Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Lovely Liar - cover

The Lovely Liar

Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Two fair-haired, blue-eyed beauties named Noella whose destinies are intertwined before they're even born… One lives the high life in Europe with her mother and her rakish lover while the other leads a sheltered, quiet life… Until, alone, penniless and desperate, a beguiling stranger lures her into a web of deceit from which there's no escape. Posing as her now-dead namesake, Noella Wakefield ingratiates herself with her estranged 'brother', the handsome but bitter Earl of Ravensdale. Too late, she realises that she is part of a murderous plot – and then, after saving him from a dagger-wielding assassin, she realises she's in love. But how could the Earl ever love a liar? And how can true love be based on a lie?

Other books that might interest you

  • Love Saves the Day - cover

    Love Saves the Day

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    The beautiful redheaded Tiana Weston sets out to visit her inheritance in Dorset with high hopes.
    It had been her parents' dream to restore Castle Rose to its former glory as it is now a dilapidated ruin and only a small part is fit to live in.
    But Tiana soon discovers that enthusiasm and determination alone do not pay the workmen or keep property developers at bay and soon she is faced with a dreadful dilemma.
    Her handsome and aristocratic next door neighbour Richard, the Earl of Austindale, also faces considerable problems.
    He has to be married by midnight on his next birthday or he will lose everything he holds most dear to his cousin Alan, Viscount Paige.
    A young girl anxious to protect her home – a man desperate for a wife – it seems like a sensible, business-like arrangement that they should marry each other.
    And Tiana finally accepts the Earl's proposal and they are due to be married on his thirtieth birthday.
    But then an old flame of the Earl's arrives to claim him for herself and Tiana is filled with doubt especially as the Viscount is paying a great deal of attention to her.
    She also finds herself in great danger because now so many are determined that the marriage will not take place.
    How Tiana realises how much she loves the Earl.
    And how she finally finds happiness is all told in this exciting romance by BARBARA CARTLAND
    Show book
  • Love cannot Fail - cover

    Love cannot Fail

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    Following the death of her husband, the Countess of Wenlock was living in her magnificent house in London with her son, Donald, and her beautiful daughter, Salvia.
    One day out of the blue Donald suddenly drops a bombshell.
    He tells his mother and Salvia that he has lost all their money by trusting an American acquaintance of his who claimed that he would invest it all safely and produce big profits for the family
    Donald leaves at once for America to follow the man and hopefully recover all or part of their money.
    Sylvia knows that she has to do something quickly to save them from losing their home and their treasures as they now cannot even afford to pay their servants.
    She goes to Thomas Cook's, the renowned travel firm, and asks them to arrange for a family coming from abroad, preferably a rich one, to visit England to stay at their lovely house instead of going to a hotel.
    Thomas Cook's oblige by sending them an American and his wife who are coming to London to introduce their attractive daughter to the Beau Monde.
    To make some money quickly Salvia then finds herself a job as secretary to Lord Carville who is writing a book in three languages and fortunately she herself is fluent in all three.
    How she helps him with his work, which she finds fascinating, and makes a lively contribution to his thoughts.
    How she and Lord Carville set off together on an unexpected visit to Paris, although Salvia knows that her mother would have misgivings about her travelling abroad unchaperoned with his Lordship.
    And how after all they are able to find what they are both seeking is told in this romantic novel by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book
  • Hot for You - cover

    Hot for You

    Marie Harte

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    For fans of Jaci Burton and Roxanne St. Claire comes a sexy contemporary romance from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Marie Harte:Second chance romanceSexy Seattle firefightersSingle mom and her daughterIrresistible attraction and scorching, high heatAn ugly dog finds his forever home 
    Reggie gave up on love, but love has yet to give up on him...
     
    Firefighter Reggie Morgan is done with love, done with relationships, and done with complications. But when he's called to the scene of a hit-and-run, he finds a scared little girl, a butt-ugly stray puppy, and an unconscious woman he can't get out of his mind. The girl and the puppy are a handful, but the girl's mother, Maggie might just be the woman to melt Reggie's icy heart. Reggie has loved and lost before and the pain nearly broke him. But they can't ignore their unquenchable desire for each other, and Maggie, a teacher by trade, is confident she can show Reggie all about falling—and staying—in love.
     
