Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit - cover

Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit

Aimée Carter

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 0
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

"Simon Thorn is a hero worthy of a young Harry Potter, and readers are bound to be delighted." --Booklist on Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den 
 
For fans of Rick Riordan and Spirit Animals, this thrilling follow-up to Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den continues the adventures of a boy who can shapeshift into an animal. 
 
Simon Thorn only recently discovered that he's an Animalgam--one of a secret race who can shift into animals. Now, for the first time in his life Simon has real friends to train and study with at the secret Animalgam Academy. The only missing part is his mother, held captive by his evil grandfather, Orion, who's bent on taking over the animal world.  
 
To rescue his mom, Simon must head cross-country with his friends, battling rogue Animalgams and their own doubts and torn loyalties along the way. But if Simon's going to succeed, he will need to keep Orion from gathering together the fragments of a terrible weapon, or the lives of everyone Simon loves will be at risk. 
 
With plenty of action and adventure and characters full of heart, this story is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and the Spirit Animals series. 
 
Don't miss the other books in the Simon Thorn series: 
Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den 
Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit 
Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave

Other books that might interest you

  • I Am Not a Number - cover

    I Am Not a Number

    Lisa Heathfield

    • 5
    • 9
    • 0
    The powerful and heart-wrenching new novel from Lisa Heathfield, award-winning author of Seed and Paper Butterflies. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Louise O'Neill and Lisa Williamson. 
     
    Ever since the Traditional party came into power, 15-year-old Ruby’s life has changed for the worse. Everything Ruby and her family and friends celebrate – equal rights for women, freedom of movement, individual expression – are forbidden. And things are getting worse . . . 
     
    Soon Ruby and her family find themselves taken to a prison camp far from home with no possessions, food or rights. Each person is allocated a number – Ruby is number 276. Forced into hard labour, starving and with friends and family going missing every day, Ruby knows she has to escape and let the world know what is happening. She has to somehow cling on to her identity, and fight back. The future depends on it.
     
    Lisa Heathfield's other books: 
     
    Seed 9781405275385Paper Butterflies 9781405275392Flight of Starling 9781405285902
    Show book
  • The Good Girls - cover

    The Good Girls

    Sara Shepard

    • 6
    • 53
    • 0
    Don’t miss the Freeform TV series, Pretty Little Liars: The Perfectionists!  
    From Sara Shepard, author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Pretty Little Liars, comes the shocking finish to The Perfectionists, a series perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and We Were Liars—with an ending you’ll have to read to believe! 
    Mackenzie, Ava, Caitlin, Julie, and Parker have done some not-so-perfect things. But even though they all talked about killing rich bully Nolan Hotchkiss, they didn’t actually go through with it. It’s just a coincidence that Nolan died in exactly the way they planned . . . right? 
    Except Nolan wasn’t the only one they fantasized about killing. When someone else they named dies, the girls wonder if they’re being framed. Or are they about to become the killer’s next targets? 
     
    Show book
  • The White Rose - cover

    The White Rose

    Amy Ewing

    • 2
    • 88
    • 0
    The Selection meets The Handmaid’s Tale in the epic sequel to the New York Times bestselling author Amy Ewing’s The Jewel. 
    Violet is on the run. She’s escaped the Duchess of the Lake, who bought her at auction, and the lifetime of servitude she was once resigned to. 
    But no matter how far Violet runs, she can’t avoid the rebellion brewing just beneath the Jewel’s glittering surface or the fact that she wants in on it. With Ash and a new ally by her side, Violet discovers her Auguries are more powerful than she could have ever imagined. 
    But is she strong enough to rise against the Jewel and everything she has ever known? And is she willing to risk the lives of everyone she cares about to find out?
    Show book
  • Seedfolks - cover

    Seedfolks

    Paul Fleischman

    • 5
    • 205
    • 0
    ALA Best Book for Young Adults ∙ School Library Journal Best Book ∙ Publishers Weekly Best Book ∙ IRA/CBC Children's Choice ∙ NCTE Notable Children's Book in the Language Arts 
    A Vietnamese girl plants six lima beans in a Cleveland vacant lot. Looking down on the immigrant-filled neighborhood, a Romanian woman watches suspiciously. A school janitor gets involved, then a Guatemalan family. Then muscle-bound Curtis, trying to win back Lateesha. Pregnant Maricela. Amir from India. A sense of community sprouts and spreads.   
    Newbery-winning author Paul Fleischman uses thirteen speakers to bring to life a community garden's founding and first year. The book's short length, diverse cast, and suitability for adults as well as children have led it to be used in countless one-book reads in schools and in cities across the country. 
    Seedfolks has been drawn upon to teach tolerance, read in ESL classes, promoted by urban gardeners, and performed in schools and on stages from South Africa to Broadway. 
    The book's many tributaries—from the author's immigrant grandfather to his adoption of two brothers from Mexico—are detailed in his forthcoming memoir, No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One. 
    "The size of this slim volume belies the profound message of hope it contains."  —Christian Science Monitor 
    And don’t miss Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices, the Newbery Medal-winning poetry collection!
    Show book
  • The Jewel - cover

    The Jewel

    Amy Ewing

    • 5
    • 49
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Amy Ewing delivers a dark and riveting tale that "will have fans of Oliver’s Delirium, Cass’s The Selection, and DeStefano’s Wither breathless.”* 
    The Jewel has many meanings: wealth, beauty, royalty. But for Violet, the Jewel has always meant servitude. 
    Born and raised in the Marsh, Violet is destined for the Jewel. She is trained as a surrogate for the elite and is bought by the Duchess of the Lake at auction. And she quickly learns that beneath the Jewel’s glittering façade lies the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life. 
    Violet must accept the ugly realities of her life...all while fighting for her survival. But before she can accept her fate, Violet meets a handsome boy who is also under the Duchess’s control. A forbidden love sparks. 
    But their illicit affair has consequences, which will cost them both more than they bargained for. And toeing the line between being calculating and rebellious, Violet must decide what, and who, she is willing to risk for her own freedom. 
    *BCCB
    Show book
  • Pretty Girl-13 - cover

    Pretty Girl-13

    Liz Coley

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    A disturbing and powerful psychological thriller about a girl who must piece together the mystery of her kidnapping and abuse, Pretty Girl-13 is a haunting yet ultimately uplifting story about the healing power of courage, hope, and love. 
    Angie Chapman was thirteen years old when she ventured into the woods on a Girl Scout camping trip. Now she's returned home...only to find that it's three years later and she's sixteen—or at least that's what everyone tells her. What happened to the last three years of her life? 
    With a tremendous amount of courage, Angie embarks on a journey to discover the fragments of her lost time. She eventually discovers a terrifying secret and must decide: What do you do when you remember things you wish you could forget? 
    Perfect for fans of books like Elizabeth Scott's Living Dead Girl and Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces.
    Show book