Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Love Rules - cover

Love Rules

Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

When her father orders her to marry a cousin of the Russian Czar, whom she does not even know, let alone love, Princess Margarita of Altauss is horrified. Forced to travel to St. Petersburg, she demands that her English friend, Paulina Handley, daughter of a British Diplomat, goes along with her as her Lady in Waiting.Very experienced in the ways of the world and of love, her father, Sir Christopher Handley, urges Paulina to beware Russian aristocrats and Royalty, who would make effusive declarations of love, but would never actually be allowed to marry a commoner.However, no sooner than she has arrived in St. Petersburg with his words still ringing in her ears, Paulina falls head over heels in love with the Princess’s brother, the handsome Prince Maximus – and he with her. To her chagrin though, the Prince must return to the Caucasus, scene of his recent heroism in battle and, anyway, how can she, a commoner, ever marry a Prince? So, before it even begins, their love seems to be doomed.

Other books that might interest you

  • Call of the Heart - cover

    Call of the Heart

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Half-starved, sickly and pale, the beautiful Lalitha lives in the shadow of her stepsister, the glamorous Lady Sophie Studley, darling of London’s Beau Monde. Because only Lalitha knows the dark secrets upon which her stepmother, Lady Studley, has built a new life for herself and her daughter. Worked like a slave and frequently thrashed with her stepmother’s cane, she feels that should one of these beatings go too far her death would merely come as a relief.The conniving mother and daughter’s latest deceit involves Sophie’s latest two suitors. Betrothed to Julius Verton, Sophie is dismayed to find that he has no money of his own, at least until his uncle, the Duke of Yelverton, dies.With typical callousness she plans to abandon Julius and elope with the immensely wealthy Lord Rothwyn, a friend of the Prince Regent. But she does not love him, only his riches and his position in Society. “Oh, well,” she says, “perhaps his Lordship will not live long. Then I shall be a rich widow and will be able to marry Julius when he is the Duke of Yelverton after all!” But when news arrives that Julius’ uncle is on his deathbed everything changes. Sophie sends Lalitha to meet Lord Rothwyn at the Church to tell him that he is being jilted. And from the moment the dashing Lord mistakes her for Sophie and seizes her in a passionate kiss, her heart is lost and her life is changed forever –
    Show book
  • The Earl Escapes - cover

    The Earl Escapes

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Beautiful young Valencia Hadley lives a quietly contented life as the daughter of the Chaplin to the estate of Dolphin Priory.
     
    And she loves the Big House as much as the pretty little house by the Chapel where she and her father have lived since she was a little girl.
     
    Since Hue, the Earl of Dolphinston, spends all his time with the Beau Monde in London, Valencia enjoys the run of the big house, so when the Earl finally arrives with a retinue of Society types, she is a little dismayed.
     
    She is even more dismayed when she overhears the glamorous beauty Lady Hester Stansfield and her brother Edward Ward in the Chapel plotting to drug the Earl and to dupe her father into marrying him to Hester so that they can get their greedy hands on The Priory and the family riches.
     
    Enlisting the help of Ben, a strong estate worker, Valencia spirits away the drugged and unconscious Earl and hides him in an ancient Priest’s Hole behind the Altar of the Chapel.
     
    Next a desperate Edward tries to force the Earl to marry Hester at gunpoint – and again he is foiled by Valencia’s brave intervention.
     
    There is only one way now for the Earl to rid himself of Lady Hester for good is to marry Valencia!
     
    By now Valencia has realised that she is passionately in love with him.
     
    But how can she possibly marry him if he does not love her too?
    Show book
  • Aether Ones - cover

    Aether Ones

    Wendi Coffman-Porter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A science fiction mystery with political upheaval and dangerous secrets. It’s got a kick-butt female lead and lots of really neat alien races.” —The Bookwyrm’s Den 
     
    Long ago, the Great Sundering ripped the universe apart, creating two separate realities. The kuldain realm developed advanced technology, and its inhabitants travel the universe on massive ships to colonize and expand their empire. The aether realm, meanwhile, harnessed the magic of the massively powerful eldrich energy that connects everything within their realm. 
     
    Now, a tentative peace reigns between the two realms, maintained by a treaty and by the Imperial Investigative Service—a force designed to monitor interactions between the realms and ensure that most kuldain inhabitants don’t even know aether space exists. 
     
    Leilani Falconi, a talented agent of the IIS, polices the galaxy with quick sarcasm and a quicker temper. When a series of suspicious deaths in kuldain space threatens the secrecy and peace, Lei must solve the mystery—fast—before both her realities change forever. 
     
    “Impressive and original world building . . . an entertaining read and a book which transported me to a fascinating and vivid universe.” —Facing the Story 
     
    “Aether Ones with its incredible protagonist and refreshing take on a science fiction slash fantasy genre is a very engaging, fast-paced read.” —Lili’s Blissful Pages
    Show book
  • Born of Love - cover

    Born of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Exceedingly lovely, grey eyed-beauty Lady Marcia Woode is the apple of her father’s eye as his only child.
     
    But unlike the other Society debutantesshe is reluctant to be pinned down by marriage – indeed she has refused proposals from countless suitable suitors, the latest being from the richest Duke in the whole of England.
     
    Infuriated, Marcia’s father decides to force her to marry the illustrious French Duc de Roux, whose father was an old and distinguished friend of his.
     
    Arriving in France, Marcia is swept off her feet by the Duc’s awe-inspiring château,the magnificent gorges of the Dordogneand, best of all, his stable of fine thoroughbred horses, if not at first by the Duc himself, who is extremely tall and handsome
     
    Impressive though he is, Marcia knows that he is not in love with her, nor is she with him. And she will not marry unless it is for love and love alone.
     
    And yet, almost in spite of herself, she realises that her heart has other ideas.
     
    When she finds out that the Duc’s decadent nephew, Sardos, is plotting his murder and then she discovers the Ducat his nephew’s gunpoint amid the stalactites and stalagmites of a prehistoric Dordogne cave,
     
    And with a courage born of love, she rushes to the rescue –
    Show book
  • Admiring Silence - By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021 - cover

    Admiring Silence - By the winner...

    Abdulrazak Gurnah

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    **By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021** 
     
    'There is a wonderful sardonic eloquence to this unnamed narrator's voice' Financial Times 
     
    'I don't think I've ever read a novel that is so convincingly and hauntingly sad about the loss of home' Independent on Sunday 
    _____________________ 
     
    He thinks, as he escapes from Zanzibar, that he will probably never return, and yet the dream of studying in England matters above that. 
     
    Things do not happen quite as he imagined – the school where he teaches is cramped and violent, he forgets how it feels to belong. But there is Emma, beautiful, rebellious Emma, who turns away from her white, middle-class roots to offer him love and bear him a child. And in return he spins stories of his home and keeps her a secret from his family.  
     
    Twenty years later, when the barriers at last come down in Zanzibar, he is able and compelled to go back. What he discovers there, in a story potent with truth, will change the entire vision of his life.
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book