Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The High Country Illuminator: A Tale of Light and Darkness and the Ski Bums of Avalon - cover

The High Country Illuminator: A Tale of Light and Darkness and the Ski Bums of Avalon

Daniel Ford

Publisher: Warbird Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"The High Country Illuminator created Avalon by climbing to the fourth tower of old Number One lift and crying: 'Lest there be light!'" Thus begins the madcap adventure of a ski-bum winter toward the end of the 1960s. HCI is otherwise known as George Togalok, a Native American from the Salt River Canyon country. Around him assemble cunning Silver Fox, brainy Duke University, the Outt-keepers, Max and Max's Buddy, some fluffy birds, and other young slackers who want nothing more from life than the chance to ski the fluffy white powder of the Colorado Rockies. "The writing is adept," marveled Skier magazine, 'the plot bewildering, the pace dizzy, and the skiing scenes (as the children say) are out of sight."

Who read this book also read:

  • All Broke Down - A Rusk University Novel - cover

    All Broke Down - A Rusk...

    Cora Carmack

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    In this second book in New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Cora Carmack’s New Adult, Texas-set Rusk University series, which began with All Lined Up, a young woman discovers that you can’t only fight for what you believe in . . . sometimes you have to fight for what you love 
    Dylan fights for lost causes. Probably because she used to be one. 
    Environmental issues, civil rights, education—you name it, she’s probably been involved in a protest. When her latest cause lands her in jail for a few hours, she meets Silas Moore. He’s in for a different kind of fighting. And though he’s arrogant and not at all her type, she can’t help being fascinated with him. Yet another lost cause. 
    Football and trouble are the only things that have ever come naturally to Silas. And it’s trouble that lands him in a cell next to do-gooder Dylan. He’s met girls like her before—fixers, he calls them, desperate to heal the damage and make him into their ideal boyfriend. But he doesn’t think he’s broken, and he definitely doesn’t need a girlfriend trying to change him. Until, that is, his anger issues and rash decisions threaten the only thing he really cares about, his spot on the Rusk University football team. Dylan might just be the perfect girl to help. 
    Because Silas Moore needs some fixing after all.
    Show book
  • Danger in the Desert - cover

    Danger in the Desert

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The Earl of Hillingwood calls his great friend, Lord Waverstone, to an urgent meeting with him at White’s Club in St. James’s for a serious discussion.  
    	The Earl is determined that his only son, Royden, is married to his friend’s daughter, Malva, as he feels that it is time Royden produced an heir to Hillingwood Towers and all its fabulous treasures and carry on as well his ancient and illustrious lineage.
    	The beautiful fair-haired Malva and Royden do not wish to marry and anyway they are definitely not in love with each other. They are both seeking an ideal love that will sweep them off their feet and they will be gloriously happy for ever.
    	To circumvent their fathers’ ambitions for them they devise an ingenious plan to pretend to their fathers that they are indeed married, but they want it kept secret until they return from their honeymoon because Queen Victoria would not approve of anyone marrying while they are still in mourning as Malva is for her mother.
    	When they do return from their honeymoon, they will then say that they have found that they are totally unsuited to each other and will divorce immediately.
    	Because both fathers would be horrified at the Social shame and scandal of the mere idea of a divorce, they will be delighted and relieved to be informed that no wedding has actually taken place. And then they will take the pressure off them and leave them alone.
    	Malva and Royden set off for their pretend honeymoon in his new yacht for West Africa telling the Captain that they are brother and sister.
    	It is when they anchor in a quiet bay off the African coast and decide to visit the Palace of the local Vizier that their adventure really begins.
    	How Malva, because of her beautiful golden hair is kidnapped by the Sultan for his harem and how she is daringly rescued by Royden.
    	And how love comes to them both in a most unexpected way is all told in this exciting tale by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book
  • Married in Haste - cover

    Married in Haste

    Cathy Maxwell

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Cathy Maxwell’s classic romance Married in Haste is a fan-favorite marriage-of-convenience tale that resonates with unforgettable passion and love. Brenn Owens, The Earl of Merton, has come to London to choose a bride. A sexy war hero, he has his pick of the season’s debutantes, and once he spies beautiful Tess Hamilton no other will do. But Tess has a dark secret she’s desperate to hide—she has no choice but to marry quickly before her family’s ruin becomes grist for the gossip mill. She accepts Brenn’s sudden proposal without telling him the truth, but can she really marry him without feeling she’s betrayed him—especially when he offers ecstasy beyond her wildest dreams? And will he see her subterfuge as a lie? Cathy Maxwell’s Married in Haste is a historical romance to fall in love with.
    Show book
  • Claimed by the Bad Boy - cover

    Claimed by the Bad Boy

    Kyra Stone

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    I know better than to get myself involved with a cocky playboy who cares only about himself. 
    That’s why I’m steering clear of Marcus Knight, rich womanizer, cocky prick, and (begrudgingly) gorgeous as all hell. 
    He’s a bad boy, and there’s no heart of gold hiding under that skin. I’m sure of it. Completely. 
    And even though he’s turned his attention on me, I’m not going to submit. 
    I’m going to resist this sexy bad boy because I knows what is best for me. 
    And a smart girl always does what’s best for her. 
    * 
    Madison… off-limits, the woman I can’t have. 
    The woman I want. 
    And I always, *always* get what I want. 
    She’s back in town for the first time in a long time, and I’m not going to miss this opportunity. 
    I’m going to make her mine, yet another conquest, yet another girl who thought she could say ‘no’ once I turned it on. 
    And then that will be that. 
    I don’t do commitments. 
    Once I’m done I’m done. 
    So why can’t I stop thinking about her?
    Show book
  • Get Me - The Keatyn Chronicles Series #7 - cover

    Get Me - The Keatyn Chronicles...

    Jillian Dodd

    • 1
    • 37
    • 0
    From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the seventh book in the addictive Keatyn Chronicles series. Discover a breathless fairy-tale romance with swoon-worthy characters, suspense, and a glittering celebrity world. Fans of Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars, and reality TV will devour this pulse-pounding, sexy teen drama set against the backdrop of Hollywood and an East Coast boarding school.    
    Keatyn’s crazy life comes together in one perfect script. 
    Will Keatyn get her life back?  
    And if she does, which life (and boy) will she choose?
    Show book
  • Because of Miss Bridgerton - cover

    Because of Miss Bridgerton

    Julia Quinn

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Sometimes you find love in the most unexpected of places... 
    This is not one of those times. 
    Everyone expects Billie Bridgerton to marry one of the Rokesby brothers. The two families have been neighbors for centuries, and as a child the tomboyish Billie ran wild with Edward and Andrew. Either one would make a perfect husband... someday. 
    Sometimes you fall in love with exactly the person you think you should... 
    Or not. 
    There is only one Rokesby Billie absolutely cannot tolerate, and that is George. He may be the eldest and heir to the earldom, but he's arrogant, annoying, and she's absolutely certain he detests her. Which is perfectly convenient, as she can't stand the sight of him, either. 
    But sometimes fate has a wicked sense of humor... 
    Because when Billie and George are quite literally thrown together, a whole new sort of sparks begins to fly. And when these lifelong adversaries finally kiss, they just might discover that the one person they can't abide is the one person they can't live without...
    Show book