Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Fair Haven and Foul Strand - cover

Fair Haven and Foul Strand

August Strindberg

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Fair Haven and Foul Strand is a collection of novellas by August Strindberg. Strindberg was a Swedish playwright, novelist, poet, essayist and painter. Excerpt: "When he had come here, now seventeen years ago, he at once began to be at variance with the pilots, who, as the only authorities on the island, indulged themselves in many acts of arbitrariness towards the inhabitants. The quarantine doctor loved peace and quietness like other men, but he had early learnt that warfare is necessary; and that it is no use simply to be passive as regards one's rights, but that one must defend them every day and every hour of the day."
Available since: 12/05/2019.
Print length: 122 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Settlers - cover

    The Settlers

    Vivian Stuart

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A RAW LAND DRENCHED IN BLOOD, PASSION, AND DREAMS...
    
    The third book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
    
    England sends convicts to Australia, but among them, there are hard-working men and women who wish to create a new life for themselves. The same desire is shared by those who are free — but it will be a gruelling fight for survival.
    And the strong, young, and stubborn Jenny Taggart does not give up ...
    
    Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
    Show book
  • The Newcomers - cover

    The Newcomers

    Vivian Stuart

    • 0
    • 4
    • 1
    The fourth book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
    
    The battle continues in the new British colony of Australia: the fight for power as well as survival. The corrupt military officers are doing everything they can to gain legal and political power, while the governor is finding it difficult to carry out his duties.
    And Jenny Taggart, now freed from her convict status, is fighting hard for her family, her redemption, and her new country.
    
    Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
    Show book
  • The Exiles - cover

    The Exiles

    Vivian Stuart

    • 1
    • 18
    • 1
    VOYAGE TO THE LAST FRONTIER...
    The first book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
    They were transported from 1780s' England, packed like cattle in cargo compartments: scammers and prostitutes, thieves and murderers — doomed to build His Majesty's new colony in Captain Cook's anchorage in Botany Bay.
    It was a cruel fate even for the toughest of individuals but especially for 15-year-old Jenny Taggart, who was sentenced to lifelong exile for a crime she did not commit. Will there be a future for her in this unknown country, or will she succumb to a rough and brutal life?
    
    Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
    Show book
  • Hunt for the Enemy - cover

    Hunt for the Enemy

    Rob Sinclair

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    They’ve erased his past and wiped out his very existence—but Carl Logan isn’t finished yet . . . “A spectacular finale to the trilogy.” —Crime Book Junkie
    
     Logan—once an invaluable asset, now branded a traitor—has been framed for murder. His own firm, the secretive Joint Intelligence Agency, has labeled him a rogue operative after two decades of loyal service. The agency is tracking him down . . . and they’re not the only ones. 
    
    But there’s much more at stake than just Logan’s life. One by one, agents and informants from all sides, all allegiances, are dying. And Carl Logan is the only man who can put a stop to it, once and for all. The hunt is on.
    
    Praise for Rob Sinclair and Hunt for the Enemy
     “An excellent action thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Reacher and Ben Hope . . . A great series.” — Off the Shelf Book Reviews 
    “Fast paced and gripping . . . highly tense.” —Sarah Hardy, By the Letter Book Reviews
    Show book
  • The Prisoners - cover

    The Prisoners

    Vivian Stuart

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    The second book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
    
    Life in the new colony of Australia is tough — tough for those who are free and even tougher for the prisoners. Many succumb to disease and starvation. Many try to escape, but only few succeed, and those who fail are brutally punished.
    Yet some, including Jenny Taggart, are determined to make this savage land their own. She is betrayed in friendship and in love, but she never parts with her vision: a future as a free woman.
    
    Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
    Show book
  • The Demons Beneath - cover

    The Demons Beneath

    WD Jackson-Smart

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “An intense, gripping read that had me snared from the start.” —Amazon reviewer, five starsIs this London detective hunting a serial killer—or a supernatural entity? “Genuinely creepy and panic inducing moments.” —Scream magazine When a bloody corpse is discovered in a North London park, Det. Insp. Daniel Graves is the man tasked with finding the killer. However, with no clues and no suspects, the case seems like a dead end. Then another body turns up—and this time, it looks like it could be Graves’s fault. Has his investigation caused the murderer to strike again? Is he dealing with a serial killer? As the case gets ever more complicated, a report comes in of another suspicious death—but this is nothing like any other Graves has dealt with. All involved are convinced that something supernatural is to blame: a demon. Graves is no believer, but could he be wrong? With two cases on his shoulders and the truth behind each beyond his grasp, Graves must race against time before both killers, human or otherwise, strike again.Praise for WD Jackson-Smart “[Jackson-Smart] lures readers in and holds them.” —Online Book Club “Had me going all the way to the very end.” —Barbara T. Cerny, author of The Tiefling
    Show book