    Praise for Marie Harte's contemporary romances:"Sexy, sweet, and thoroughly satisfying."—Lauren Layne, New York Times bestselling author, for The Whole Package"Expertly balances fun and sexy shenanigans with deeper themes."—Fresh Fiction for Just the Thing"Packed with sass, sensuality and heartwarming emotion."—Romance Junkies for What to Do with a Bad Boy
    Show book
  • The Heart's Appeal (London Beginnings Book #2) - cover

    The Heart's Appeal (London...

    Jennifer Delamere

    • 3
    • 6
    • 0
    Strong-minded and independent Julia Bernay comes to London to study medicine and become a doctor--a profession that has only just opened up to women. She witnesses a serious accident, and through her quick actions saves the life of an ambitious young barrister named Michael Stephenson.Coming from a family that long ago lost its money and its respectability, Michael Stephenson has achieved what many would have thought was impossible. Hard work and an aptitude for the law have enabled him to rise above his family's stigma and set him on the path to wealth and recognition. But his well-laid plans are upended when the accident brings Julia into his life. Michael soon discovers he's met a woman every bit as stubborn and determined to make her mark on the world as he is. Sparks fly--but will they find common ground?
    Show book
  • The Patient Bridegroom - cover

    The Patient Bridegroom

    Barbara Cartland

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    Returning to his family estate after a long absence in India serving under the much-loved and now-deceased Viceroy, Michael, the handsome Earl of Rayburne, is appalled to find that his estate and the local village have gone to rack and ruin.
    It seems that his uncle to whom he had entrusted them has embezzled everything that the Earl owns, including the contents of Rayburne Castle and has decamped with his loot to America.
    Penniless and unable to pay the estate's workers and pensioners, who are on the verge of starvation, he has no choice but to throw himself on the mercy of Lord Frazer, the owner of the neighbouring estate and his family's bitter enemy in an age-old land dispute over a wood. 
    To the Earl's astonishment the hateful Lord Frazer offers him not a loan but a gift, amounting to fifty thousand ponds, in order to combine their two estates. 
    But there is one other condition. The Earl must marry Lord Frazer's young daughter, Ansella, whom he has never even met.
    Although now he can begin to rescue the estate and its people from ruin, the Earl is in despair, certain that Lord Frazer's daughter will be an ugly harridan who can never become the beloved 'Lady in the Castle' like his late and much-loved mother.
    But everything changes when he finally sees his bride after their Marriage Service.
    She is beautiful! 
    Her face is heart-shaped and her hair is pale gold like the sun at dawn – little wonder that soon the young Earl of Rayburne realises that he is falling in love.
    Show book
  • The King Wins - cover

    The King Wins

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    King Martiza of Salamos has fallen asleep when he suddenly becomes aware that something is moving in his room.
    To his astonishment he finds that it is Princess Veria who has come for his Coronation which is to take place the very next day.
    She, as her father has died, is now ruling the State of Kavolana which is a smaller Balkan country bordering on his.
    In a whisper she tells him that she has discovered a plot by her Prime Minister and his Cabinet to drug her so that she is found by them in his bed and then forced to marry her to save her reputation.
    The King realises that he has a bad reputation for pursuing beautiful women.
    But he has in fact no intention of getting married.
    He does, however, know that his Government has always wanted Kavolana to be joined to Salamos to make the two countries more significant together.
    It is more important now than at any other time because of the policy of the Russians who are infiltrating the Balkans and taking over every small Kingdom and Principality that they can.
    The King helps the Princess to escape from his bedroom in a very unconventional manner.
    Then he finds after his Coronation that he becomes involved in the difficulties of her country.
    They become friends as each of them realises that the other has no intention of marrying under any circumstances.
    The King is fully aware of the danger that their two countries are in.
    The Russians then think up a plot to marry Princess Veria to a Russian Prince and take over Kavolana that way.
    The King then turns to Queen Victoria for help as Great Britain is
    the only country that Russia has no wish to offend or fight.
    The King and the Princess save their countries, but they cannot save themselves from their own feelings.
    Finally, both the King and the Princess find happiness, which is all told in this unusual romance by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book