Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
In Her Defence - Bunch Courtney Investigates - cover

In Her Defence - Bunch Courtney Investigates

Janet Edwards

Publisher: Penkhull Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Bunch Courtney's hopes for a quiet market-day lunch with her sister are shattered when a Dutch refugee dies a horribly painful death before their eyes. A few days later Bunch receives a letter from her old friend Cecile saying that her father, Professor Benoir, has been murdered in an eerily similar fashion. Two deaths by poisoning in a single week. Co-incidence? Bunch does not believe that any more than Chief Inspector William Wright. 
 
Set against a backdrop of escalating war and the massed internments of 1940, the pair are drawn together in a race to prevent the murderer from striking again.

Other books that might interest you

  • Worst Fears Realized - cover

    Worst Fears Realized

    Stuart Woods

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Not a man to dwell on the past, Stone Barrington has no choice but to rattle old skeletons when the people closest to him start dying, and he has little to go on but the suspicion that the killer might be someone he once knew. The trip down memory lane isn't all bad though, for it reunites Stone with his ex-partner, Dino Bacchetti, now head of detectives in the nineteenth precinct. 
    Trying to find a brilliant killer in a sea of old faces is difficult enough without Stone's former love, Arrington, now Mrs. Vance Calder, resurfacing too—especially when she sets off her own fireworks coming nose to nose with his latest flame, a Mafia princess as beautiful as she is dangerous. 
    Caught on a thrill ride of a case that tests him as none has ever done before, Stone races to find a twisted madman with a taste for blood vengeance, with only a prayer to find him before Stone's worst fears are realized.
    Show book
  • Widow's Welcome - cover

    Widow's Welcome

    D.K. Fields

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    There's power in stories. This is a story of power. 
     
    Dead bodies aren't unusual in the alleyways of Fenest, capital of the Union of Realms. Especially not in an election year, when the streets swell with crowds from near and far. Muggings, brawls gone bad, debts collected – Detective Cora Gorderheim has seen it all. Until she finds a Wayward man with his mouth sewn shut. 
     
    His body has been arranged precisely by the killer and left conspicuously, waiting to be found. Cora fears this is not only a murder, but a message. 
     
    As she digs into the dead man's past, she finds herself drawn into the most dangerous event in the Union: the election. In a world where stories win votes, someone has gone to a lot of trouble to silence this man. Who has stopped his story being told? 
     
    _______________________________________________________
     
    'An utterly absorbing tale set in a fascinating world' MICK FINLAY. 
     
    'If you love storytelling, you'll love this' S.J. MORDEN. 
     
    'It's rare to find such a richly imagined world about the art of myth and storytelling' CHRISTOPHER FOWLER. 
     
    'Irresistibly thrilling, weaving together gaslit crime, fantasy and mystery ... I can't wait for more' TIM MAJOR. 
     
    'There is more than meets the eye in this gripping and inventive debut ... Rife with intrigue, deceit and cultural tension' JAMES AITCHESON.
    Show book
  • The Cotswold Mysteries Collection - A Cotswold Killing A Cotswold Ordeal Death in the Cotswolds A Cotswold Mystery - cover

    The Cotswold Mysteries...

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Cotswolds are filled with idyllic and quintessentially English villages: the perfect, peaceful location for recently widowed Thea Osbourne to housesit, if perhaps a little dull. Until a body turns up. At the centre of the tragedy, Thea discovers that the cosy facades hide than their share of secrets… 
    Includes the first four instalments in the Cotswold Mysteries series: A Cotswold Killing, A Cotswold Ordeal, Death in the Cotswolds and A Cotswold Mystery.
    Show book
  • A Grave in the Cotswolds - cover

    A Grave in the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Undertaker Drew Slocombe is not having a good day. His business is failing, the car needs an MOT and he’s driving 120 miles to the Cotswolds to carry out the late Greta Simmonds’ final wishes. Unfortunately, when he gets there, a string of mistakes leaves him the chief suspect of a murder inquiry. He’s beginning to wish he had never heard of Greta Simmonds. 
    Thea Osborne is still pursuing her occupation as house-sitter, despite the disastrous incidents of the past. While staying in Greta Simmonds’ house, currently between ownership, she is torn between moving back home or waiting for the execution of the will. Then the discovery of a body in a nearby field takes the decision out of Thea’s hands, and she finds herself embroiled in a murder investigation once again. But Thea believes Drew Slocombe is innocent. As Thea and Drew work together to clear his name, it slowly dawns on them that in a village simmering with secrets, a means and a motive could be laid at anybody’s door.
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Task Lyst - cover

    Task Lyst

    Scott Hylbert

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Techno-Thriller:  Set in the heart of Silicon Valley, this thrilling story illustrates the endless possibilities that technology has in making our lives easier, but as we invite strangers in so do we invite danger.
    
    
    
     
    Convincing:  Apps are commonplace in many different facets of our every day life and everyone will relate to the fears behind these remote transactions.
    
    
    
     
    Suspenseful:  Filled with action and intrigue, this book will leave you at the edge of your seat.
    Show book