Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Tangled Web - cover

A Tangled Web

Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Demure young beauty Carola Greton's brother, Sir Peter, comes home from London with a very strange proposition for his sister. He asks her to pretend for a few days to be the wife of his friend, the Marquis of Broxburne!
The reason for the charade is that the Marquis is in line for the post of Chairman of a new automobile Company founded by an American acquaintance, the multimillionaire Mr. Alton Westwood.
Although eager to secure the position of Chairman, the Marquis is desperate to avoid Mr. Westwood's attempts to marry him off to his daughter Mary-Lou – so he has told the American that he is already married.
And that is where Carola comes in – playacting the part of the Marchioness of Broxburne for the duration of the Westwoods' stay at Brox Hall.
Thus begins a tangled web that leads to Carola pretending to be her brother's cousin as well.
It is a web that ties her in knots of anguish when she falls head over heels in love, but it seems that her own lies will ensure that this Divine love can never be fulfilled –

Other books that might interest you

  • The Orphan Girl - A Beautiful World War One Saga of Found Family and Hidden Secrets - cover

    The Orphan Girl - A Beautiful...

    Chrissie Walsh

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    1901, West Yorkshire. When Eli Simmonite takes in a heavily pregnant woman fleeing from peril, he feels sure no good will come of it. After all, settled folk don't need much reason to take against the travellers, so having one seek safety amongst his people is unheard of.
     
    When danger comes knocking they leave devastation and a newborn child in their wake. Eli is left with the baby girl and his orphaned grandson; a reminder of the offer of aid that cost him his family.
     
    With no kin but the adopted family who hold her responsible for their demise, this girl named Rosie Nobody is filled with questions of her past. But with war looming in all of their futures, questions must be put aside: survival is the key.
     
    A compelling and beautifully written historical World War One saga of family secrets and triumph in the face of adversity. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and AnneMarie Brear.
    Show book
  • The Dream and The Glory - cover

    The Dream and The Glory

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Staying at the British Ambassador's exquisite Bay of Naples Villa, beautiful young Cordelia and her brother David, the Earl of Hunstanton, are far from the Berkshire estate that is their home.
    But since the death of their parents there has been nothing to stop David realising his dream – to go to Malta and become a Knight of St. John. Except, that is, the money to finance a ship to take him there.
    So when, out of the blue, a handsome, English buccaneer appears, who turns out to be none other than their cousin, Mark Stanton, he seems Heaven-sent. As Captain of a ship en route to Malta, he is in position to offer them passage to the island.
    To their chagrin, however, he attempts to dissuade David from his Pilgrimage and Cordelia from her notion of joining a Convent.
    But, when the siblings resist his appeals and press ahead, Mark vows to protect them both from the perils not only of David's Maltese Crusade but also of the Napoleonic War, Barbary pirates in the Mediterranean and the scheming snobbery of Neapolitan Society.
    Valiant Mark saves Cordelia from the lecherous clutches of the Duca di Belina and from the terrors or war against the French, but he cannot protect David from a noble death in battle protecting Malta, nor his own heart from falling hopelessly in love.
    Show book
  • A Man with a Past (Brothers in Arms Book #2) - cover

    A Man with a Past (Brothers in...

    Mary Connealy

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Falcon Hunt awakens without a past, or at least not one he can recall. He's got brothers he can't remember, and he's interested in the prettiest woman in the area, Cheyenne. Only trouble is, a few flashes of memory make Falcon wonder if he's already married. He can't imagine abandoning a wife. But his pa did just that--twice. When Falcon claims his inheritance in the West, Cheyenne is cut out of the ranch she was raised on, leaving her bitter and angry. And then Falcon kisses her, adding confusion and attraction to the mix. 
     
    Soon it's clear someone is gunning for the Hunt brothers. When one of his brothers is shot, Falcon and Cheyenne set out to find who attacked him. They encounter rustled cattle, traitorous cowhands, a missing woman, and outlaws that take all their savvy to overcome. As love grows between these two independent people, Falcon must piece together his past if they're to have any chance at a future. 
    Show book
  • A Light on the Hill (Cities of Refuge Book #1) - cover

    A Light on the Hill (Cities of...

    Connilyn Cossette

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Seven years ago, Moriyah was taken captive in Jericho and branded with the mark of the Canaanite gods. Now the Israelites are experiencing peace in their new land, but Moriyah has yet to find her own peace. Because of the shameful mark on her face, she hides behind her veil at all times and the disdain of the townspeople keeps her from socializing. And marriage prospects were out of the question . . . until now.Her father has found someone to marry her, and she hopes to use her love of cooking to impress the man and his motherless sons. But when things go horribly wrong, Moriyah is forced to flee. Seeking safety at one of the newly-established Levitical cities of refuge, she is wildly unprepared for the dangers she will face, and the enemies--and unexpected allies--she will encounter on her way.
    Show book
  • Sharon Sala Suspense Stories - Butterfly Bloodlines Mimosa Grove - cover

    Sharon Sala Suspense Stories -...

    Sharon Sala

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three romantic suspense novels from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of the Jigsaw Files novels.Butterfly A tough-as-nails detective is on the case of a murdered celebrity photographer—and hot for the star witness. But as things heat up and they grow closer to each other, the killer grows closer to them . . .Bloodlines When a child’s skeleton is found hidden in a wall, Olivia Sealy’s past resurfaces. Her former sweetheart is the detective assigned to the case, which reminds her of the kidnapping ordeal she underwent as a child. Plus, there is the matter of the kidnapper the police never apprehended . . .Mimosa Grove A Louisiana woman’s gift of second sight leads her to a missing girl, and the mystery man of her dreams . . .“[Sala] spins an intricate tale of treachery and terror.”—RT Book Reviews on Mimosa Grove
    Show book
  • The Perfect Fit - A laugh-out-loud and feel-good romantic comedy - cover

    The Perfect Fit - A...

    Mary Jayne Baker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Escape to the frost-sparkling Yorkshire Dales for some festive fun under the mistletoe! A saucy comedy-romance with more than a sprinkle of Christmas spice – this will lift your spirits!
     
    It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas for costume shop owner Becky Finn. Leaving London to move back home to the twinkly rural village of Egglethwaite, she plans to build a new life for herself with fiancé, Cole.
     
    Keen to raise funds for the struggling village hall she loved as a child, Becky finds herself at the head of a colourful group aiming to revive the Egglethwaite Christmas pantomime. But when that festive feeling sets in, she discovers there's more to panto than innuendo and slapped thighs.
     
    Falling in love was not in the script! But as opening night grows closer, she starts to wonder if the panto will ever make it to the stage and, with handsome co-star Marcus on the scene, if she has chosen her right leading man...
     
    The perfect stocking-filler gift!
     
    'A rollicking romantic read!' Phillipa Ashley
    Show book