Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Macbeth (NHB Classic Plays) - (Donmar Warehouse edition) - cover

Macbeth (NHB Classic Plays) - (Donmar Warehouse edition)

William Shakespeare

Publisher: Nick Hern Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The spellbinding story of love and murder, power and paranoia, and the internal struggles of a married couple as they try to control their destiny, and one another…
This official tie-in edition to the Donmar Warehouse's hotly anticipated 2023 revival of Shakespeare's extraordinary psychological drama features rich and revealing behind-the-scenes material exploring how the production was conceived and developed.
Starring David Tennant and Cush Jumbo, and directed by Donmar Associate Director Max Webster, this bracingly fresh version used binaural sound technology to place the audience inside the minds of the Macbeths, asking us: are we are ever really responsible for our actions?
In addition to the version of Shakespeare's text performed, this volume also includes a fascinating rehearsal diary, colour photos, and interviews with its leading cast and creative team: Tennant, Jumbo and Webster, plus designer Rosanna Vize, sound designer Gareth Fry and composer and musical director Alasdair Macrae.
Available since: 12/14/2023.
Print length: 142 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Paul (NHB Modern Plays) - cover

    Paul (NHB Modern Plays)

    Howard Brenton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An irreverent and provocative drama questioning the basis of Christianity, by the author of The Romans in Britain.
    The most famous conversion in history - when Saul became Paul on the road to Damascus - was a trick. It was actually Jesus appearing to him. Jesus did not die on the cross but was rescued and sheltered by his brother James, by Peter and by Peter's wife, Mary Magdalene. But they prefer to keep Paul in the dark because, although he is mistakenly preaching that Christ rose again, at least it keeps him busy and gets the Christian message out there...
    Now imprisoned by Nero, Peter finally tells Paul the truth before they go to their deaths as the first Christian Martyrs.
    'Powerful and thrilling... The beauty, compassion and sense of mystery in Paul's words sends shivers down the spine'- Daily Telegraph
    'An exciting play that explores big issues'- Guardian
    Show book
  • Medea - cover

    Medea

    Euripides

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Medea is an ancient Greek tragedy written by Euripides, based upon the myth of Jason and Medea and first produced in 431 BC. The plot centers on the actions of Medea, a former princess of the "barbarian" kingdom of Colchis, and the wife of Jason; she finds her position in the Greek world threatened as Jason leaves her for a Greek princess of Corinth. Medea takes vengeance on Jason by murdering Jason's new wife as well as her own children, after which she escapes to Athens to start a new life.
    Show book
  • Fifty Shades of Marriage - 50 of the best poems about marriage - cover

    Fifty Shades of Marriage - 50 of...

    Edna St. Vincent Millay, Rainer...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    ‘From this day forward…’ are words intoned in every conventional marriage ceremony as two people interweave their lives with all its plans, its hopes and dreams on a love-strewn path to the future, even eternity.  From here life has its own way of changing, modifying and disrupting the true course of married love for many of us.  In this volume of fifty poems our classic poets delve with storied verse into every facet of this institution.  From the good, the bad and even the ugly, from the Wedding day to the realisation that divorce and separation maybe the better path.  Between these two frontiers other avenues and facets are explored by the pens of many including Shakespeare, Khalil Gibran, Emily Dickinson and the Rossetti’s. 
     
