Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The After School Crime Club - cover

The After School Crime Club

Hayley Webster

Publisher: Nosy Crow

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Willow has always felt like an outsider at school, but she and her Nanna were so alike that she never felt alone. Now Nanna is gone and Willow is adrift. So when a group of girls offer her friendship in exchange for "fun" stealing dares, Willow can't say no. But as the dares escalate, she has to ask herself: How far will she go to fit in?
This wise, warm and uplifting story from the acclaimed author of Luna Rae is Not Alone explores what it feels like to lose yourself and the joy of discovering you're perfect just as you are.
Available since: 08/03/2023.
Print length: 208 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The New Kid - cover

    The New Kid

    Grace Gilmore

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Logan tracks down a stolen book with the help of his new friend in the sixth book in the Tales from Maple Ridge series.There’s a new kid in Logan’s one-room schoolhouse! He’s quiet, has thick glasses, and the other students are sure he’s trouble. When a new book goes missing from the classroom’s bookshelf, accusations fly. Logan decides he must track down the book—with the help of his new friend—to show his classmates that there’s always room for another student in their small school.With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Tales from Maple Ridge chapter books are perfect for beginning readers.
    Show book
  • Scrap - cover

    Scrap

    Guy Bass

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The year was Something Something. Humans had spread like peanut butter across the galaxy, looking for new planets to call Somewhere.
    One of those planets was Somewhere Five One Three.
    
    When the humans arrive on Somewhere 513, they discover that the robots sent to prepare the planet for Humanity's arrival have chosen to keep it for themselves. Only one robot remains loyal – K1-NG, aka King of the Robots. But even with the most powerful robot on their side, the outlawed humans don't stand a chance.
    
    Ten years on, Gnat and her sister Paige are the only humans left and have spent their lives hidden underground. Now they must venture out in search of the one robot that stood by the humans. There's just one problem – the once mighty K1-NG has vowed never to help another human for as long as he lives…
    
    The first in a hugely original and entertaining new trilogy for middle grade readers from the award-winning author of STITCH HEAD. For fans of Maz Evans and Thomas Taylor.
    Show book
  • Bridge to America - Based on a True Story - cover

    Bridge to America - Based on a...

    Linda Glaser

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The year is 1920 and the setting is a shtetl, a small village in northern Poland, where Fivel and his family live in fear of the ruthless Cossacks and unpredictable pogroms. As he and his mother, brother, and sisters struggle to stay alive, nine-year-old Fivel is hungry, is cold, is a rascal, is goodhearted, longs for his father, and is afraid for their lives. Will the money from America ever come? Has their father forgotten about them, perhaps even found another family? When will the next horrific Cossack raid come? Here is an absorbing, ultimately hopeful novel that creates an unforgettable portrait of a family, a time, and the bridging of two worlds.
    Show book
  • Night of the Werecat - cover

    Night of the Werecat

    R.L. Stine

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    She was warned... Wendy is excited when she spots the cat charm in Mrs. Bast's booth. It will be the perfect addition to her cat collection. But Mrs. Bast refuses to sell it to her. She warns Wendy that it isn't a cat charm -- it is a werecat charm. And it is dangerous. Wendy doesn't care. She has to have it. She grabs the charm, throws down some money, and runs. And that night -- at the stroke of midnight -- Wendy starts to change...
    Show book
  • Take a Bow - cover

    Take a Bow

    Elizabeth Eulberg

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Take Glee, toss it in Lincoln Center, shake out the bizarre stereotypes and you get Take a Bow . . . one page turner that has us yearning for an encore.” —MTV’s Hollywood Crush 
     
    From the award-winning author of Prom & Prejudice and Past Perfect Life comes a story of all the drama and comedy of four friends who grow into themselves at a performing arts high school. 
     
    Emme, Sophie, Ethan, and Carter are getting ready for their Senior Showcase recital, where the pressure is on to appeal to colleges, dance academies, and professionals in show business. For Sophie, a singer, it’s been great to be friends with Emme, who composes songs for her, and to date Carter, soap opera heartthrob who gets plenty of press coverage. Emme and Ethan have been in a band together through all four years of school, but wonder if they could be more than just friends and bandmates. Carter has been acting since he was a baby, and isn’t sure how to admit that he’d rather paint than perform. The Senior Showcase is going to make or break each of the four, in a funny, touching, spectacular finale that only Elizabeth Eulberg could perform. 
     
    “This fresh, fun, fabulous read will have you cheering for new beginnings. Five shiny gold stars!” —Susane Colasanti, bestselling author of the City Love series 
     
    “The cutthroat competitiveness is balanced by quiet, thoughtful moments of soul-searching regarding stardom, the creative process, and doing and sharing what they love. Readers who love seeing underdogs come out ahead will be delighted with the conclusion.” —Publishers Weekly 
     
    “Realistic dialogue and a healthy dose of teen angst keep the pages turning.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • Susan B Anthony - cover

    Susan B Anthony

    Teri Kanefield

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This biography for young readers examines the life of an American who advocated for women’s rights and the abolishment of slavery. 
     
    Susan B. Anthony was born into a world in which men ruled women. A man could beat his wife, take her earrings, have her committed to an asylum based on his word alone, and take her children away from her. While the young nation was ablaze with the radical notion that people could govern themselves, “people” were understood to be white and male. Women were expected to stay out of public life and debates. 
     
    As Anthony saw the situation, “Women’s subsistence is in the hands of men, and most arbitrarily and unjustly does he exercise his consequent power.” She imagined a different world—one where women and people of color were treated with the same respect that white men were given. 
     
    Susan B. Anthony explores her life, from childhood to her public career as a radical abolitionist to her rise to become an international leader in the women’s suffrage movement. 
     
    The book includes selections of Anthony’s writing, endnotes, a bibliography, and an index.  
     
    “Susan B. Anthony, who fought tirelessly for women to have the right to vote, is profiled in this very readable entry in the Making of America series.” —Booklist
    Show book