Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Tying the Knot - Kansas Quilter #1 - cover

Tying the Knot - Kansas Quilter #1

Linda K. Hubalek

Publisher: Butterfield Books Inc.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Tying the Knot, the first historical fiction book in the Kansas Quilter series follows Kizzie Pieratt as she receives trunks and quilts from her relatives to use on her family’s wagon trip from Kansas to the Indian Territory. Each chapter is like a short story, where Kizzie learns about the significant moves previous generations have made for their families, just like she is about to do next.  
This book series shares the stories and photos of Linda Hubalek’s pioneer ancestors that homesteaded in Kansas in the 1800s. The Kansas Quilter series continues the family stories written in Hubalek’s Trail of Thread series.  
A bonus section tells the "Story behind the story" of the Kansas Quilter series and features photos of some of the quilts that the Pieratt family made.

Who read this book also read:

  • HENRY - A Polish Swimmer's True Story of Friendship from Auschwitz to America - cover

    HENRY - A Polish Swimmer's True...

    Katrina Shawver

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    When Katrina Shawver met the eighty-five year old Henry Zguda, he possessed an exceptional memory, a surprising cache of original documents and photos, and a knack for meeting the right people at the right time. Couched in the interview style of Tuesdays with Morrie, Henry relates in his own voice a life as a champion swimmer, interrupted by three years imprisoned in Auschwitz and Buchenwald as a Polish political prisoner. With a pragmatic gallows humor, and sense of hope, he showed the author how to truly live for today, preferably with a shot of good Polish vodka. Henry’s path of resiliency and power of connection are as relevant today, as they were in World War II. 
    Henry reminds us that no single class of people was safe from Hitler's reach or imprisonment, and no country suffered more under Hitler and Stalin than Poland. This bridge to history and view of the Holocaust through Polish eyes is supported by extensive research, and features more than 70 original photos and rare German documents. Ultimately, Henry is the story a strong young man, who survives by his wits, humor, friends, and a healthy dose of luck. This book is for the discerning adult looking for an intelligent read that examines World War II, the Holocaust, and the true meaning of friendship then and now.  
    Show book
  • The Happiness Project (Revised Edition) - Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning Clean My Closets Fight Right Read Aristotle and Generally Have More Fun - cover

    The Happiness Project (Revised...

    Gretchen Rubin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible  
    Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.
    Show book
  • Broken Like Everybody Else - A Memoir of Trauma and Redemption - cover

    Broken Like Everybody Else - A...

    Jose Del Cueto

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An abused child of Cuban refugees, a drug-dealing teenager, an addict, and an entrepreneur. Jose Del Cueto emerged from the depths of adversity and now struggles with trauma-induced learning disabilities. His journey has taught him the humility, mindfulness, and compassion it takes to be the loving family man he is today.
     
    "Medical research on trauma-induced ADHD predicts a poor outcome in adult life, yet Joe’s story is of hope for  millions of people who endured childhood trauma and the learning disabilities or substance abuse derived therefrom.” — Michael J. Marchese, M.D.
    
     
    “When you sense that something is wrong with you but don’t know what it is, an answer can really help you lead a better life by putting things in perspective. I am grateful to have found my answer.” —Joe Del Cueto
    Show book
  • Bloomberg - A Billionaire's Ambition - cover

    Bloomberg - A Billionaire's...

    Chris McNickle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In these politically divisive times, Bloomberg represents a truly bipartisan figure, admired and respected by both Republicans and Democrats.Author is Treasurer of the American Historical Association, with personal contacts among the nation's foremost historians.McNickle has appeared on NBC, ABC, CNN, and other television news programs, and been interviewed by Leonard Lopate and others for WNYC radio. His opinion pieces have appeared in the Daily News, and he has also appeared on CNN, MSNBC, and Bloomberg News in his professional capacity in the financial services industry.Book features interviews with more than fifty of Bloomberg's top deputies, poltical opponents, and urban policy experts--they and their colleagues will be interested in the final book.
    Show book
  • Peanut Butter and Naan - Stories of an American Mom in the Far East - cover

    Peanut Butter and Naan - Stories...

    Jennifer Hillman-Magnuson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fly-by-the-seat-of-her-pants mom Jennifer Magnuson knew her spoiled suburban brood needed a wake-up call—she just couldn’t find the time to fit one in. But when her husband was offered a position in India, she saw it for what it was: the perfect opportunity for her family to unplug from their over-scheduled and pampered lives in Nashville and gain some much-needed perspective. What she didn’t realize was how much their time in India would transform her as well.
    
    A combination of Eat, Pray, Love and Modern Family, with a dash of Chelsea Handler thrown in for good measure, Peanut Butter and Naan is Magnuson’s hilarious look at the chaos of parenting against a backdrop of malaria, extreme poverty, and no conveniences of any kind—and her story of rediscovering herself and revitalizing her connection with those she loves the most. In India, after years of parenting under a cloud of anxiety, Magnuson found a renewed sense of adventure and fearlessness (a discovery that was totally worth the many months of hiding anti-malarial medication in her kids’ morning oatmeal), and started to become the mother she’d always hoped to be. Hers is a story about motherhood that will not only make you laugh and nod with recognition—it will inspire you to fall in love with your own family all over again.
    Show book
  • Nelson - the New Letters - cover

    Nelson - the New Letters

    Colin White

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Nelson - The New Letters, edited by Colin White, presents around 500 of the most important letters uncovered during the course of the epic Nelson Letters Project, a five year search of archivesthroughout the world.   Dating from 1777 and including the earliest extant Nelson letter, this collection shows us both Nelson the officer and Nelson the private man, and, uniquely among the plethora of new Nelson books, it records his life and exploits in his own words.    Written in Nelson's free-flowing and conversational style, these letters introduce a very real and human figurebringing us much closer to an otherwise distant historical hero. Colin White's accompanying annotations and essays place Nelson's life and letters in full context.   So alongside letters to theDuke of Clarence (later King William IV), Prime Minister Addington, and dignitaries like the King and Queen of Naples, covering treaty negotiations, battle orders and campaign plans, we can also readwarm missives to family and friends, informal notes and instructions to colleagues and subordinates and some eloquently passionate letters to Emma Hamilton.    Other highlights include Nelson'saccount of the Battle of Copenhagen; detailed orders for the Trafalgar and Nile campaigns; notes of his careful diplomatic negotiations; his network of personal contacts; and his concern with his public image.  In the Maritime Foundation's 2005 Media Awards, Nelson - The New Letters was short-listed for the Mountbatten Maritime Prize, and Dr White was short-listed for the Desmond Wettern Maritime Media Award. Dr COLIN WHITE was Director of the Royal Naval Museum. In an extraordinarily busy 2005 he was also Director of Trafalgar 200, guest curator of the acclaimed Nelson and Napoleon exhibition at the National Maritime Museum, chaired the Official Nelson Commemorations Committee, and gave dozens of talks on Nelson throughout the country and North America. He was also the author of The Nelson Encyclopaedia The Nelson Companion, and 1797: Nelson's Year of Destiny.
    Show book