Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Infallible - cover

Infallible

Carlyle Labuschagne

Publisher: Fire Quill Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Cursed in love, death was coming for her once again...  
Sexy, smart and career-ambitious, South African Detective Scarlet Anne Martins gets the career opportunity of her life---working for the NYPD's Special Crimes Unit. After landing a high-profile case involving the escape of a notorious serial killer, her career jumps from freelance detective for the NYPD to consulting for the FBI.  
But never had she imagined how quickly those dreams could slip through her fingers when she meets her new partner Agent Blade, who appears to have a vendetta against the killer Scarlet is assigned to bring down.  
At a shocking turn of events, Scarlet finds herself a fugitive in a foreign country after being framed for a fatal bombing and aiding the escape of a serial killer. She starts to suspect her new partner was put on her path as a distraction, that is, until he saves her life. Despite herselfn she can no long deny her feelings for Agent Blade, and her desperation to save him will ultimately be what could kill them both.

Other books that might interest you

  • Blood Safari - cover

    Blood Safari

    Deon Meyer, K.L. Seegers

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Deon Meyer’s novels explore the complex reality of South Africa . . . they are exciting stories of crime, conflict and revenge” (Miami Herald).  Blood Safari is a harrowing novel from internationally acclaimed thriller writer Deon Meyer, an expert storyteller whose wickedly fast narratives reveal the heart of his enthralling country.   In Blood Safari, Emma Le Roux, a beautiful young woman in Cape Town, sees her brother named on the television news as the prime suspect in the killing of four poachers and a witch doctor. But it can’t be possible: Emma’s brother is supposed to be dead, having disappeared twenty years ago in Kruger National Park. Emma tries to find out more but is attacked and barely escapes. So she hires Lemmer, a personal security expert, and sets out into the country in search of the truth.   A complicated man with a dishonorable past, Lemmer just wants to do his job and avoid getting personally involved. But as he and Emma search for answers from the rural police, they encounter racial and political tensions, greed, corruption, and violence unlike anything they have ever known.   “With Deon Myer you can’t go wrong. He’s a writer whose work I admire, wait for, and then devour.” —Michael Connelly
    Show book
  • The Killer in the Choir - cover

    The Killer in the Choir

    Simon Brett

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Although she hadn’t known Leonard Mallett very well, nor liked him particularly, Carole Seddon feels duty bound to attend her fellow committee member’s funeral. As she suspected, the hymns, readings and sermon are all very predictable – not unlike Leonard himself. What she couldn’t have predicted was that the deceased’s daughter would use the occasion to publicly accuse her stepmother of murder.
    Did Heather Mallett really kill her husband, as many Fethering residents believe? Deciding to get to the heart of the matter, Carole’s neighbour Jude joins the new community choir – and discovers that amidst the clashing egos and petty resentments lurk some decidedly false notes. At least one chorister would appear to be hiding a deadly secret – and it’s up to Carole and Jude to unearth the truth.
    Show book
  • The Good Cop - cover

    The Good Cop

    Peter Steiner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Munich, 1920. Detective Willi Geismeier has a problem: how do you uphold the law when the law goes bad? The First World War has been lost and Germany is in turmoil. The new government in Berlin is weak. The police and courts are corrupt. Fascists and Communists are fighting in the streets. People want a savior, someone who can make Germany great again. To many, Adolf Hitler seems perfect for the job.
    When the offices of a Munich newspaper are bombed, Willi Geismeier investigates, but as it gets political, he is taken off the case. Willi continues to ask questions, but when his pursuit of the truth itself becomes a crime, his career – and his life – are in grave danger.
    Show book
  • Cobra - A Novel - cover

    Cobra - A Novel

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A riveting thriller from the acclaimed “King of South African crime” and the author of Blood Safari: “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters” (Michael Connelly).   Deon Meyer is a world-class writer whose page-turning thrillers probe the social and racial complexities of his native country. In Cobra, a famous English mathematician is kidnapped and his two bodyguards are killed at a guest house in the beautiful wine country outside Cape Town. It’s clearly a professional hit, and the spent shell cases offer a chilling clue: Each is engraved with the head of a spitting cobra.   Meanwhile, in the city, a skilled thief is using his talents to put his sister through college. But he picks the wrong pocket, grabbing the wallet of a young American woman delivering something very valuable and dangerous to South Africa. The thief not only becomes the target of the deadly hit man known as the Cobra, but unwittingly holds the key to stopping a deadly international threat. It’s up to Captain Benny Griessel and his elite investigation team to find the pickpocket and track down the Cobra as the novel hurtles toward a brilliant, heart-stopping finale on the suburban commuter trains.   “Mr. Meyer, the leading thriller writer in his native country, traffics in crime-novel situations familiar the world over: drunken cops, charming robbers, dangerous murderers, sudden violence—and sometimes, issues of race.” —The Wall Street Journal  
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • Heart of the Hunter - cover

    Heart of the Hunter

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Six-foot five-inch Thobela "Tiny" Mpayipheli was once a feared assassin and freedom fighter, trained by the Stasi and KGB. In post-apartheid South Africa, he's happily working in a garage. But Tiny’s quiet domestic life is interrupted by a desperate plea from the daughter of a trusted old friend: he’s being held hostage after taking an incriminating hard drive and needs help. Tiny’s old training kicks in, and as he races across the South African landscape on a stolen BMW motorcycle to the rendezvous point, he is pursued by several interested and hostile forces, including South Africa’s Presidential Intelligence Unit. None of them have a clue what they’re up against.With his books published in twenty languages, the critically acclaimed Deon Meyer has won a reputation as one of the best thriller writers in the world. Heart of the Hunter is an epic adventure across the landscape and history of a remarkable country.
    Show book