Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Out of the Embers (Mesquite Springs Book #1) - cover

Out of the Embers (Mesquite Springs Book #1)

Amanda Cabot

Publisher: Revell

  • 1
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

Ten years after her parents were killed, Evelyn Radcliffe is once more homeless. The orphanage that was her refuge and later her workplace has burned to the ground, and only she and a young orphan girl have escaped. Convinced this must be related to her parents' murders, Evelyn flees with the girl to Mesquite Springs in the Texas Hill Country and finds refuge in the home of Wyatt Clark, a talented horse rancher whose plans don't include a family of his own. 
 
At first, Evelyn is a distraction. But when it becomes clear that trouble has followed her to Mesquite Springs, she becomes a full-blown disruption. Can Wyatt keep her safe from the man who wants her dead? And will his own plans become collateral damage? 
 
Suspenseful and sweetly romantic, Out of the Embers is the first in a new series that invites you to the Texas Hill Country in the 1850s, when the West was wild, the men were noble, and the women were strong.

Other books that might interest you

  • Temptation of a Proper Governess - cover

    Temptation of a Proper Governess

    Cathy Maxwell

    • 1
    • 30
    • 0
    Society dictates that a governessshould be modest, quiet, and keep to herself. 
    She should never contradict her employer. 
    And, above all, she must not attract the attention of any male in the household. 
    But Michael Severson doesn't see Isabel Halloran as a governess—he sees her as a woman, one whose lush curves cannot be hidden behind a dowdy gown ... and whose efforts at hiding her sparkling  intelligence are betrayed by her wit. 
    Years before, Michael had left Regency England, falsely accused of a crime. Now he is back, dedicated to seeking retribution—but not to taking a bride. But when his scandalous actions compromise Isabel's reputation, he does the unthinkable and offers  her his hand—a marriage in name only. 
    But although his bride's passions are untried, Isabel's sensuality clearly matches his own. And with each day, and night, that passes, Michael becomes determined that every kiss, every caress, will be made with one goal: to seduce his proper wife  into tender submission.
    Show book
  • One Wish - Rising Sun Saga book 1 - cover

    One Wish - Rising Sun Saga book 1

    Kayette la Mane

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    One Wish: Rising Sun Saga book 1
     
    One Week. One Wish. Someone's life could change forever...
     
    If Kira, a 21-year-old famous socialite in LA has everything she thought she always wanted, what could she wish for?
     
    As Kira starts to wonder if there’s more meaning to life than what we can see, she doesn’t expect supernatural beings to start appearing. Firstly in her dreams at night, but then as strange weather storms start to roll in, as well as angels and not-so friendly-looking dark shadows, she suddenly wants to find out what’s real.
     
    BJ, her handsome surfer friend who she’s falling in love with, seems to hold the key to this new mystery. But can this relationship be true love, or is there another reason why they’re destined to know each other?
     
    Intrigue — supernatural wonder — a surprising twist that will leave you gripped for more...
     
    Rising Sun Saga — be absorbed and get lost in the romantic and supernatural world of this compelling series
    Show book
  • Special Delivery - cover

    Special Delivery

    Reagan Shaw

    • 6
    • 42
    • 0
    “Did you have to sleep with my sister?” 
     
    That’s not the question I wanted to hear from my best bud.On his wedding day no less.As kids, I tried to make her hate me.It was my way of not picking the forbidden fruit.Now, my buddy is forcing me to dance with her to the first song.I step on her dress and all I hear is RIPPPPP.Once that curvy body was unleashed, there was no stopping my desire.We aren’t kids anymore. No games. No limits. This time, I’m taking what’s mine.I just didn’t expect to have to tell my best friend what came next. “Dude, your sister is pregnant, and I’m the one delivering the baby.”
    Show book
  • The Duke Is Mine - cover

    The Duke Is Mine

    Eloisa James

    • 6
    • 28
    • 0
    “Eloisa James is extraordinary.” —Lisa Kleypas 
    In the capable hands of USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Eloisa James, the fairy tales we loved as children take on vibrant—and sensuous—new life. With The Duke is Mine, the beloved author of A Kiss at Midnight and When Beauty Tamed the Beast gives the classic tale of the Princess and the Pea a delightfully romantic Regency spin. Fans of Victoria Alexander and Julia Quinn will simply adore this historical romance gem about a lady reluctantly betrothed to one duke but pursued by another; a tantalizing tale of love, lies, and one very uncomfortable mattress.
    Show book
  • Star of Persia - Esther's Story - cover

    Star of Persia - Esther's Story

    Jill Eileen Smith

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    In an effort to complete a war his father had planned to win, King Xerxes calls every governor, satrap, and official in his vast kingdom to his palace in Susa to strategize and feast. When they finally leave, he decides on one more week of frivolity, which ends in the banishment of his favorite wife, something he never intended to do. But when he discovers Esther, Xerxes is sure he has a second chance at happiness. 
     
    In her wildest dreams, Esther could never have imagined that she would end up as queen of Persia. Yet she knows better than to become complacent. Another of Xerxes's wives is vying for position, and his closest advisor has a deep and dangerous grudge against Esther's adoptive father. Caught in the middle of palace politics, Esther will find herself in an impossible position: risk her life or consign her people to annihilation. 
     
    With her impeccable research and her imaginative flair, Jill Eileen Smith brings to life the romantic, suspenseful, and beloved story of Esther, queen of Persia.
    Show book
  • Undeniable Love - cover

    Undeniable Love

    Emeline Piaget

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Wyatt Greenlaw is your typical good looking "All-American" type who meets someone that could possibly be the woman of his dreams, and he can't remember her. Stephane Trudeau was simply minding her own business when he stumbled into her world and changed it forever.How can Wyatt find happiness with the dream woman he can't remember and will she even want him when he does?
    Show book