Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Talent To Deceive - The Search for the Real Killer of the Lindbergh Baby - cover

A Talent To Deceive - The Search for the Real Killer of the Lindbergh Baby

William Norris

Publisher: CamCat Books

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

The Lindbergh Kidnapping has been a major topic of controversy and fascination for almost 90 years. A Talent to Deceive is a story that attempts to solve a mystery by using investigative journalism. William Norris dives into evidence ignored by previous investigators in search of the truth. Who really committed the crime? What really happened the night of March 1, 1932? What was the motive to kidnap and murder the Lindbergh baby?
 
Follow Norris in this history-meets-mystery tale as he performs a thorough investigation to solve The Case That Will Never Die.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dancing with the Octopus - A Memoir of a Crime - cover

    Dancing with the Octopus - A...

    Debora Harding

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For readers of Educated and The Glass Castle, a harrowing, redemptive and profoundly inspiring memoir of childhood trauma and its long reach into adulthood. 
     
    One Omaha winter day in November 1978, when Debora Harding was just fourteen, she was abducted at knifepoint from a church parking lot. She was thrown into a van, assaulted, held for ransom, and then left to die as an ice storm descended over the city. 
     
    Debora survived. She identified her attacker to the police and then returned to her teenage life in a dysfunctional home where she was expected to simply move on. Denial became the family coping strategy offered by her fun-loving, conflicted father and her cruelly resentful mother. 
     
    It wasn't until decades later - when beset by the symptoms of PTSD- that Debora undertook a radical project: she met her childhood attacker face-to-face in prison and began to reconsider and reimagine his complex story. This was a quest for the truth that would threaten the lie at the heart of her family and with it the sacred bond that once saved her. 
    Dexterously shifting between the past and present, Debora Harding untangles the incident of her kidnapping and escape from unexpected angles, offering a vivid, intimate portrait of one family's disintegration in the 1970s Midwest. 
    Written with dark humor and the pacing of a thriller, Dancing with the Octopus is a literary tour de force and a groundbreaking narrative of reckoning, recovery, and the inexhaustible strength it takes to survive.
    Show book
  • Louisville Murder & Mayhem - Historic Crimes of Derby City - cover

    Louisville Murder & Mayhem -...

    Keven McQueen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Life in Louisville in the years following the Civil War, and through the turn of the century, was as exciting as it was dangerous. The city continued to grow as important urban hub of culture and commerce, connecting the South with the Midwest and Northern states. As Keven McQueen proves in this collection of morbid tales of crime and depravity, life in Louisville certainly had a darker side. Journey back to a time when Louisville's streets were filled with rail cars, its alleys populated by thieves, and its brothels hummed with activity. Whether it's the tale of the marriage of a convicted murderer to a notorious prostitute, or the exploits the criminal duo dubbed Louisville's Bonnie and Clyde, this is a true crime collection that is truly hard to believe.
    Show book
  • Secret Tales of the Arctic Trails - Stories of Crime and Adventure in Canada's Far North - cover

    Secret Tales of the Arctic...

    David Skene-Melvin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "There are strange things done in the midnight sun By the men who moil for gold;The Arctic trails have their secret tales That would make your blood run cold."  
    Robert W. Service, "The Cremation of Sam McGee." The High Arctic has long been a land of romance, a magnet drawing adventurers. From the 60th Parallel to the North Pole across the tundra and the Barren Lands, the Far North has beckoned the brave, the foolhardy, and the curious. The mystery of the Land of the Midnight Sun has fascinated poets and writers, painters and sculptors, no less than scientists and explorers. In this anthology, a spectrum of Canadian writers explore in their imaginations crime and malfeasance and thrilling danger under the flickering Northern Lights. Come mushing down these secret trails with John Ballem, John Buchan, Rose De Shaw, Carol Newhouse, Marjorie Pickthall, James Powell, Peter Sellers, Robert W. Service, and Eric Wright, as they probe the wilderness of human evil in this entertaining melange of short stories old and new. From the paleolithic to high-tech oil drilling, the enduring saga of crime and punishment is told by these talented story-spinners in these tales of detection, mystery, and adventure.
    Show book
  • Most Evil II - Presenting the Follow-Up Investigation and Decryption of the 1970 Zodiac Cipher in which the San Francisco Serial Killer Reveals his True Identity - cover

    Most Evil II - Presenting the...

    Steve Hodel

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Most Evil II is Steve Hodel's follow-up investigation (2009-2015) into his father's potential murders and introduces new evidence and additional linkage obtained by him over the past six years.Included in that evidence, is the solving of the Zodiac’s forty-five year cryptic cipher, which gives us the answer to the question asked in Most Evil, “Were Black Dahlia Avenger and Zodiac the same serial killer?”
    Show book
  • Double Lives - True Tales of the Criminals Next Door - cover

    Double Lives - True Tales of the...

    Eric Brach

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    “Terrifying” true stories of criminals who live seemingly normal lives, perfect for fans of Mindhunter—”these are the stories that keep me up at night” (Sgt. Joseph Kuns, LAPD).   “He seemed so normal” is an all-too common sentiment from the neighbors of violent criminals when their heinous acts are finally exposed. There are often no obvious indicators that separate the pleasant neighbor from the sadistic murderer. Even serial killers like Jeffrey Dahmer, Ted Bundy, and John Wayne Gacy managed to circulate unnoticed among their communities. They are neighbors and students, professionals and friends living out criminal double lives.   In Double Lives, true crime author Eric Brach presents both a nonfiction exposé and a nationwide search that details the exploits of some of the worst criminals in recent American history, all of whom succeeded in going undetected for years while perpetrating one crime after another—all in their own hometowns. Monsters of every race, age, gender, and socioeconomic class are profiled in this roller-coaster of crime.   Along the way, the author discusses the criminals he grew up with in his own seemingly innocent community, and provides a personal look at the current scourge of opioid addiction, making Double Lives a sensational yet sobering read.
    Show book
  • Think No Evil - Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shootingand Beyond - cover

    Think No Evil - Inside the Story...

    Jonas Beiler, Shawn Smucker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On October 2, 2006, Charles Roberts, a local milk-tank truck driver, bound and shot ten young girls in an Amish schoolhouse before committing suicide. Five girls died. Five others were severely injured and left in critical condition. In the aftermath of the massacre, the Amish community shunned the media. But they requested that Amish-raised counselor Jonas Beiler come to the scene to offer his moral and spiritual support. In Think No Evil, Beiler offers his first-person account of the events, as well as of those who were closest to the scene: the surviving children, the volunteer fireman Rob Beiler, the local counseling center director Brad Aldricha, and Vietta Zook, aboard the first ambulance to arrive. Beiler poignantly describes the Amish families' responses to this horrific violence as they reached out to the shocked family members of the killer, offering unconditional forgiveness. The story didn’t end on that horrible day with the deaths of those five little girls. Think No Evil follows the ongoing story of this gentle community having faith in God’s design, of truly demonstrating Christian values, of responding with resilient love in the face of evil, of demolishing the scene of the murders and rebuilding the schoolhouse, and of determining to move forward in living out their faith in peace.
    Show book