione was chief of the Rackets Division in the Brooklyn District Attorney's Office, which was the largest urban prosecution agency in the country. Vecchione grappled with organized crime and dirty politicians, during which he supervised, investigated, and prosecuted major felony cases.Crooked Brooklyn is a gritty story of corruption, greed, and law enforcement. Vecchione navigated a political minefield and expertly rose to the judicial challenges of directing investigations into a wide variety of crimes, from bribe-taking judges to cold-blooded killers. He was responsible for taking down three state Supreme Court judges, one of the most powerful political bosses in the country, two cops who worked as assassins for the Mafia, and a corrupt oral surgeon who was secretly selling bones from the recently deceased to medical supply companies.Unbelievable and unforgettable, Crooked Brooklyn is a story that will appeal to fans of Law & Order, readers of true crime, and those hungry for details about the system that keeps us safe.
    Show book
  • The Red Ripper - Inside the Mind of Russia's Most Brutal Serial Killer - cover

    The Red Ripper - Inside the Mind...

    Peter Conradi

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The shocking true story of the Russian serial killer who brutally murdered more than fifty victims—and evaded capture for over a decade. By the time he was brought to trial in 1992, Soviet serial killer Andrei Chikatilo had killed more than fifty women and children, often sexually abusing them and leaving their bodies mutilated beyond recognition. Although he was initially arrested in 1984, the police lacked enough evidence to pin the unsolved murders on him and he was able to torture and kill dozens more before his eventual conviction. Compiling exclusive interviews and trial transcripts, journalist and editor at London’s Sunday Times Peter Conradi reveals how the grandfather and former teacher carried out a horrific twelve-year killing spree right under the nose of authority.   Based on extensive research into Chikatilo’s past and the elements of Soviet society that allowed his crimes to go unsolved for so long, Conradi delves into the life of one of history’s most prolific and disturbing serial killers. Interviews with Moscow police detectives detail the fervent hunt for the man who preyed on young children, prostitutes, and runaways—a search that turned up many dead ends and false convictions before a massive undercover surveillance effort ultimately nabbed Chikatilo.   A chilling look into the deranged mind of a monster, The Red Ripper is a comprehensive and shocking true crime account—plus photos—of one of the twentieth century’s deadliest killers and the manhunt to catch him.  
    Show book
  • Psycho USA - Famous American Killers You Never Heard Of - cover

    Psycho USA - Famous American...

    Harold Schechter

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the horrifying annals of American crime, the infamous names of brutal killers such as Bundy, Dahmer, Gacy, and Berkowitz are writ large in the imaginations of a public both horrified and hypnotized by their monstrous, murderous acts. But for every celebrity psychopath who's gotten ink for spilling blood, there's a bevy of all-but-forgotten homicidal fiends studding the bloody margins of U.S. history. In this book you'll meet Robert Irwin, "The Mad Sculptor": He longed to use his carving skills on the woman he loved but had to settle for making short work of her mother and sister instead. Peter Robinson, "The Tell-Tale Heart Killer": It took two days and four tries for him to finish off his victim but no time at all for keen-eyed cops to spot the fatal flaw in his floor plan. Anton Probst, "The Monster in the Shape of a Man": The ax-murdering immigrant's systematic slaughter of all eight members of a Pennsylvania farm family matched the savagery of the Manson murders a century later. Edward H. Rulloff, "The Man of Two Lives": A genuine Jekyll and Hyde, his brilliant scholarship disguised his bloodthirsty brutality.
    Show book