Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Story of My Life volumes 4-6 - cover

The Story of My Life volumes 4-6

Augustus J. C. Hare

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Augustus J. C. Hare's 'The Story of My Life, volumes 4-6' is a captivating memoir that provides a deep insight into the author's personal experiences and perspectives. Hare's literary style is both eloquent and introspective, offering readers a detailed account of the societal norms and events of the time. The memoir is written in a straightforward and engaging manner, making it accessible to readers of all backgrounds. Through his compelling storytelling, Hare sheds light on the challenges and triumphs that shaped his life, making it a valuable historical and literary resource. This work is a testament to Hare's keen observation skills and his ability to reflect on both personal and external developments.Augustus J. C. Hare, a renowned British writer and travel author, draws on his extensive experiences to create a vivid and authentic narrative in 'The Story of My Life'. His profound understanding of human nature and his nuanced storytelling make this memoir a truly enlightening read. Hare's unique perspective and engaging writing style make this memoir a must-read for those interested in Victorian literature and personal narratives.I highly recommend 'The Story of My Life, volumes 4-6' to readers who enjoy insightful memoirs and historical narratives. Hare's rich storytelling and detailed accounts offer a valuable glimpse into the life of a prominent writer of the 19th century, making it a compelling and rewarding read.
Available since: 11/29/2019.
Print length: 9054 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Undying - Pain Vulnerability Mortality Medicine Art Dreams Data Exhaustion Cancer and Care - cover

    The Undying - Pain Vulnerability...

    Anne Boyer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Award-winning poet and essayist Anne Boyer delivers a one-of-a-kind meditation on illness in the age of data—sharing her true story of coping with cancer, both the illness and the industry, in The Undying.A week after her forty-first birthday, the acclaimed poet Anne Boyer was diagnosed with highly aggressive triple-negative breast cancer. For a single mother living paycheck to paycheck who had always been the caregiver rather than the one needing care, the catastrophic illness was both a crisis and an initiation into new ideas about mortality and the gendered politics of illness. A twenty-first-century Illness as Metaphor, as well as a harrowing memoir of survival, The Undying explores the experience of illness as mediated by digital screens, weaving in ancient Roman dream diarists, cancer hoaxers and fetishists, cancer vloggers, corporate lies, John Donne, pro-pain "dolorists," the ecological costs of chemotherapy, and the many little murders of capitalism. It excoriates the pharmaceutical industry and the bland hypocrisies of "pink ribbon culture" while also diving into the long literary line of women writing about their own illnesses and ongoing deaths: Audre Lorde, Kathy Acker, Susan Sontag, and others.A genre-bending memoir in the tradition of The Argonauts, The Undying will break your heart, make you angry enough to spit, and show you contemporary America as a thing both desperately ill and occasionally, perversely glorious.
    Show book
  • The Worst Girl Gang Ever - cover

    The Worst Girl Gang Ever

    Bex Gunn, Laura Buckingham

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    ‘Bex and Laura really have pieced together the parachute we all need to help us land safely after falling into the world of loss and fertility struggles.’ Elle Wright, author of A Bump In The Road  
    A practical and emotional self-help guide for anyone affected by miscarriage and pregnancy loss, from the co-hosts of the successful podcast, The Worst Girl Gang Ever. 
    Following pregnancy loss, it can feel like you’ve forgotten how to speak and need to learn a new language. You can tell your story to a room full of people but if no-one speaks this new language, they won’t understand. They will try but ultimately, they won’t fully grasp what you are saying. 
    This is us. This is our new language. It is a language built from pain, and it is a language we need to teach others. Welcome to our gang. 
    We are so, so sorry that you’ve found yourself here. It’s the gang you’d never chose to join but it is also a community chock-a-block full of kind, supportive, warrior women just like you. 
    We are here to tell you that you are entitled to grieve, and that your grief is not disproportionate to your loss. We are here to open up the dialogue around miscarriage, so we don’t perpetuate the shame, judgement and isolation so many of us feel following pregnancy loss. We are here to equip you with knowledge, tools and guidance to support and help you in whatever way you need. 
    Let’s get talking. Let’s get sharing. Let’s start empowering and supporting one another. 
    No more shame, no more taboo, no more silence. 
    In The Worst Girl Gang Ever, Bex Gunn delves into the heart-wrenching world of infertility and grief, offering a beacon of hope to those navigating the tumultuous waters of bereavement. This poignant autobiography is not just a tale of loss, but a testament to the resilience of the human spirit and the power of relationships. 
    For fans of Jennie Agg (Life, Almost), Sophie Martin (The Infertile Midwife), and Emma Cannon, (You and Your Bump). 
    HarperCollins 2022
    Show book
  • The Daring Life and Dangerous Times of Eve Adams - cover

    The Daring Life and Dangerous...

