Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Kansas Dreams: The Complete Planting Dreams Series - Planting Dreams - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have 600,000 other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Kansas Dreams: The Complete Planting Dreams Series - Planting Dreams

Linda K. Hubalek

Publisher: Butterfield Books Inc.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Kansas Dreams contains all three books in the Planting Dreams series. 
Book 1, Planting Dreams: A Swedish Immigrant's Journey to America, 1868-1869. 
Can you imagine starting a journey to an unknown country in 1868, not knowing what the country would be like, where you would live, or how you would survive? Did you make the right decision to leave in the first place? 
This first book in the Planting Dreams series portrays Swedish immigrant Charlotta Johnson (author Linda Hubalek’s ancestor), as she ponders the decision to leave her homeland, travel to America, and worries about her family’s future in a new country. 
Each chapter is written as a thought-provoking story as the family travels to a new country to find a new life. 
Why did this family leave? Drought scorched the farmland of Sweden and there was no harvest to feed families or livestock. Taxes were due and there was little money to pay them. But there were ships sailing to America, where the government gave land to anyone who wanted to claim a homestead. 
Follow Charlotta and her family as they travel by ship and rail from Sweden, to their homestead on the open plains of Kansas. 
Book 2, Cultivating Hope: Homesteading on the Great Plains, 1869-1886. 
Can you imagine being isolated in the middle of treeless grassland with only a dirt roof over your head? Having to feed your children with whatever wild plants or animals you could find living on the prairie? 
Sweating to plow the sod, plant the seed, cultivate the crop—only to lose it all by a hailstorm right before you harvest it? 
This second book in the Planting Dreams series portrays Swedish immigrant Charlotta Johnson as she and her husband build a farmstead on the Kansas prairie. 
This family faced countless challenges as they homestead on America’s Great Plains during the 1800's. Years of hard work develop the land and improve the quality of life for her family- but not with a price. 
Book 3, Harvesting Faith: Life on the Changing Prairie, 1886-1919. 
Imagine surveying your farmstead on the last day of your life, reviewing the decades of joys, hardships, and changes that have taken place on the eighty acres you have called home for the past fifty years. Would you feel at peace or find remorse at the decisions that took place in your life? 
This third book in the Planting Dreams series portrays Charlotta Johnson as she recalls the events that shaped her family’s destiny. A mixture of fact and fiction, based on the author’s family, this book reviews the events that shaped this Swedish immigrants family as her children reached adulthood and had families of their own. 
Join Charlotta as she reminisces about the important places and events in her past as she bids farewell to her mortal life on the Kansas prairie.

Who read this book also read:

  • Ariosto - cover

    Ariosto

    Chelsea Quinn Yarbro

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In an alternate-world Italian Renaissance where the Italian states have formed a federation, the great epic poet Ludovico Ariosto is writing a fantasy adventure set in the New World that reflects the difficulties besetting his patron, Damiano de’ Medici. While the Cerrochi in Ariosto’s fantasy battle the evil wizard Anatrecacciatore with the help of a heroic version of Ariosto himself, politics and skullduggery plague the Florence-based court of Italia Federata, in which Ariosto becomes enmeshed when he chooses to support the Medicis against those seeking to fracture the Italian union.
    Show book
  • Valley of the Kings - cover

    Valley of the Kings

    Cecelia Holland

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An enthralling fictional account of Howard Carter’s famous search for the tomb of King Tut and the mystery behind the tragic death and disappearance of ancient Egypt’s child ruler In ancient times, a boy king occupied the throne in a troubled desert land. His name was Tutankhamun. Both his reign and his life were shockingly brief, and his burial place was unknown—mysteries that would intrigue the inquisitive for centuries to come.   An English archaeologist irresistibly drawn to Egypt and her secrets, Howard Carter arrives in the Middle East in the second decade of the twentieth century to uncover the hidden final resting place of the tragic child pharaoh. But from the outset his search is plagued by misfortune and obstruction—a corrupt and unbending Egyptian bureaucracy, a British lord and patron more interested in profit than in knowledge, and Carter’s own inability to connect with his fellow human beings. Still, he will not be deterred from his obsessive hunt for the answer to one of the most astonishing puzzles in the history of the world.   In her magnificent novel Valley of the Kings, Cecelia Holland has created two worlds, brilliantly re-creating Egypt in the 1920s and in the time of Tutankhamun. A stunning tale of determination and discovery, brimming with color, mystery, and life, it confirms her standing as one of the true masters of historical fiction.
    Show book
  • Spy Flash - cover

    Spy Flash

    P. A. Duncan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the deserts of Egypt to Parisian markets to the Balkans, take these brief glimpses into two covert operatives' lives--the personal and the professional. 
    Maitland "Mai" Fisher is a spy because her parents died as spies. She has a legacy to fulfill, and she intends to do that my maintaining her principles. What may conflict with that is she believes in obtaining justice by any means 
    Alexei N. Bukharin defected from the Soviet Union because the Communist system caused the death of his first wife. He is, however, a member of an internal cabal whose aim is to bring down the Soviet Union from the inside and with the help of the United Nations Intelligence Directorate. 
    They makean unsual partnership and an unlikely couple.
    Show book
  • My Man Jeeves - cover

    My Man Jeeves

    P. G. Wodehouse

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    My Man Jeeves is a collection of short stories by P. G. Wodehouse. Of the eight stories in the collection, half feature the popular characters Jeeves and Bertie Wooster, while the others concern Reggie Pepper, an early prototype for Wooster.
    
    Although the book was not published in the United States, all the stories had appeared there, mostly in The Saturday Evening Post or Collier's Weekly, and in the Strand in the UK, prior to the publication of the UK book.
    
    Several appeared later in rewritten form in Carry on, Jeeves (1925), such as "Helping Freddie", which in its later incarnation was called "Fixing It for Freddie" and featured Jeeves and Wooster. The other Reggie Pepper stories were included in the U.S. version of The Man with Two Left Feet (1917).
    
    Jeeves and Wooster had first appeared in the short story "Extricating Young Gussie", which appeared in the Saturday Evening Post in 1915, and was included in The Man with Two Left Feet.
    Show book
  • She Rises - A Novel - cover

    She Rises - A Novel

    Kate Worsley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It is 1740 and Louise Fletcher, a young dairymaid on an Essex farm, has been warned of the lure of the sea for as long as she can remember-after all, it stole away her father and brother. But when she is offered work in the bustling naval port of Harwich serving a wealthy captain's daughter, she leaps at the chance to see more of the world. There she meets Rebecca, her haughty yet magnetic mistress. 
     
    Intertwined with Louise's story is that of fifteen-year-old Luke, who is beaten and press-ganged, sent to sea against his will on the warship Essex in the service of His Majesty's Navy. He must learn fast and choose his friends well if he is to survive the brutal hardships of a sailor's life and its many dangers, both up high in the rigging and in the dark belowdecks.  
     
    She Rises brings to vivid life both land and sea in Georgian England, but explores a thoroughly modern and complex love story. Bold, brilliant, and utterly original, this debut novel is an accomplished and gripping search for identity and survival.
    Show book
  • The Miniaturist - A Novel - cover

    The Miniaturist - A Novel

    Jessie Burton

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. 
    ”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“ 
    On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. 
    But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . . 
    Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? 
    Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.
    Show book