    01 - Fifty Shades of Marriage - An Introduction 
    02 - The Weddiing Morning by Francis Ledwidge 
    03 - Marriage Morning by Alfred Lord Tennyson 
    04 - Epithalamion by James Elroy Flecker 
    05 - Wedding Day by Edith Nesbit 
    06 - Wedding Song by Jehudah Halevi 
    07 - A Bridal Song by John Ford 
    08 - A Bridal Toast by James Madison Bell 
    09 - The Bride by Laurence Hope aka Violet Nicholson 
    10 - The Bride by Rainer Maria Rilke 
    11 - Wedded by Isaac Rosenberg 
    12 - Epithalamion by Gerard Manley Hopkins 
    13 - To One Persuading a Lady to Marriage by Katherine Phillips 
    14 - A Nuptial Verse to Mistress Elizabeth Lee, Now Lady Tracy by Robert Herrick 
    15 - An Extract of the Wife's Will by Charlotte Bronte 
    16 - Let Me Not to the Marriage of True Minds by William Shakespeare 
    17 - To the Ladies by Lady Mary Chudleigh 
    18 - Sonnet to My Wife by Thomas Hood 
    19 - To a Husband by Anne Kingsmill Finch 
    20 - To My Dear and Loving Husband by Anne Bradstreet 
    21 - My Delight and Your Delight by Robert Seymour Bridges 
    22 - Nuptial Sleep by Dante Gabriel Rossetti 
    23 - Invitation to Love by Paul Laurence Dunbar 
    24 - The Definition of Love by Andrew Marvell 
    25 - Fidelity by D H Lawrence 
    26 - Love is Not All (Sonnet XXX) by Edna St Vincent Millay 
    27 - The Bride by Henry Alford 
    28 - Bridal Birth by Dante Gabriel Rossetti 
    29 - On Marriage by Khalil Gibran 
    30 - Song of the Worker's Wife by Alice Gray Jones 
    31 - Song XIX. Since We Your Husband Daily See by Matthew Prior 
    32 - The Married Lover by Coventry Patmore.sfk 
    32 - The Married Lover by Coventry Patmore 
    33 - The Betrothal by Edna St Vincent Millay.sfk 
    33 - The Betrothal by Edna St Vincent Millay 
    34 - Mutual Forebearance. Necessary to the Married State by William Cowper.sfk 
    34 - Mutual Forebearance. Necessary to the Married State by William Cowper 
    35 - Vice Vearsa by Ambrose Bierce.sfk 
    35 - Vice Vearsa by Ambrose Bierce 
    36 - The Owl and the Pussycat by Edward Lear 
    37 - June, a Tale by William Cowper 
    38 - Witch-Wife by Edna St Vincent Millay 
    39 - The Bride by Ambrose Bierce 
    40 - The Farmer's Bride by Charlotte Mew 
    41 - The Bridal Ballad by Edgar Allan Poe 
    42 - The Wife of Flanders by G K Chesterton 
    43 - A Wife in London (December 1899) by Thomas Hardy 
    44 - A Cry from an Indian Wife by Emily Pauline Johnson 
    45 - Wife to Husband by Christina Georgina Rossetti 
    46 - The Golden Wedding of Sterling and Sarah Lanier September the 27th 1868 by Sidney Lanier 
    47 - On His Deceased Wife by John Milton 
    48 - When We Two Parted by Lord Byron.sfk 
    48 - When We Two Parted by Lord Byron 
    49 - We Parted in Silence by Isabella Valancy Crawford 
    50 - Modern Love I by George Meredith 
    51 - Divorce by Anna Wickham
    Show book
  • The Voice Celestial - An Epic Poem by Ernest Holmes and Fenwick Holmes - cover

    The Voice Celestial - An Epic...

    Ernest Holmes, Fenwicke Holmes

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An Epic Poem in the tradition of The Iliad of Homer and John Milton’s Paradise Lost, The Voice Celestial bridges the centuries that have passed since Jesus Christ gave his message to mankind and links that message to our present age. The Wayfarer makes his journey through the world’s great religions to the mysteries of Egypt, and finally to Jesus Christ, being changed in the process, and discovering along the way that we live in a loving universe, where all men and women are masters of their own destinies.
    Show book
  • The Story of Shakespeare's The Two Gentlemen of Verona - cover

    The Story of Shakespeare's The...

    William Shakespeare, Mary Ellen...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Two Gentlemen of Verona is believed to be one of Shakespeare's early comedies and as a result provides us with the first examples of a number of themes and devices that are further explored in many of his plays. These include loyalty, friendship and the nature of love.  Also women dressing up as men is introduced by one of the central characters, Julia, dressing up as the page, Sebastian, to serve her loved one, Proteus, who has betrayed her.  Although fewer characters than most of Shakespeare's other plays, they are interesting ones and Ghizela Rowe in her reading, captures the story of this intriguing play with clarity.
    Show book
  • The Great Poets: Lord Byron - cover

    The Great Poets: Lord Byron

    Lord Byron

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Today Byron is regarded as the ultimate romantic – a rebel, a Casanova and a man of intense, brooding passion. He was the most famous literary man of his time, and his poetry, endlessly witty and often insightful, was immensely popular and hugely influential. From the delicate romanticism of She Walks in Beauty to the evocative reflections of So We’ll Go No More a Roving, Byron’s poems were unrivalled in their power and potency. Lesser-known poems such as Destruction of Sennacherib, a reimagining of the biblical story of Sennacherib, Prometheus, a sardonic poem about the Greek gods, and Darkness, an apocalyptic story of the last man on earth, also included here, reveal Byron to be a poet of great range and variety. ‘Mad, bad and dangerous to know’, Lord Byron was without equal in English literature.
    Show book