    Jonathan Ned Katz

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Eve Adams was a rebel. Born Chawa Zloczewer into a Jewish family in Poland, Adams emigrated to the United States in 1912. The young woman befriended anarchists, sold radical publications, took a new name, and ran lesbian-and-gay-friendly speakeasies in Chicago and New York. Then, in 1925, Adams risked all to write and publish a book titled Lesbian Love. In a repressive era, long before today's gay liberation movement, when American women had just gained the right to vote, Adams's bold activism caught the attention of the young J. Edgar Hoover and the US Bureau of Investigation, leading to her surveillance and arrest. In a case that pitted immigration officials, the New York City police, and a biased informer against her, Adams was convicted of publishing an obscene book and of attempted sex with a policewoman sent to entrap her. Adams was jailed and then deported back to Europe, and ultimately murdered by Nazis in Auschwitz.In The Daring Life and Deadly Times of Eve Adams, acclaimed historian Jonathan Ned Katz has recovered the extraordinary story of an early, daring activist. Drawing on startling evidence, carefully distinguishing fact from fiction, Katz presents the first biography of Adams, and the publisher reprints the long-lost text of Adams's rare, unique book Lesbian Love.
    Show book
  • Surviving the Death Railway - A POW's Memoir and Letters from Home - cover

    Surviving the Death Railway - A...

    Hilary Custance Green

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The ordeals of the POWs put to slave labour by their Japanese masters on the Burma Railway have been well documented yet never cease to shock. It is impossible not to be horrified and moved by their stoic courage in the face of inhuman brutality, appalling hardship and ever-present death.While Barry Custance Baker was enduring his 1000 days of captivity, his young wife Phyllis was attempting to correspond with him and the families of Barrys unit. Fortunately these moving letters have been preserved and appear, edited by their daughter Hilary, in this book along with Barrys graphic memoir written after the War. Surviving the Death Railways combination of first-hand account, correspondence and comment provide a unique insight into the long nightmare experienced by those in the Far East and at home. The result is a powerful and inspiring account of one of the most shameful chapters in the history of mankind which makes for compelling reading.
    Show book
  • Things I Don't Want to Know - On Writing - cover

    Things I Don't Want to Know - On...

    Deborah Levy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A shimmering jewel of a book about writing from two-time Booker Prize finalist Deborah LevyBlending personal history, gender politics, philosophy, and literary theory into a luminescent treatise on writing, love, and loss, Things I Don't Want to Know is Deborah Levy's witty response to George Orwell's influential essay "Why I Write." Orwell identified four reasons he was driven to hammer at his typewriter—political purpose, historical impulse, sheer egoism, and aesthetic enthusiasm—and Levy's work riffs on these same commitments from a female writer's perspective.As she struggles to balance womanhood, motherhood, and her writing career, Levy identifies some of the real-life experiences that have shaped her novels, including her family's emigration from South Africa in the era of apartheid; her teenage years in the UK; and her theater-writing days touring Poland in the midst of Eastern Europe's economic crisis, where she observed how a soldier tenderly kissed the women in his life goodbye.Spanning continents (Africa and Europe) and decades (we meet the writer at seven, fifteen, and fifty), Things I Don't Want to Know brings the listener into a writer's heart.
    Show book
  • People Like Me - cover

    People Like Me

    Lynn Ruane

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A force of nature from the day she was born, Lynn Ruane grew up in a loving home in Tallaght, West Dublin. But in her early teens things began to unravel, and she fell into a life of petty crime and chaotic drug use. By age fifteen – pregnant with her first child, no longer attending school and still reeling from a series of shocking incidents in her personal life – Lynn decided she had enough of running away from herself and set about rebuilding her life.Inspired by her daughter, she returned to education and, with the help of some brilliant mentors, slowly began to heal the hurt of her younger years. She began campaigning on behalf of the people society had left behind by developing addiction services, becoming an activist in Trinity, and then as a senator in the chamber of the Seanad. But as the debate around consent gained pace, the lines between personal and political were redrawn, and Lynn was called to reckon with her past in a new and frightening way …Intimate and brave, People Like Me is the exhilarating story of one woman's journey to the brink and back, emerging as a leading light for change in Ireland and an inspiration to women everywhere.
    Show book