Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Heartbreak - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Heartbreak

Therese A Kraemer

Publisher: Spangaloo Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

8 Short Stories 
Forgotten love, terror, death and nightmares all play a part in this intriguing collection of stories. 
Most will break your heart. 
 
Abducted 
Isobel Cummings lives through a mother's worst fears; the abduction of her daughter. 
Betsy's Doll House 
A spaceship lands on an unknown planet and to this day no one knows or can understand what happened to the men who had previously landed their craft there. 
 
Grandmother Would Not Give Up 
Tilly Brown may be elderly, but she had the spunk of a teenager when she is accused of stealing. 
 
Secrets In My Mothers Diary 
Keith O'Leary spent most of his life believing that his mother abandoned him because she didn't love him. 
Seduced 
Was it a dream or reality, he may never know. 
 
Terror Calling 
Paula Winters is terrorized by a stalker, living through a hell no woman should experience. 
 
Things My Brother Taught Me 
Dale Ainsley selfishly wants her brother to remain dependent on her. It takes a stranger and her brother to show her that life doesn't just revolve around her.   
 
Twilight's Cry 
Are Bertha Griffin's terrifying nightmares a prediction or just her imagination.

Other books that might interest you

  • International Women's Literature Collection - cover

    International Women's Literature...

    Various Various

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This is a collection of works -- short stories or poetry -- by women writers in English from around the world and first published before 1923. (Summary by BellonaTimes)
    Show book
  • Omoo: Adventures in the South Seas - "A man thinks that by mouthing hard words he understands hard things" - cover

    Omoo: Adventures in the South...

    Herman Melville

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Herman Melville was born in New York City on August 1st, 1819, the third of eight children. 
    At the age of 7 Melville contracted scarlet fever which was to permanently diminish his eyesight. 
    At this time Melville was described as being "very backwards in speech and somewhat slow in comprehension." 
    His father died when he was 12 leaving the family in very straitened times. Just 14 Melville took a job in a bank paying $150 a year that he obtained via his uncle, Peter Gansevoort, who was one of the directors of the New York State Bank. 
    After a failed stint as a surveyor he signed on to go to sea and travelled across the Atlantic to Liverpool and then on further voyages to the Pacific on adventures which would soon become the architecture of his novels.  Whilst travelling he joined a mutiny, was jailed, fell in love with a South Pacific beauty and became known as a figure of opposition to the coercion of native Hawaiians to the Christian religion. 
    He drew from these experiences in his books Typee, Omoo, and White-Jacket. These were published as novels, the first initially in London in 1846. 
    By 1851 his masterpiece, Moby Dick, was ready to be published.  It is perhaps, and certainly at the time, one of the most ambitious novels ever written.   However, it never sold out its initial print run of 3,000 and Melville’s earnings on this masterpiece were a mere $556.37. 
    In succeeding years his reputation waned and he found life increasingly difficult.  His family was growing, now four children, and a stable income was essential. 
    With his finances in a disappointing state Melville took the advice of friends that a change in career was called for.  For many others public lecturing had proved very rewarding.  From late 1857 to 1860, Melville embarked upon three lecture tours, where he spoke mainly on Roman statuary and sightseeing in Rome. 
    In 1876 he was at last able to publish privately his 16,000 line epic poem Clarel. It was to no avail.  The book had an initial printing of 350 copies, but sales failed miserably. 
    On December 31st, 1885 Melville was at last able to retire.  His wife had inherited several small legacies and provide them with a reasonable income. 
    Herman Melville, novelist, poet, short story writer and essayist, died at his home on September 28rh 1891 from cardiovascular disease.<
    Show book
  • The Aunt and Amabel - cover

    The Aunt and Amabel

    E. Nesbit

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Journey to the roots of Narnia. C.S. Lewis enjoyed the writings of E. Nesbit from the time he was a child. And the story of Amabel and her journey through a mahogany wardrobe so struck him, that he later created his whimsical masterpiece, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. Discover the tale that inspired the great C.S. Lewis, and journey to a world of fantasy and forgiveness.
    Show book
  • Scary Old Sex - cover

    Scary Old Sex

    Arlene Heyman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A woman goes about certain rituals of sex with her second husband, sharing the bed with the ghosts of her sexual past.  A beautiful young art student embarks on an affair with a much older, married,  famous artist.   A middle-aged woman struggles with the decline of her mother, once glamorous and still commanding; their fraught relationship causes unexpected feelings, both shaming and brutal.  A man finds that his father has died while in the midst of extra-marital sex and wonders what he should do with the body.  And a boy sits in his Calculus class, fantasizing about a schoolmate's breasts and worrying about his father lying in hospital, as outside his classroom window the Twin Towers begin to fall.  
     
    In this stunning, taboo-breaking debut, Arlene Heyman, a practicing psychiatrist, gives us what really goes on in people's minds, relationships, and beds. Raw, tender, funny, truthful and often shocking, Scary Old Sex is a fierce exploration of the chaos and beauty of life.
    Show book
  • The Dream Snake - cover

    The Dream Snake

    Robert E. Howard

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Robert Ervin Howard (1906-1936) was an American author famous for his weird tales and horror stories. The Dream Snake is a terrifying tale of a man who has had a recurring dream about being pursued by a sinister, unseen giant snake which gets nearer and nearer to him every night....
    Show book
  • Arrow’s Rest - cover

    Arrow’s Rest

    Joel Scott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A nautical thriller for readers of Clive Cussler and Jack Higgins.
    		 
    Wooden sailboats shouldn’t play with steel yachts.
    		 
    When his lover’s sister is the latest victim in a series of sadistic assaults, Jared Kane sets out to find the guilty party. His search leads him into a tangled network of sex, power, and religion connecting high political office in the city to a secretive sect in the B.C. wilderness.
    		 
    The crimes seem connected to an exclusive yacht club in Vancouver’s West End, where Jared is able to moor his old wooden sailboat, Arrow, so he can infiltrate the elite. Jared’s friend Danny MacLean has no qualms about fleecing the club’s privileged members and joins Jared in the pursuit. Tracking their quarry on a long chase up through the furthest reaches of the Salish Sea, Arrow and her crew pay a tragic price for resolution in the bleak waters of Desolation Sound.
    Show book