Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Designs On Murder - A Ghostly Fashionista Mystery #1 - cover

Designs On Murder - A Ghostly Fashionista Mystery #1

Gayle Leeson

Publisher: Gayle Leeson

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

What if you discovered your lively new friend wasn't really...alive? 
Amanda Tucker is excited about opening her fashion design studio in Shops On Main, a charming old building in historic Abingdon, Virginia. She didn't realize a ghost came with the property! But soon Maxine "Max" Englebright, a young woman who died in 1930, isn't the only dead person at the retail complex. Mark Tinsley, a web designer with a know-it-all attitude who also rented space at Shops On Main, is shot in his office. 
Amanda is afraid that one of her new "friends" and fellow small business owners is his killer, and Max is encouraging her to solve Mark's murder a la Nancy Drew. Easy for Max to want to investigate--the ghostly fashionista can't end up the killer's next victim! 
​In DESIGNS ON MURDER, Gayle Leeson sketches a stylish plot accessorized with a spectral fashionista sidekick. This series debut is a delight!" -Diane Vallere, national bestselling author 
​"As a sucker for a fun ghost story, I can say Gayle Leeson's DESIGNS ON MURDER scores on many levels including a spunky entrepreneur and a charming setting. Now that I've read the first one, I'll be counting the days until the next in the series arrives." --Lorna Barrett, author of the New York Times Bestselling Booktown Mysteries 

Other books that might interest you

  • The Man of Gold - cover

    The Man of Gold

    Evelyn Hervey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For a respectable governess like Harriet Unwin, her first few weeks in the shabby, inhospitable home of the Partingtons were as unhappy as any she could remember. The bone-chilling cold, the grim sparseness of the meals, the embittered meanness of old Mr Partington: but for the kindness shown by his son, her spirit must surely have been crushed. 
     
    But worse was to come for Harriet. Her chance discovery of the old man's cherished secret was, she felt sure, the cause of the attack that finally stilled his heart. The doctor, however, thought otherwise. It was neither illness nor old age that killed poor Mr Partington. It was poison...
    Show book
  • Cleaning the Gold - A Jack Reacher and Will Trent Short Story - cover

    Cleaning the Gold - A Jack...

    Karin Slaughter, Lee Child

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    THE NEW SHORT STORY FROM KARIN SLAUGHTER AND LEE CHILD!  
    Jack Reacher and Will Trent 
      
    Twice the action. 
    Twice the drama. 
    Double the trouble.  
    Will Trent is undercover at Fort Knox. His assignment: to investigate a twenty-two-year-old murder.  His suspect's name: Jack Reacher. 
    Jack Reacher is in Fort Knox on his own mission: to bring down a dangerous criminal ring operating at the heart of America’s military.  Except now Will Trent is on the scene. 
    But there’s a bigger conspiracy at play – one that neither the special agent nor the ex-military cop could have anticipated. And the only option is for Jack Reacher and Will Trent to team up and play nicely. If they can…
    Show book
  • Beneath the Ashes - cover

    Beneath the Ashes

    Jane Isaac

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A “carefully executed police procedural, that hits all the targets” from the bestselling author of Before It’s Too Late and The Lies Within (Angela Clarke, author of On My Life).  The floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid.  When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate. Nancy Faraday wakes up on the kitchen floor. The house had been broken into and her boyfriend is missing. As the case unravels, DI Jackman realizes that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has a secret. Can he discover the truth behind the body in the fire, and track down the killer before Nancy becomes the next victim? “I thought I’d never read a book that came close to the realities of crime and policing. Then I read this.”—Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon “A smart, intelligent and tightly woven police procedural with real depth of human emotion at its heart.”—Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series “A sharp, gripping read which drew me in from the first page. With engaging characters and an impressive level of authenticity, this is a police procedural that you won’t be able to put down.”—Caroline Mitchell, author of Silent Victim  “If you like pacy convincing police procedurals this is one for you.”—Kate Ellis, author of the DI Wesley Peterson crime series
    Show book
  • The Pupil - An unforgettable psychological thriller with a shocking twist perfect for summer reading - cover

    The Pupil - An unforgettable...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    One moment of carelessness. Four shattered lives. A chance for revenge. 
     
    Viola Matthews is sure she's met Katherine Baxter before. So when her husband Samuel Morton introduces Viola to the quiet, unassuming woman he has offered to mentor, she vows to discover the truth and why exactly she can't remember their meeting. 
     
    As their worlds collide and the bond between Samuel and Katherine deepens, Viola realises she must take control. As memories begin to filter back and the tension in her relationship rises, Viola begins to piece together the truth and Katherine needs to pay for what happened twelve years ago... 
     
    Perfect for fans of My Lovely Wife, The Mother in Law, Mel Sherratt and Claire Allan.
    Show book
  • Shandral - cover

    Shandral

    Charlotte E. English

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Reeling in the aftermath of the malefic curse, the city of Ekamet knows no peace, for a new killer strikes — and strikes again.
     
    Two men lie dead, gaping holes where their eyes used to be, with knives of carved bone sprouting from their butchered hearts.
     
    But who is to deliver justice for them now?
     
    For Konrad is adrift in the wake of disaster, severed from all he loves. Will his hard-won friends be enough to save him?
     
    And can he be enough to save them?
    Show book
  • Zero Zone - A Novel - cover

    Zero Zone - A Novel

    Scott O'Connor

    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    When one of Jess Shepard’s critically-acclaimed art installations in the desert is hijacked by individuals experiencing a “religious awakening” inside, her artwork is turned into a media sensation for all the wrong reasons. She tries to move past the incident, the violent fallout, and the guilt of having inadvertently caused this pain; but she is forced to confront it head-on when she’s asked to help one of the very same individuals who distorted her artwork. 
    For fans of California noir, as well as art-world thrillers like those by B.A. Shapiro and Maria Hummel’s Still Lives and fictional cult narratives like The Girls, Zero Zone expertly joins the hazy atmosphere of the 1960/70’s art scene with the heart-pounding, goosebump-inducing reading experience of literary thrillers like Woman No. 7 
    Inspired by an incredibly positive experience at the James Turell Ganzfeld room at LACMA, and a contrasting, unsettling encounter with a reader at a public Q&A for one of his books, Scott O’Connor’s Zero Zone probes the responsibility of the artist. We celebrate the positive impact of art, but what about the negative experiences, and negative impacts that art can have? What, if anything, does the artist owe those impacted by their art in either direction? 
    Scott O’Connor is the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award winning-author of Untouchable, and his work has appeared in The New York Times Magazine, The Los Angeles Review of Books, and elsewhere. He is based in Altadena, CA. 
    Acquired by Counterpoint Editor in Chief Dan Smetanka, editor of Maria Hummel’s Still Lives
    Show book