Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Infallible - cover

Infallible

Carlyle Labuschagne

Publisher: Fire Quill Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Cursed in love, death was coming for her once again...  
Sexy, smart and career-ambitious, South African Detective Scarlet Anne Martins gets the career opportunity of her life---working for the NYPD's Special Crimes Unit. After landing a high-profile case involving the escape of a notorious serial killer, her career jumps from freelance detective for the NYPD to consulting for the FBI.  
But never had she imagined how quickly those dreams could slip through her fingers when she meets her new partner Agent Blade, who appears to have a vendetta against the killer Scarlet is assigned to bring down.  
At a shocking turn of events, Scarlet finds herself a fugitive in a foreign country after being framed for a fatal bombing and aiding the escape of a serial killer. She starts to suspect her new partner was put on her path as a distraction, that is, until he saves her life. Despite herselfn she can no long deny her feelings for Agent Blade, and her desperation to save him will ultimately be what could kill them both.

Other books that might interest you

  • Riptide - cover

    Riptide

    Debbi Mack

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    A beach vacation could be deadly for an attorney trying to help her wrongly-accused friend.
     
    Stephanie Ann “Sam” McRae’s stay in Ocean City for the annual Maryland bar association convention becomes a busman’s holiday when her best friend Jamila is arrested for murder. All signs point to a frame, but Jamila’s local counsel advises her to plea bargain. This would permanently stain the ambitious attorney’s spotless record, unless Sam and a private investigator can find evidence to clear her.
     
    Sam has her work cut out for her, since the victim is the stepson of a local wealthy entrepreneur and poultry producer and no one will talk to her, including the lawyer's investigator. Even Jamila seems to be withholding information. Meanwhile, Sam’s running from mysterious pursuers and comes under police scrutiny when another murder takes place.
     
    With the clock ticking down to the convention and preliminary hearing, Sam must uncover secrets, lies, and fraud to find the real killer. At what cost will that knowledge come for Sam?
     
    WHAT OTHERS SAY ABOUT THE BOOK
     
    "The plot was tight and author Debbi Mack kept me guessing whodunnit to the very end."-- Karen Cantwell, bestselling author of the Barbara Marr Mystery Series
     
    "The final scene, Sam delivers just desserts to an annoying fellow attorney in a manner that made me chuckle aloud. But don't skip ahead to see what happens. Start at the beginning. Riptide will pull you right along."-- Suzanne Adair, award-winning author of the Mysteries of the American Revolution and the Michael Stoddard American Revolution Mysteries
     
    "Full of tension and suspense from cover-to-cover, Riptide is a cracking good read."-- Leighton Gage, author of the Chief Inspector Mario Silva Series
     
    "Sam McRae is a nosy, brassy, sarcastic pain in the ass. Which is why you'll love her."-- Frank Zafiro, author of the River City Crime Novels
     
    "Get dragged under by Riptide. If you're not already a fan of the Sam McRae series, you will be after this read."-- Benjamin Sobieck, author of Cleansing Eden and The Glass Eye.
     
    ABOUT THE AUTHORDebbi Mack is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sam McRae mystery series. She’s also published two standalone books--a young adult novel Invisible Me and a thriller called The Planck Factor. Debbi's also published Five Uneasy Pieces, a short story collection that includes her Derringer Award–nominated story “The Right to Remain Silent.” Her short stories have appeared in various anthologies and publications, including Shaken: Stories for Japan and three of the Chesapeake Crimes anthologies.
     
    Debbi also hosts a podcast called the Crime Cafe, which features interview with crime, suspense, and thriller authors, and more.
     
    A retired attorney, Debbi has also worked as a journalist, librarian, and freelance writer/researcher. She enjoys walking, cats, travel, movies, and espresso--not necessarily in that order.
     
    You can find her online at www.debbimack.com.
    Show book
  • Hardcastle's Collector - A police procedural set during World War One - cover

    Hardcastle's Collector - A...

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Detective Inspector Hardcastle ruffles feathers in a sleepy Hampshire village, when he investigates the murder of a local girl    August 1917. The head of the CID at Scotland Yard sends Divisional Detective Inspector Ernest Hardcastle and Detective Sergeant Charles Marriott of the Whitehall Division of the Metropolitan Police to a small Hampshire village, to investigate the murder of a local girl. For once, Hardcastle has plenty of suspects. Was the murderer one of Daisy Salter’s many suitors? Was it the shifty individual who left the local pub and disappeared the moment he saw Hardcastle? Or could it have been Daisy’s own father? 
    In an entirely different world from London, Hardcastle is forced to adapt to the slower pace of country life, and he soon finds he is ruffling feathers as he carries out his investigations in his own inimitable fashion.
    Show book
  • The Killing Room - A Balzano & Byrne Novel - cover

    The Killing Room - A Balzano &...

    Richard Montanari

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Nothing will ever be the same again . . .  
    In the heart of Philadelphia’s badlands, Homicide Detectives Byrne and Balzano are called out to a particularly chilling crime scene. Once the pillar of the neighbourhood, an abandoned church has become a killing room. At first it looks like a random act of violence. But then a second body is found, and a third. Each crime scene more disturbing than the last, each murder more brutal. And it soon becomes horrifyingly clear that a cold, calculating and terrifyingly precise mind is at work. With very few leads, and a mastermind who always seems to be one step ahead, Byrne and Balzano are faced with challenges they could never have imagined as they race against time to hunt down their killer, before it’s too late . . .  
      
    Discover what readers around the world already know: Richard Montanari’s novels are “relentlessly suspenseful” (Tess Gerritsen)
    Show book
  • Desert Heat - cover

    Desert Heat

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A cop lies dying beneath the blistering Arizona sun—a local lawman who may well have become the next sheriff of Cochise County. The police brass claim that Andy Brady was dirty, and that his shooting was a suicide attempt. Joanna Brady, his devoted wife and mother of their nine-year-old daughter, knows a cover-up when she hears one . . . and murder when she sees it. But her determined efforts to hunt down an assassin and clear her husband's name are placing Joanna and her surviving family in harm's way—because in the desert, the one thing more lethal than a rattler's bite . . . is the truth.
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 5
    • 56
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Black Death - cover

    Black Death

    M.J. Trow

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    September, 1592. “Kit, I know we have never been friends, but you are the only man in London to whom I can write. Someone is trying to kill me”.
    Christopher Marlowe had never liked Robert Greene when he was alive. But when the former Cambridge scholar is found dead in a cheap London boarding house, shortly after sending Kit a desperate letter, Marlowe feels duty bound to find out who killed him – and why.
    What secrets did Robert Greene take with him to the grave? And why is the Queen’s spymaster, Sir Robert Cecil, taking such a keen interest in the case? As plague stalks the streets of London and the stage manager of the Rose Theatre disappears without trace just days before the opening of Marlowe’s new play, the playwright-sleuth finds himself in the midst of a baffling murder investigation – where nothing is as it first appears.
    Show book