Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Next History - cover

Next History

Lee Baldwin

Publisher: Lee Baldwin

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

On the threshold of womanhood. . . 
Tharcia in her quest to contact her deceased mother is swept into dark energies of the occult, and from there into a mind-mazing interplay of the Military, the Akashic Record, and Big Data. 
Next History by Lee Baldwin is a grown-up fantasy that arises from a central question: What would tomorrow be like if we knew our creation story as it really was, not verbally handed down over thousands of years? 
In these pages you'll see what happens when the Babylonian creation myth comes into the light, and when Tharcia summons a supernatural being into the world's biggest pentagram: The United States Pentagon. Oh, great, a supernal entity bent on her destruction. 
One girl against the Patriarchy? Those old dudes better watch their butts. A sizzling romantic thriller where a girl finds a guy who really counts. 
A dystopian fantasy epic from the heart of hope. 
Really worth reading. If you can imagine reading Neal Stephenson - before anyone much had heard of him and mix it with Good Omens - this might be that novel. ~ Megan (Ashland, OR USA) 
A unique voice in storytelling. Next History is humorous, a cliff hanger, a marvelous love story, and perfectly executed. ~ Ernie Smitty 
This is no fantasy. Baldwin fashions his story from myth, Biblical prophecy, astronomy, mysticism and human desire… a plausible extension of what we see as our reality today. ~ ArtOf Silence 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Even Villains Fall In Love - Heroes and Villains #1 - cover

    Even Villains Fall In Love -...

    Liana Brooks

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Which does he want more: the world, or the woman he loves?  
    If you believe the rumours, Doctor Charm, wickedly sexy super villain, retired in shame seven years ago after his fight with superhero Zephyr Girl. The fact that the charming Evan Smith--father of four and husband to the too-beautiful-to-be-real Tabitha--bears a resemblance to the defeated Doctor is pure coincidence. And please, ignore the minions. 
    The Smith household is perfect--until Tabitha announces that she's returning to work as a superhero. Evan was hoping to keep her distracted until after he rigged the presidential election, but--genius that he is--Evan has a backup plan. In his basement lab, Evan has a machine whose sole purpose is keeping Tabitha hungry for him. 
    But children and labs don't mix, and when they break the machine, Tabitha storms out. This time his genius isn't going to be enough--he's going to need both his evil alter-ego and the blooming super abilities of his children to save his wife. But even his most charming self might not be enough to save their marriage.
    Show book
  • Woodwalker - Creatures of Light Book 1 - cover

    Woodwalker - Creatures of Light...

    Emily B. Martin

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    “What on earth would I gain from that?” I asked him. “Risk my own neck by violating my banishment just to leave you? The sentence placed on me if I return is execution. If I’m entering the mountains again, I’d damn well better get something out of it.” 
    Exiled from the Silverwood and the people she loves, Mae has few illusions about ever returning to her home. But when she comes across three out-of-place strangers in her wanderings, she finds herself contemplating the unthinkable: risking death to help a deposed queen regain her throne. 
    And if anyone can help Mona Alastaire of Lumen Lake, it is a former Woodwalker—a ranger whose very being is intimately tied to the woods they are sworn to protect. Mae was once one of the best, and despite the potential of every tree limb to become the gibbet she’s hanged from, she not only feels a duty to aid Mona and her brothers, but also to walk beneath her beloved trees once more. 
    A grand quest in the tradition of great epic fantasies, filled with adventure and the sharp wit—and tongue—of a unique hero, Woodwalker is the perfect novel to start your own journey into the realm of magical fiction.
    Show book
  • A Crown for Assassins (A Throne for Sisters—Book Seven) - cover

    A Crown for Assassins (A Throne...

    Morgan Rice

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    “Morgan Rice's imagination is limitless. In another series that promises to be as entertaining as the previous ones, A THRONE OF SISTERS presents us with the tale of two sisters (Sophia and Kate), orphans, fighting to survive in a cruel and demanding world of an orphanage. An instant success. I can hardly wait to put my hands on the second and third books!”
    --Books and Movie Reviews (Roberto Mattos)
    
    The new #1 Bestselling epic fantasy series by Morgan Rice!
    
    In A CROWN FOR ASSASSINS (A Throne for Sisters—Book Seven), Sophia, Kate and Lucas finally get the chance to journey in search of their long-lost parents. Will they find them?
    
    Are they alive?
    
    And what message do they hold for them?
    
    Their journey demands a price, though. Ashton is left without a ruler, and the Master of Crows still lies in wait, ready to strike. As the fate of the realm lies in the balance, help may come from the most unlikely place of all: Stonehome.
    
    A CROWN FOR ASSASSINS (A Throne for Sisters—Book Seven) is book #7 in a dazzling new fantasy series rife with love, heartbreak, tragedy, action, adventure, magic, swords, sorcery, dragons, fate and heart-pounding suspense. A page turner, it is filled with characters that will make you fall in love, and a world you will never forget. 
    
    Book #8 in the series will be released soon.
    
    “[A Throne for Sisters is a] powerful opener to a series [that] will produce a combination of feisty protagonists and challenging circumstances to thoroughly involve not just young adults, but adult fantasy fans who seek epic stories fueled by powerful friendships and adversaries.”
    --Midwest Book Review (Diane Donovan)
    Show book
  • Kris Longknife's Bloodhound - Kris Longknife - cover

    Kris Longknife's Bloodhound -...

    Mike Shepherd

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It’s dangerous to get too close to one of those damn Longknife.  So Senior Chief Agent in Charge Foile volunteers to get too damn close to the whole family of Longknifes.  It seemed like a good idea at the time.  Kris Longknife feared the survival of the entire human race might hang on what her Grampa Al did next – but she couldn’t figure out what he was up to.  After a career in the Wardhaven Bureau of Investigations, Foile was good at finding out what others wanted to keep hidden. 
    Exactly why he found himself volunteering, he’d never know, but soon he was spending his annual leave digging into what the powerful Longknife family wanted hidden and up to his neck in trouble of every kind. 
    Note to reader.  This story takes place in the middle of Kris Longknife - Furious. 
    Note about cover photo.  This is a file photo of Kris and Nelly when she was in college on the political stump for her father’s campaign.  For the latest photo of Kris, check out Kris Longknife - Defender.
    Show book
  • The Golden Vial (Legends of the Realm Book #3) - cover

    The Golden Vial (Legends of the...

    Thomas Locke

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Lady Shona, the newly crowned queen of the realm, is a leader without a throne. Pursued relentlessly by a dark force, her small contingent of loyal followers must make a difficult choice--flee or fight. Determined to save her land from nefarious threats, Lady Shona decides that she must seek out the enemy and attack them head on--a strategy that leads back to the region of the Three Valleys where Hyam was born.Alas, Hyam has been struck by a mysterious illness that is silently sweeping through the realm. Known as the wasting disease, the sickness has no cure. But there is one shred of hope for Lady Shona and the realm--and it comes in the most unlikely of forms. A young orphan, untested and untrained, could well mean the difference between victory and total defeat.Thomas Locke concludes his epic trilogy with a gripping tale of courage that will inspire readers to persevere even when all seems lost.
    Show book
  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book