Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Autobiography Without Words - cover

Autobiography Without Words

Peter Cherches

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Peter Cherches walks the thin line between memoir and fiction in Autobiography Without Words. We follow the main character, variously known as Pete, Mr. Cherches and Peter Cherches, through the big and small adventures of life, from childhood crimes and punishments to trips to India and Mars. A departure from the cool minimalism of Cherches’ previous collection, Lift Your Right Arm, this book will break your heart, mess with your head and have you rolling on the floor, all at the same time. 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

    The Baltimore Book of the Dead

    Marion Winik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
    For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
    The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
    Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.
    
    Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
    “It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)
    Show book
  • A Stolen Life - Searching for Richard Pierpoint - cover

    A Stolen Life - Searching for...

    David Meyler, Peter Meyler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Richard Pierpoint or Captain Dick, as he was commonly known, emerges from the shadows of history in A Stolen Life: Searching for Richard Pierpoint. An African warrior who was captured at about age 16, Pierpoint lived his remaining years in exile. From his birth in Bundu (now part of Senegal) around 1744 until his death in rural Ontario in 1837, Pierpoint's life allows us to glimpse the activity of an African involved in some of the world's great events. 
    "We are indebted to the authors for breathing life into this man, who though taken from his home early in his life still was able to make a significant contribution to the early history of Upper Canada. He fought, farmed and became a griot to the Black community. We thank you for a wonderful story of this often forgotten segment of Canadian history." 
    — Wilma Morrison, Norval Johnson Heritage Library, Niagara Falls 
    "Everybody knows about the Underground Railroad and the great many Black souls who emigrated to Canada via this route, but very few people know the brave Black men and women who put their lives on the line in defence of this country." 
    - Ivor Christopher, Re-enactor, Runchey's Company of Coloured Men  
    "A well-researched and highly readable chronicle of Richard Pierpoint's life in Africa and North America -- as a slave, a soldier, and as a pioneer in Upper Canada's wilderness. ... a vitally important contribution to Canadian Black history." 
    - Linda Brown-Kubisch, Author, Missouri
    Show book
  • Awakening Power of Miracle Bracelet - Join the Phenomenon Jewel of Health Love & Wealth - cover

    Awakening Power of Miracle...

    A. Atina

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The book is a true live-changing story of a woman named Susan. Its about her astonishing historical journey and her imperfect circumstances that transformed her into an extraordinary woman. Through her faith, Susan discovered that her life was a deliberate journey by the Higher Source. Therefore, she allowed her senses to channel with supernatural glowing light, higher energies, and receive messages. As a result, Susan is able to transmit this supernatural, glowing energy through her handmade bracelet, 4P steps miracle, and healing others life and body. As an addition, she is anticipating to leave the legacy of this power spread behind herself. 
    
    Susans story reveals the foundation of our resolution on earth. Her challenging, ordinary life of being born as a woman in Afghanistan hauled her into a life of mystery yet is rewarding and had her travel on the road no ones dared to cross. Thus, doubt is not her life philosophy as she lived life by example. Susans accomplishments and her PhD are not bought and cant be taught. It was designated by the Higher Source as he knows her strength.
    Show book
  • A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man - cover

    A Portrait of the Artist as a...

    Joe Joyce

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in Joyce's native Ireland, the story follows life of a young man Stephen and his transformation from child to artist. In five chapters, we are taken through Stephen's early childhood in Ireland and confinement at boarding school, his dalliances with theatre and hiring prostitutes, his retreat from sensory excess into religious devotion, his retreat from religious devotion into aesthetic, ascetic excess, and, ultimately, his retreat from Ireland and fellowship in favour of destiny.
    Show book
  • Conversations with Madeleine L'Engle - cover

    Conversations with Madeleine...

    Jackie C. Horne

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Conversations with Madeleine L'Engle is the first collection of interviews with the beloved children's book author best known for her 1962 Newbery Award-winning novel, A Wrinkle in Time. However, Madeleine L'Engle's accomplishments as a writer spread far beyond children's literature. Beginning her career as a literary novelist for adults, L'Engle (1918-2007) continued to write fiction for both young and old long after A Wrinkle in Time. In her sixties, she published personal memoirs and devotional texts that explored her relationship with religion. At the time of her death, L'Engle was mourned by fans of her children's books and the larger Christian community.L'Engle's books, as well as her life, were often marked by contradictions. A consummate storyteller, L'Engle carefully crafted and performed a public self-image via her interviews. Weaving through the documentable facts in these interviews are partial lies, misdirections, and wish-fulfillment fantasies. But, when read against her fictions, these "truths" can help us see L'Engle more deeply--what she wanted for herself and for her children, what she believed about good and evil, and what she thought was the right way and the wrong way to be a family--than if she had been able to articulate the truth more directly.The thirteen interviews collected here reveal an amazing feat of authorial self-fashioning, as L'Engle transformed from novelist to children's author to Christian writer and attempted to craft a public persona that would speak to each of these different audiences in meaningful, yet not painfully revealing, ways.
    Show book
  • Feuding Fan Dancers - Faith Bacon Sally Rand and the Golden Age of the Showgirl - cover

    Feuding Fan Dancers - Faith...

    Leslie Zemeckis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Zemeckis is one of only a few burlesque historians world-wide, and she herself has spent more than a decade performing in burlesque. Zemeckis's last two books on burlesque have been favorably reviewed by The New York Times, Time, NPR, New York Magazine, and in 2014, Zemeckis, also an actress and producer, was profiled in The Huffington Post.
     
    In November 2018, Zemeckis will costar with Steve Carell and Diane Kruger in the new film The Women of Marwen. She also has over 60k followers on Instagram.
     
    Behind the Burly Q, the 2010 documentary based on Zemeckis' book of the same name on the history of burlesque was championed by USA Today and The New Yorker. She wrote, produced, and directed it. Her latest documentary, Bound by Flesh (about vaudeville Siamese twin superstars, Daisy and Violet Hilton) has won multiple awards.
     
    Deeply researched and stylishly written, Feud of the Fan Dancers is the result of several years' worth of research and interviews with the family members of Faith Bacon and Sally Rand.
     
    Zemeckis has a track record of uncovering the forgotten feminist histories from the decades before women's rights, and this book is another on that indomitable trajectory––the story of two notorious women of grit and perseverance in the Golden Age of entertainment
    Show book