Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
I Am Venus - A Novel - cover

I Am Venus - A Novel

Bárbara Mujica

Publisher: The Overlook Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This fictional account of the seventeenth-century Spanish painter’s life is “a very enjoyable read . . . A portrait of Velázquez and a meditation on love” (Washington Independent Review of Books).   Narrated by the mysterious model who posed for Rokeby Venus, Diego Velázquez’s only surviving female nude, I Am Venus is the riveting account of a great artist’s rise to prominence, set against the backdrop of political turmoil and romantic scandal. A sweeping story of scandal and passion, and a vivid recreation of a corrupt kingdom on the brink of collapse, I Am Venus is a thrilling novel that brings to life the public and private worlds of Spain’s greatest painter.   “A well-plotted read with engaging characters and rich detail. Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Elizabeth Kostova as well as art history buffs will enjoy Mujica’s interpretation.” —Library Journal   “A worthwhile read . . . Mujica continues her realistic representation by loading the text with rich historical detail [that] instantly creates a sensory world for her readers to inhabit.” —Booklist   “Mujica’s prose is vigorous and intense, and the story is paradoxically both dark and illuminating.” —Kirkus Reviews
Available since: 06/13/2013.
Print length: 304 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Frontline and Experimental Flying With the Fleet Air Arm - cover

    Frontline and Experimental...

    Geoffrey Higges

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The first Royal Navy pilot to fly transatlantic non-stop (in a Buccaneer) describes his thirty-five-year career in the Fleet Air Arm and as an Empire Test Pilot. The spectacle of Alan Cobham’s Flying Circus and the Fleet at anchor in Weymouth inspired the author’s lifelong passion for aeroplanes, flying and the Royal Navy. World War Two provided the opportunity to fulfil his ambition and at eighteen he volunteered for the Fleet Air Arm as a pilot. Training in Canada began a Naval flying career that spanned thirty-years. Front line squadron service, embarked on aircraft carriers was followed by qualification as a flying instructor. Selection for the Empire Test Pilots School at Farnborough and qualification as an experimental Test Pilot changed the direction of his naval career. In all he flew nearly one hundred types of aircraft and carried out close to a thousand deck landings. Initial flight testing of several new naval aircraft, as well as research flying in support of the development of aircraft such as the English Electric Lightning and Concorde added to a unique career. Such a long and varied period of flying was not without the inevitable mishaps. A near catastrophic catapult launch of a new naval aircraft, the jamming of the power control system in a research aircraft and hazardous flying through tropical storms at supersonic speeds to determine safety factors for Concorde’s intended Far East route were some of the dangers of flying at the cutting edge. As pilot, he flew the first Royal Naval aircraft to cross the Atlantic non-stop without in-flight refuelling or navigational aids. He describes the fascinating ten-day flight from Croydon to Rangoon across Europe, the Middle East, Pakistan and India to deliver a Percival Provost trainer to the Burmese Air Force.Praise for Frontline and Experimental Flying with the Fleet Air Arm “Follow Higgs from one cockpit/conference room/country to another. You’ll be as surprised as he is that he lived to tell about some of these adventures.” —Speedreaders “This hefty [book] chronicles . . . a life crammed with flying all types of aircraft, mostly shipboard, and the inevitable mishaps. . . . A good read, particularly for those of us who soak up anything to do with ships and aircraft. The shipboard accounts of catapult trials, amongst other sections, are gripping, and the times in Singapore and the Far East add to the appeal, as do the various accounts of life alongside the Americans. Geoffrey Higgs flew nearly 100 different types of aircraft in his career and his love of flying shines through the pages.” —Alan Rawlinson
    Show book
  • Worth Fighting For - Love Loss and Moving Forward - cover

    Worth Fighting For - Love Loss...

