Slay dragons. Discover the killer. Make Love. Read without limits. #WorldBookDay offer until April 28!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Branded - The Alix Valkanas Chronicles #1 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Branded - The Alix Valkanas Chronicles #1

Alexandra Little

Publisher: Alexandra Little

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Picture high school and all its cliques: the preps, the jocks, the geeks, the artists, the emo kids, the wannabe-preps, and so on. Hormones like to screw that all up, of course: when acne’s a-blooming and hormones are a-fluctuating, there’s no telling whether you’ll be the school queen or the school punching bag. Now add in vampires, werewolves, and witches. Hormones and magic? Hoo-boy. It’s best to shove all these kids into their own special schools, so that mortal teens don’t question why Danny’s suddenly growing claws in fifth period Math or Lizzy’s lusting after her deskmate’s jugular in third period Economics. 
The problem with this is that the only way to tell if a child is a vamp or witch or wolf is to go by the parents. One of them is a vamp or witch or wolf? Fantastic - shove them into a magic school. Their magic’ll show up eventually. Right? 
Er, meet me. Alix Valkanas. Sixteen, female. Daughter of a very (I repeat, very) powerful witch and whoever she shacked up with seventeen years back. Very noticeably non-magical. Why don’t you just paint a target on my forehead. 
Oh, also? I’ve just transferred schools. Again. I am now the new girl on campus. 
High school’s a witch.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Secret Circle: The Initiation and The Captive Part I - cover

    The Secret Circle: The...

    L. J. Smith

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    With love, witchcraft, and spellbinding drama, the Secret Circle series is perfect for fans of The Vampire Diaries.  
    This special collection contains the first book in the Secret Circle series, The Initiation, as well as part one of the second book in the series, The Captive; from L.J. Smith, the New York Times bestselling author of The Vampire Diaries. 
    When Cassie is forced to move from California all the way to the small New England town of New Salem, she’s miserable. And yet, she feels a powerful kinship to the town, and to a terrifyingly beautiful group of students who always seem to get their way. Charmed by the Secret Circle, Cassie is initiated into a coven of witches whose power has controlled New Salem for hundreds of years. But when she falls for the mysterious and intriguing Adam, she is faced with the most pressing danger of her life—and one wrong move could ultimately destroy her…
    Show book
  • The Mediator #3: Reunion - cover

    The Mediator #3: Reunion

    Meg Cabot

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Reunion is the third book in the thrilling, romantic Mediator series, from the New York Times bestselling author of the Princess Diaries, Meg Cabot.   
    The RLS Angels are out for blood, and only Suze can stop them—since she's the only one who can see them. The four ghostly teenagers died in a terrible car accident, for which they blame Suze's classmate Michael...and they'll stop at nothing until he's joined them in the realm of the dead.  
    As Suze desperately fends off each attempt on Michael's life, she finds she can relate to the Angels' fury. Because their deaths turn out not to have been accidental at all. And their killer is only too willing to strike again. 
    Don't miss the delightfully funny supernatural Mediator series, from New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot.
    Show book
  • The Fill-In Boyfriend - cover

    The Fill-In Boyfriend

    Kasie West

    • 20
    • 229
    • 2
    When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she decides to do the unthinkable…convince the cute guy waiting to pick up his sister to pretend to be her boyfriend for the night. The task is simple: two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. 
    The problem is that days after prom, she can't stop thinking about her fill-in boyfriend. But can Gia turn her fake boyfriend into a real one without exposing her lie and possibly destroying her friendships and her newfound relationship? 
    Smartly observed and wonderfully romantic, Kasie West's talent shines in this tale of one girl's unexpected quest to find love…and possibly herself.
    Show book
  • The Mediator #1: Shadowland - cover

    The Mediator #1: Shadowland

    Meg Cabot

    • 2
    • 18
    • 0
    Shadowland is the first book in the thrilling, romantic Mediator series, from the New York Times bestselling author of the Princess Diaries, Meg Cabot.   
    Suze is a mediator—a liaison between the living and the dead. In other words, she sees dead people. And they won't leave her alone until she helps them resolve their unfinished business with the living. 
    But Jesse, the hot ghost haunting her bedroom, doesn't seem to need her help. Which is a relief, because Suze has just moved to sunny California and plans to start fresh, with trips to the mall instead of the cemetery, and surfing instead of spectral visitations. But the very first day at her new school, Suze realizes it's not that easy. 
    There's a ghost with revenge on her mind...and Suze happens to be in the way. 
    Don't miss the delightfully funny supernatural Mediator series, from New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot.
    Show book
  • Wolf Light - cover

    Wolf Light

    Yaba Badoe

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Yaba's debut novel A Jigsaw of Fire and Stars was shortlisted for the 2018 Branford Boase Award and nominated for the 2019 Carnegie Medal. 
     
    A leopard dances under the moon. A wolf prowls. A red-beaked bird flies free. 
     
    Three girls born on the same day in wolf light are bound together to protect the world. They can dazzle or destroy. They have wind-song and fire-fury at their fingertips, but their enemies are everywhere. 
     
    From the bleak steppes to the tropical forests of Ghana and the stormy moors of Cornwall, the lands they love are plundered and poisoned. The girls must rally to perfect their skills and prove the strength of sister-magic. 
     
    Steeped in elemental myth, Wolf Light is a call to us all to hear the ancient power within us and conserve our heritage.
    Show book
  • Fracture Me - cover

    Fracture Me

    Tahereh Mafi

    • 3
    • 4
    • 0
    In this electrifying sixty-page companion novella to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, discover the fate of the Omega Point rebels as they go up against The Reestablishment.  
    Set during and soon after the final moments of Unravel Me, Fracture Me is told from Adam's perspective. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam's more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about. 
    Fracture Me sets the stage for Ignite Me, the explosive third installment in Tahereh Mafi's epic dystopian series. It's a novella not to be missed by fans who crave action-packed stories with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. 
    Don’t miss Defy Me, the shocking fifth book in the Shatter Me series!
    Show book