Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Chekhov on Theatre - cover

Chekhov on Theatre

Anton Chekhov

Translator Stephen Mulrine

Publisher: Nick Hern Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A unique collection of everything that Chekhov wrote about the theatre.
Chekhov started writing about theatre in newspaper articles and in his own letters even before he began writing plays. Later, he wrote in detail about his own plays to his lifelong friend and mentor Alexei Suvorin, his wife and leading actress, Olga Knipper, and to the two directors of the Moscow Art Theatre, Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko.
Collected for this volume, these writings reveal Chekhov's instinctive curiosity about the way theatre works – and his concerns about how best to realise his own intentions as a playwright. Often peppery, passionate, even distraught, as he feels his plays misinterpreted or undermined, Chekhov comes over in these pages as a true man of the theatre.
'Chekhov is an acute observer who could easily have made his way as a director or dramaturg judging by his ability to spot strengths and weaknesses in not only his own writing but that of others. This book builds a strong picture of theatrical life in Moscow and St Petersburg just before and at the turn of the last century, with vast amounts of bitching seemingly a commonplace. It can also serve as a tangential autobiography since, through its pages, it is possible to learn much about its subject's life and work.' - British Theatre Guide
Available since: 04/13/2018.
Print length: 256 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Honeybee - for fans of MILK ANDHONEY by Rupi Kaur - cover

    Honeybee - for fans of MILK...

    Trista Mateer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Goodreads Choice Award winning poet Trista Mateer "expertly exposes the intensity of first love" in this confessional collection of poetry. 
    You will meet people in your lifetime who demand to have poems written about them. It's not something they say. It's something about their hands, the shape of their mouths, the way they look walking away from you. 
    Honeybee is an honest take on walking away and still feeling like you were walked away from. It's about cutting love loose like a kite string and praying the wind has the decency to carry it away from you. It's an ode to the back and forth, the process of letting something go but not knowing where to put it down. Honeybee is putting it down. It's small town girls and plane tickets, a taste of tenderness and honey, the bandage on the bee sting. It's a reminder that you are not defined by the people you walk away from or the people who walk away from you.  
    Consider Honeybee a memoir in verse, or at the very least, a story written by one of today's most confessional poets. 
    Perfect for fans of Caroline Kaufman, Atticus, Clementine von Radics, Nina LaCour, Adam Silvera, and Becky Albertalli; or anyone interested in bisexuality, heartbreak, running away from your problems, and coming out.
    Show book
  • Zygal - A Book of Mysteries and Translations - cover

    Zygal - A Book of Mysteries and...

    bp Nichol

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Originally twelve years in the making! Featuring a cast of thousands. It still stars the letter H, and introduces Probable Systems, Negatives, and the Actual Life of Language! Your heart will pound as you see H's turn into I's before your very own eyes. You'll thrill as words fall apart only to create other words. You'll gasp as bpNichol collaborates with the dead. You'll shake your head in disbelief as he walks the line between fact and fiction one step beyond into the twilight zone of 'pataphysics.
    Show book
  • Complete Writings Poems and Letters - cover

    Complete Writings Poems and Letters

    Phillis Wheatley

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "Phillis Wheatley: Complete Writings. Poems and Letters" is a comprehensive collection that celebrates the life and literary legacy of Phillis Wheatley, one of the most significant figures in African American literature. This anthology features a wide range of Wheatley's works, including her celebrated poems and insightful letters.
    As the first African American woman to publish a book of poetry in the United States, Wheatley's writings reflect her remarkable talent, intelligence, and resilience in the face of adversity. Her poetry encompasses various themes, including religion, freedom, race, and the human experience, showcasing her mastery of form, language, and imagery.
    In addition to her poetry, this collection includes Wheatley's personal letters, providing readers with intimate glimpses into her life, thoughts, and relationships. Through her correspondence, Wheatley reveals her experiences as a slave, her struggles for recognition and respect, and her unwavering commitment to her craft.
    "Phillis Wheatley: Complete Writings" is a testament to Wheatley's enduring legacy as a trailblazing poet and a pioneering voice in American literature, whose words continue to inspire and resonate with readers across generations.
    Table of Contents:
    POEMS ON VARIOUS SUBJECTS, RELIGIOUS AND MORAL
    EXTANT POEMS NOT PUBLISHED IN POEMS ON VARIOUS SUBJECTS
    LETTERS
    Show book
  • Restoration Comedy: Three Plays - Full Text and Introduction (NHB Drama Classics) - cover

    Restoration Comedy: Three Plays...

    William Congrieve, Aphra Behn,...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'One no more owes one's beauty to a lover, than one's wit to an echo.'
    With the Restoration of the monarchy in 1660, the republican ban on organised theatre was lifted – and plays exploded back onto the public stage with newfound relish. The arrival of actresses for the first time encouraged a great sense of release, which expressed itself in the form of sophisticated comedies exploring the sexual behaviour and moralities of society.
    This volume features three of the most popular Restoration Comedies:
    The Country Wife by William Wycherley - a supremely bawdy comedy in which the aptly named Horner pretends to be a eunuch in order to seduce women under the noses of their husbands.
    The Way of the World by William Congreve - a brilliant comedy of manners, complete with dashing suitor, rich heiress and vengeful aunt.
    The Rover by Aphra Behn - the classic Restoration comedy by one of the earliest and most celebrated female playwrights.
    There is also a full introduction about the plays, playwrights and the period, and a glossary of unfamiliar words.
    The Drama Classic Collections bring together the most popular plays from a single author or a particular period. They offer students, actors and theatregoers a series of uncluttered, accessible editions, accompanied by comprehensive introductions.
    Show book
  • The Theogony - cover

    The Theogony

    Hesiod

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Theogony "the genealogy or birth of the gods" is a poem by Hesiod (8th – 7th century BC) describing the origins and genealogies of the Greek gods, composed c. 730–700 BC. It is written in the Epic dialect of Ancient Greek and contains 1022 lines. 
    Hesiod's Theogony is a large-scale synthesis of a vast variety of local Greek traditions concerning the gods, organized as a narrative that tells how they came to be and how they established permanent control over the cosmos. It is the first known Greek mythical cosmogony. The initial state of the universe is chaos, a dark indefinite void considered a divine primordial condition from which everything else appeared. Theogonies are a part of Greek mythology which embodies the desire to articulate reality as a whole; this universalizing impulse was fundamental for the first later projects of speculative theorizing.
    Hesiod appropriates to himself the authority usually reserved to sacred kingship. The poet declares that it is he, where we might have expected some king instead, upon whom the Muses have bestowed the two gifts of a scepter and an authoritative voice (Hesiod, Theogony 30–3), which are the visible signs of kingship. It is not that this gesture is meant to make Hesiod a king. Rather, the point is that the authority of kingship now belongs to the poetic voice, the voice that is declaiming the Theogony.
    Show book
  • Homespun Mercies - cover

    Homespun Mercies

    D. J. Hill

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “My aunt once told me she dreamed her house/ Had a secret room, one which held everything/ She loved most,” poet DJ Hill writes. This debut collection throws open a door to the “secret room” all of us keep inside ourselves. Hill examines “what life requires” of us, along with the ways real lives work, in an arresting juxtaposition of visual art and poetry. The result is honest, joyful, and direct, but make no mistake: Hill also has an edge. Like the poem “Slip” where a woman plans her life exhaustively only to drive to work and realize she’s forgotten to put on her dress, these poems are revealing, humorous, and wise about the complexities and contradictions of human hearts.— Katrina Vandenberg, author of The Alphabet Not Unlike the World and Atlas
    Show book