    Lisa Niemi Swayze

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From Patrick Swayze’s widow—the moving, New York Times bestselling account of grief, loss, caregiving, and moving on, with touching stories from their final months together.When Lisa Niemi first exchanged vows with Patrick Swayze, she promised to be with her husband “till death do us part.” But how many couples stop and think about what that truly means? Worth Fighting For is both a candid tribute to a marriage and a celebration of the healing power that each day holds, even in the most difficult of circumstances. Lisa shares the details of Patrick’s twenty-one-month battle with Stage IV pancreatic cancer, and she describes his last days, when she simply tried to keep him comfortable. She writes with heartbreaking honesty about her grief in the aftermath of his death and openly discusses the challenges that the years without him have posed. Her story is an emotionally honest and unflinching depiction of loss, but it is also a hopeful and life-affirming exploration of the power of the human spirit. “I tell you, I am a different person now,” she writes, “one who has been thrown into the fire and forged.”
    Show book
  • Enemy Coast Ahead - The Illustrated Memoir of Dambuster Guy Gibson - cover

    Enemy Coast Ahead - The...

    Guy Gibson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A definitive new edition of a classic, World War II memoir, complete with more than 100 photographs, and notes from leading historians.   Guy Gibson was the leader of the famous Dambusters raid, and Enemy Coast Ahead is a vivid, honest account, widely regarded as one of the best books on the Second World War. It also provides an insider’s perspective, setting down in clear detail the challenges that the RAF faced in the war against Germany’s Luftwaffe.   Tragically, Gibson died in September 1944, when his Mosquito crashed near Steenbergen in the Netherlands. He was aged just 26. This new book has been published to mark the 75th anniversary of his death and includes an introduction by James Holland, a historian and broadcaster. It includes notes by Dr Robert Owen, the Official Historian of the No. 617 Squadron Association, and many images that have never before been published.  Published in association with the RAF Museum  Inspired the 1955 film The Dam Busters, starring Richard Todd and Michael Redgrave
    Show book
  • Ladies Night at the Dreamland - cover

    Ladies Night at the Dreamland

    Sonja Livingston

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Tales of female daredevils, warriors, killers, and victims: “Radiant essays inspired by ‘slivers and bits’ of real women's lives…Wise, fresh, captivating.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)   At the Dreamland, women and girls flicker from the shadows to take their proper place in the spotlight. In this lyrical collection, Sonja Livingston weaves together strands of research and imagination to conjure figures from history, literature, legend, and personal memory. The result is a series of essays that highlight lives as varied, troubled, and spirited as America itself.   Livingston breathes life into subjects who led extraordinary lives—as rule-breakers, victims, or those whose differences made them cultural curiosities—bringing together those who slipped through the world largely unseen with those whose images were fleeting or faulty so that they, too, remained relatively obscure. Included are Alice Mitchell, a Memphis society girl who murdered her female lover in 1892; Maria Spelterini, who crossed Niagara Falls on a tightrope in 1876; May Fielding, a “white slave girl” buried in a Victorian cemetery; Valaida Snow, a Harlem Renaissance trumpeter; a child exhibited as Darwin’s Missing Link; the sculptors’ model Audrey Munson; a Crow warrior; victims of a 1970s serial killer; the Fox Sisters; and many more.
    Show book
  • The Year of Knots - Modern Projects Inspiration and Creative Reinvention - cover

    The Year of Knots - Modern...

    Windy Chien

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An acclaimed artist celebrates the creative possibilities of macramé and knots in this memoir and guide featuring projects and tutorials. 
     
    Every day for a year, artist Windy Chien learned to tie a new kind of knot and then shared the results on Instagram—a project that both reinvented her life and revolutionized knot art. In The Year of Knots, Chien describes how knot-making led her on a path of discovery.  
     
    She shares projects, tutorials, and transformative personal stories, all aimed at inspiring readers to make knotting—and creativity in general—part of a meditative daily practice.  
     
    The knots in this book are gorgeously documented step-by-step. Knotted projects abound—from wall hangings to a necklace, a dog leash, a hanging light, and more. At the heart of the story is the simple, empowering idea that a single year is all the time you need to make a life-changing creative leap.
    Show book
  • American Slavery as It is - Testimony of a Thousand Witnesses - cover

    American Slavery as It is -...

    Theodore Dwight Weld

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "American Slavery As It Is" is a book composed of first-hand accounts of slavery and its horrors. The work focuses on the afflictions that slaves faced, covering their diet, clothing, housing, and working conditions. Harriet Beecher Stowe used "American Slavery As It Is" as the direct inspiration for her novel, Uncle Tom's Cabin.
    Show book