"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Livli's Gift - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Livli's Gift

J.M. Ney-Grimm

Publisher: J.M. Ney-Grimm

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Livli struggles with a secret she keeps from everyone, even her closest friends, and she must solve the problem at its heart before she's discovered. 
 
She's certain the answer lies in a fragment of folklore and magic half-remembered from her childhood. Almost certain. 
 
She wouldn't need forgotten magic if only the men and women of her secluded mountain culture dwelt together. But the women—and Livli—inhabit their sister-lodge atop its lofty bluff, while the men live apart in their brother-lodge several valleys away. 
 
Unless she can force a change, Livli stands to lose everything . . . including the most precious thing in her life: her son. 
 
A story of secrets, shibboleths, and deep-forged strength told with all the insight and engaging intimacy that J.M. Ney-Grimm brings to epic fantasy. 
 
 
Kaunis Clan Saga 
 
The Hammarleeding people dwell in the high mountain valleys of J.M. Ney-Grimm's North-lands. They wield a tribal magic born of dance and song and the flow of sacred waters. 
 
Ritual and tradition hold a special place in Hammarleeding culture. Their rites are beautiful and uplifting, but they underpin a way of life that features many thou-shalt-nots. 
 
In each story of the Kaunis Clan Saga, one woman—or one man—challenges the shibboleths that threaten her—or his—particular bright dream. 
 
Sarvet's Wanderyar (1)  
Crossing the Naiad (2) 
Livli's Gift (3)  
Winter Glory (4)  
 
Each installment presents a unique protagonist from a fresh generation of the family. The stories stand alone and need not be read in order. 
 
 
Praise for Livli's Gift  
 
"…fascinating and insightful…" — P. Saternye 
 
"I started reading and couldn't put it down. I love the world and the characters..." — Diane Riggins  
 
 
Excerpt from Livli's Gift  
 
Livli rerolled the scroll carefully, returned it to its pigeonhole, and sighed. The whisper of her breath sounded loud in the quiet space, as had the crackle of the brittle parchment and the faint click of the closing cabinet door. 
 
The tale of The Princess and the Griffon did not have the reference she was looking for. Neither had The Lindworm's Eyrie nor Triton's Egg.  
 
"Why am I bothering," she murmured. "It's a wild gos chase." 
 
But she knew why she was bothering. She really, really wanted the information in whatever tale it was. 
 
"I wish I could remember." 
 
But she couldn't remember. 
 
Of course, she could ask her birth-mother. Sarvet would undoubtedly reel off an entire list of the folktales she'd told her children at bedtime. But I don't want her to know . . . what I'm thinking about right now.  
 
Livli sighed again.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses - cover

    A Court of Thorns and Roses

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 15
    • 78
    • 1
    The sexy, action-packed first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series from Sarah J. Maas. 
     
    When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a terrifying creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not truly a beast, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled her world.  
     
    At least, he's not a beast all the time.  
     
    As she adapts to her new home, her feelings for the faerie, Tamlin, transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But something is not right in the faerie lands. An ancient, wicked shadow is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it, or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever. 
     
    From bestselling author Sarah J. Maas comes a seductive, breathtaking book that blends romance, adventure, and faerie lore into an unforgettable read.
    Show book
  • The Duke Who Knew Too Much - cover

    The Duke Who Knew Too Much

    Grace Callaway

    • 5
    • 68
    • 0
    A Stranger to Love 
    Alaric McLeod, Duke of Strathaven, is known as the Devil Duke for his wicked ways. Tormented by his past, Alaric knows better than to trust a woman yet finds himself ensnared by a spirited, virtuous virgin—who accuses him of a crime he didn't commit. Is she his foe ... or his salvation? 
    
    A Novice to Desire 
    Emma Kent is an independent country miss cast adrift in the ton. When a depraved encounter with an arrogant rake lands her in intrigue, Emma's honor compels her to do the right thing. But desire challenges her quest for justice, and she must decide: can she trust her heart to discover the truth? 
    
    Bound by Passion and Peril 
    Alaric and Emma engage in a battle of wits and will. As their attraction flares, the true enemy stalks their every move. With danger looming, will they solve the mystery and find true love—before it's too late? 
    
    Length: Full-length novel (over 90,000 words) 
    Sensuality level: A hot historical romance with sizzling love scenes 
    
    Books by Grace Callaway 
    
    The Heart of Enquiry series (hot historical Regency romance): 
    Prequel Novella: The Widow Vanishes 
    Book 1: The Duke Who Knew Too Much 
    Book 2: M is for Marquess 
    Book 3: The Lady Who Came in from the Cold 
    Book 4: The Viscount Always Knocks Twice (2016)
    
    The Mayhem in Mayfair series (hot historical Regency romance): 
    Book 1: Her Husband's Harlot 
    Book 2: Her Wanton Wager 
    Book 3: Her Protector's Pleasure 
    Book 4: Her Prodigal Passion 
    
    Chronicles of Abigail Jones (hot historical paranormal romance): 
    Book 1: Abigail Jones
    Show book
  • Storing Up Trouble (American Heiresses Book #3) - cover

    Storing Up Trouble (American...

