Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Camilla Randall Mysteries Box Set - The Camilla Randall Mysteries - cover

The Camilla Randall Mysteries Box Set - The Camilla Randall Mysteries

Anne R. Allen

Publisher: Anne R. Allen

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Snarky, delicious fun! The Camilla Randall mysteries are a laugh-out-loud mashup of romantic comedy, crime fiction, and satire: Dorothy Parker meets Dorothy L. Sayers. Perennially down-and-out socialite Camilla Randall is a magnet for murder, mayhem and Mr. Wrong, but she always solves the mystery in her quirky, but oh-so-polite way.  Usually with more than a little help from her gay best friend, Plantagenet Smith. 
 
Ghostwriters In The Sky: When a young writer is found dead in her gay best friend's bed at a writer's conference in California wine country, Camilla must enlist the help of a cross-dressing dominatrix to clear Plant's name. Unfortunately, she suspects the hot LA cop who has stolen her heart may be the murderer.  
 
In Sherwood Ltd. a homeless Camilla lands in Robin Hood country, where some not-so-merry men may be trying to kill her, and of course Camilla once again ends up in the most improbable, but always believable, circumstances.  
 
The Best Revenge is a prequel to the series, and takes us back to Camilla Randall's teen years, when she first meets Plantagenet Smith—and is accused of murder herself! 
"These stories are so carefully crafted and so cleverly presented that virtually every page offers a unique insight, experience, or perspective, that grabs my attention, tickles my imagination, and makes me laugh out loud." 
"A trio of light but intelligent reads. What a pleasure to spend a few days with bits of suspense, as well as some slightly ditzy but loveable characters, all tossed about together in a comical hurricane." 
"Serious and absorbing plots. Lighthearted at the same time. "

Who read this book also read:

  • Death of a Russian Priest - cover

    Death of a Russian Priest

    Stuart M. Kaminsky

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Just days after the end of the USSR, a mysterious priest becomes a martyrIn service of his beloved Orthodox Church, Father Merhum has spent decades battling Soviet apparatchiks and the KGB. Now the Soviet Union is gone, but the bureaucracy survives, and the aged priest makes plans to denounce Communist supporters, including some within the Church. He is on his way to Moscow when an assassin stops him with an ax. And as he dies, Merhum begs for forgiveness—a curious plea from a saint-to-be. The case falls to police inspectors Porfiry Rostnikov and Emil Karpo—a ruthless detective whose eerie appearance has earned him the nickname “the vampire.” But as they dig into the past of this celebrated village priest, they uncover strange church secrets and a conspiracy that would ensure that though Soviet Russia is finished, corruption will never die.
    Show book
  • INDEFENSIBLE - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #2 - cover

    INDEFENSIBLE - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Lawyer Kate Lange takes on an unwinnable case in the second book of the bestselling legal thriller series. For fans of John Grisham, Tess Gerritsen and James Patterson. 
    When Elise Vanderzell plummets from her bedroom balcony one gorgeous summer night, her children awaken to a nightmare. 
    Their mother is dead. 
    Their father is charged with her murder. 
    Lawyer Kate Lange knows all about nightmares. She’s survived the darkest period of her troubled life and the wounds are still raw. Now she’s been handed a case that seems utterly unwinnable:  defending her boss, high-profile lawyer Randall Barrett. A prosecutor’s dream suspect, Randall is a man who was cuckolded by his ex-wife. A man who could not control his temper. A man who had argued bitterly with the victim the previous day in full view of his children. 
    With limited criminal law experience, Kate finds herself enmeshed in a family fractured by doubt. Randall’s teenage son is intent on killing him. His daughter wants only to feel safe again. And the entire legal community would like nothing better than to see Randall receive a public comeuppance. As Kate races to stay a step ahead of the prosecution, a silent predator is waiting for the perfect time to deal the final blow. 
    "Indefensible is a superbly plotted and suspenseful thriller…” 
    —Omnimystery 
    "Lawyer Kate Lange is back with another case that will test her courtroom skills, judgment and nerves. The suspense is intense, the action shocking and the plot intriguing.” 
    —RT Book Reviews, 4.5 stars out of 4.5 stars 
    "Do yourself a favor and jump in the middle of these amazing books. You won't be able to put them down until the final page." 
    —Fresh Fiction 
    Book 2 of the Kate Lange Thriller Series 
    422 Pages
    Show book
  • Murder at the High School Reunion - Dekker Cozy Mystery Series #5 - cover

    Murder at the High School...

