Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Circle of Heroes - cover

Circle of Heroes

Adam Jay Epstein, Andrew Jacobson

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Three animal familiars continue their quest to defeat an evil hare in this enchanting entry in the fantasy adventure series. Aldwyn, a street-smart alley cat, pretended he had telekinetic powers so young wizard Jack would chose him as a familiar. Aldwyn then learned that he and two other familiars—Skylar the blue jay and Gilbert the tree frog—were destined to undertake a perilous quest to defeat Paksahara, an evil hare who’d been familiar to the queen. In Circle of Heroes, the third book of The Familiars series for middle-grade readers, Paksahara and her undead animal army control the Shifting Fortress. Aldwyn and his friends must recapture it to return magic to the queendom of Vastia. Fans of The Guardians of Ga’hoole series and Erin Hunter’s Warriors books will love the mix of humor, magic, and animal adventure story in Circle of Heroes by Adam Jay Epstein and Andrew Jacobson.Praise for The FamiliarsSchool Library Journal Best BookIndie Next List Pick!“A winning combination of action and humor.” —School Library Journal (starred review)“A grand adventure with entertaining characters and magic-induced fun, written in an appropriately cinematic style.” —Publishers Weekly“The Familiars combines the magic of Harry Potter and the adventure of Warriors into an enchanting story readers will love.” —Michael Buckley, author of The Sisters Grimm and NERDS series
Available since: 09/04/2012.
Print length: 341 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • My red pencil - cover

    My red pencil

    Carol-Anne Fisher, Pilar Ramos

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Carly is drawing a picture of her doll Suzy in her red and white striped dress when she discovers that her red pencil is not in her pencil box. When she finds it, she realizes the importance of taking good care of personal belongings by keeping them clean and tidy in a safe place for when she wants to use them again.
    Show book
  • Our Sister Again - cover

    Our Sister Again

    Sophie Cameron

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On a small island off the Scottish coast, Isla and her family are grieving the loss of her older sister Flora, who died three years ago. Then they're offered the chance to be part of a top-secret trial, which revives loved ones as fully lifelike AI robots using their digital footprint.
    Isla has her doubts about Second Chances, but they evaporate the moment the 'new' Flora arrives. This girl is not some uncanny close likeness; she is Flora – a perfect replica. But not everyone on their island feels the same. And as the threats to Flora mount, she grows distant and more secretive. Will Isla be able to protect the new Flora and bring the community back together?
    An intriguing, thoughtful and poignant exploration of what makes us 'us', for fans of SHOW US WHO YOU ARE, A POCKETFUL OF STARS and TROOFRIEND.
    Show book
  • Toothiana Queen of the Tooth Fairy Armies - cover

    Toothiana Queen of the Tooth...

    William Joyce

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Beware a tooth fairy queen scorned in this, the third chapter book of Academy Award winner William Joyce’s The Guardians series. There’s a lot more to this tooth-swiping sprite than meets the eye!When last we heard, the Guardians were resting easy with the knowledge that the children of Santoff Clausen were finally safe from Pitch’s dastardly plans.But is it all a ruse, a scheme, a lull the evil Nightmare King has deviously concocted?Whatever Pitch’s plans, what he doesn’t know is that there’s a new Guardian in town, and she’s not the type to forget old grudges. Actually, she’s not the type to forget anything—because this Guardian is none other than Toothiana, the Tooth Fairy herself. She’s fierce and fast and crossing her will lead to a multitude of troubles. And, it turns out that, well, all those teeth she has been collecting? They contain memories. The forgotten memories of childhood…including the memories of how to fly. Young Katherine is hopeful that these memories might help her to remember her parents. The Guardians hope they’ll offer even further protection from Pitch.You can see how this information would be invaluable to our heroes. But it could also be invaluable to Pitch…
    Show book
  • Moon Juice - Poems for Children - cover

    Moon Juice - Poems for Children

    Kate Wakeling

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Meet Skig, who's meant to be a warrior (but is really more of a worrier). Meet a giddy comet, skidding across the sky with her tail on fire. Put a marvellous new machine in your pocket and maybe you'll be able to fix all your life's problems.
    Kate Wakeling's first book of poems for children is full of curious characters and strange situations. The poems she writes are always musical, sometimes magical, and full of wonder at the weirdness of the world.
    Moon Juice contains 25 poems and features bonus materials, including interviews with the author and the illustrator, and ideas for writing your own poems.
    Show book
  • 'Twas The Night Before Christmas - cover

    'Twas The Night Before Christmas

    Clement C. Moore

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    First published in 1823,'Twas The Night Before Christmas, written by Clement Clarke Moore has delighted children and families for generations. This nostalgic, rhyming poem eloquently describes Santa Claus and how he delivers presents to sleeping children while their father awakes to hear clattering on the lawn. The artful way Mr. Moore describes Santa…His eyes—how they twinkled! His dimples—how merry! His cheeks were like roses, his nose like a cherry!... makes this story come alive to young and old alike.  Coupled with inspiring background music and sound effects, this story is sure to be a family favorite enjoyed each and every Christmas.
    Show book
  • Jenny Giraffe Discovers the French Quarter - cover

    Jenny Giraffe Discovers the...

    Cecilia Dartez

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Run, Jenny, quickly! Don’t let them take you to the zoo! Find a new home, my dear!” urged Jenny Giraffe’s mother after the door to their truck popped open during a minor accident on the streets of the French Quarter in New Orleans. Afraid of life in the zoo, the little giraffe did as her mother said, running down the narrow streets and slipping through an open gate into a beautiful courtyard.  Lonely and scared, Jenny is befriended by Claude and Angelle, a couple of French heritage who agree to help Jenny keep from being discovered and returned to the zoo. They tell Jenny that by mixing in with the unusual street performers and costumed entertainers, Jenny can wander through the busy streets unnoticed, and follow her true calling-painting!
    Show book