    Jen Turano

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    When Miss Beatrix Waterbury's Chicago-bound train ride is interrupted by a heist, Mr. Norman Nesbit, a man of science who believes his research was the target of the heist, comes to her aid. Despite the fact that they immediately butt heads, they join forces to make a quick escape.  
     
    Upon her arrival in Chicago, Beatrix is surprised to discover her supposedly querulous Aunt Gladys shares her own suffragette passions. Encouraged by Gladys to leave her sheltered world, Beatrix begins working as a salesclerk at the Marshall Field and Company department store. When she again encounters Norman on a shopping expedition, he is quickly swept up in the havoc she always seems to attract.  
     
    But when another attempt is made to part Norman from his research papers, and it becomes clear Beatrix's safety is also at risk, they soon discover the curious way feelings can grow between two very different people in the midst of chaos.
    Show book
  • The Pirate Queen Box Set - cover

    The Pirate Queen Box Set

    Jennifer Rose McMahon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A young woman travels to the magical past and present of Ireland in this complete fantasy romance series from a USA Today–bestselling author.Bohermore (Book 1) – Eighteen-year-old Maeve O’Malley is a recent high school graduate who should be thinking about college. Instead she’s stalked in her dreams by the very pirate queen who killed her mother years ago. She decides to ditch college and head to Ireland to search for answers. Soon she finds help from an attractive, Irish history professor as she sets off on a medieval treasure hunt.Inish Clare (Book 2) –Maeve returns to Ireland with relics in hand to restore balance to her cland and prove her clan’s rights to their land and its treasures. With murderous rival clans and warrior chieftains challenging her and her romantic life complicating her mission, she races to the pirate queen’s final resting place before it’s too late…Ballycroy (Book 3) – To save the future of her clan and break an ancient family curse, Maeve must travel back in time to medieval Ireland where her actions can have greater consequence than she realizes. Threats of clan battles clash with the burden to make things right when Maeve realizes the danger of becoming trapped in the past forever and is forced to make the boldest decision of her life.Grab it now with the added special excerpt to Legend Hunter.“McMahon’s excellent debut makes a contemporary paranormal mystery feel cozy and romantic... The slowly unfurling romance doesn’t go in obvious directions, which adds to the story’s allure. Teen and adult readers alike will be clamoring for the sequel.”— Publisher's Weekly Starred Review
    Show book
  • What's Love Got To Do With It? - A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy! - cover

    What's Love Got To Do With It? -...

    Anna Premoli

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    A hilarious romantic comedy from bestseller Anna Premoli. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk. 
     
    Kayla David is a high-flying journalist in New York City, spending all her time drinking martinis and writing about fashion trends. She is perfectly happy with her life, and she certainly has no time for falling in love. 
     
    That is, until, her boss decides to send her on a secret mission back to her hometown of Arkansas: she is tasked with exposing the truth about the fracking industry and to use her reputation as a lifestyle columnist as a disguise. She is horrified at the thought of returning to this boring country town, but up for the challenge. 
     
    Yet, she didn't plan on having to deal with Grayson Moir, the sexy but aloof mayor of Heber Spring. As Kayla settles into life there she soon realises that it might be a bit more difficult than she thought to keep her real mission a secret. And what's more, she finds it increasingly difficult to keep her heart under control too...
    Show book
  • Love to Hate You - A fun feisty romance - cover

    Love to Hate You - A fun feisty...

    Anna Premoli

    • 1
    • 24
    • 0
    Can your worst enemy become the love of your life? A fun, feisty, feel-good romance for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Meg Cabot. 
     
    Jennifer and Ian have known each other for seven years. They are leaders of two different teams in the same London bank, and are constantly engaged in a running battle to be number one. 
     
    Ian is a handsome, wealthy and sought-after bachelor; Jennifer is a feisty, independent lawyer. When they are thrown together to work on the same project, Ian makes Jenny an offer she can't refuse: to have free reign of their rich client if she pretends to be his girlfriend. 
     
    Soon, it becomes more and more difficult to tell the difference between fiction and reality... 
     
    What readers are saying about LOVE TO HATE YOU: 
     
    'A light-hearted novel about love, (im)possibilities and challenges in the workplace' Tu Style. 
     
    'Anna Premoli, for me, is the best of the genre. This book made me laugh and fall in love – I read it four times!' 
     
    'I loved this novel from beginning to end ... If you want a book that is fun and romantic at the same time, I would definitely recommend it.' 
     
    'A beautiful love story ... I read it in just two days!'
    Show book