    Steve Demaree

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this fifth book in the Dekker Cozy Mystery Series, rumors abound that the two people who turned up missing after the high school reunion might not have run away together, but could have been murdered.  Lt. Dekker and Sgt. Murdock will not become involved unless the missing couple's bodies are found, but then Lt. Dekker might not become involved even if that happens.  The doctor who gives all the physical examinations for the police department has told Lt. Dekker that he had gained weight, and he must lose all that he has gained, plus five more pounds in order to work on the case, should there be one.  Lt. Dekker is not eager to lose weight, because losing weight means he will have to exercise and cut back on what he is eating, neither of which pleases him.  So, he is in a quandry.
    Show book
  • The Stately Home Murder - cover

    The Stately Home Murder

    Catherine Aird

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In 1970s England, a broke nobleman and a body in a suit of armor present a puzzling mystery in this witty novel by a Diamond Dagger Award winner. It is the early 1970s, and times are tough in the upper reaches of British society. To survive the changing times, the Earl of Ornum has done the previously unthinkable and opened his estate to wandering tourists. One day, a hyperactive little boy and his family are roaming Ornum House delightedly. The curious tyke sees a full suit of armor and lifts the visor . . . only to see a face staring out at him.   As Detective Inspector C. D. Sloan soon finds, the man in the suit of armor is dead—and there’s a slew of suspects waiting to be interviewed. Was it the ditzy duchess? The disappointing nephew? One of the servants? The earl himself? It’s up to Sloan and his wisecracking sidekick, Detective Constable Crosby, to find out before the murderer strikes again.  
    Show book
  • A Crack in the Wall - cover

    A Crack in the Wall

    Claudia Piñeiro

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    1.A tightly plotted, short crime novel (230 pages) set in contemporary Buenos Aires. An architect in a marriage and career crisis finds his life transformed with the arrival of a young woman in his office. She is living in the apartment of Nelso Jara, a blackmailer murdered and buried in the foundations of a building finished twenty years before. No one wants the murder revealed, or the blackmail to resume.2. As usual for Piñeiro, the novel is more than a mystery story: it has all the markings of the genre--page-turner pacing, short breathless sentences. But Piñeiro's reveals the things hidden behind the facades of our existence; human relationships based on habit and cowardice, rather than love; on excessive ambition and personal gain, rather than morality. 3. The third  novel by Claudia Piñeiro published by Bitter Lemon Press, to follow on the success of Thursday Night Widows, which was made into a film  by Argentine New Wave director Marcelo Piñeyro, and the critically acclaimed All Yours.4. The author has won the Clarin Prize and is South America’s bestselling crime novelist (selling over 250,000 copies per title). She is translated in French, Italian and German.
    Show book
  • I Can See You - Emma Willis Book I - cover

    I Can See You - Emma Willis Book I

    Joss Landry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Emma stuck her face to the window to watch the rain. Lightning in the background drew a fiery specter in the sky while her eyes traced the water droplets running down the pane like tears.”
    
    Emma Willis is ten years old and has a secret. She not only inherited her grandmother's power of sight, she can accomplish much more. Like most children without siblings growing up amongst adults, she is precocious yet at times lonely. 
    
    When a murderer is loose in Newark, a maniac with a thirst for killing little girls, she begins to understand why her Granny Dottie called her sight a curse. She will need all her powers to catch a killer and help the people in her life: Detective Hank Apple, her teacher Christina Tyler, and her little family of three. Only … the madman knows who she is!
    Show book