Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Will - A Memoir - cover

Will - A Memoir

Will Self

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Unflinching, intoxicating, heartfelt, and propelled by an exceptional energy, Will is the long-awaited memoir by Will Self, whose works have been shortlisted for the Booker Prize and translated into over twenty languages. A portrait of the artist as a young addict, Will is one of the most eloquent and unusual depictions of the allure of hard drugs ever written. 
Will spins the reader from Self’s childhood in a quiet North London suburb to his mind-expanding education at Oxford, to a Burroughsian trip to Morocco, an outback vision in Australia, and, finally, a surreal turn in rehab. Echoing the great Modernist writers of the early twentieth century in its psychedelic stream of consciousness, Will is vividly imagistic and mordantly witty. It is both kunstlerroman and confessional, a tale of excess and degradation, a karmic cycle that leads back to the author’s own lack of . . . will.

Other books that might interest you

  • My Scientology Story - The True Story of an Ex-Scientologist - cover

    My Scientology Story - The True...

    Diana Dudas

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    One of the most commonly asked questions about Scientology is this: how can a person of sound mind believe any of it and fall into this very amateurish-looking trap? Why does it seem so valuable that people sacrifice all their energy, time and money for this system, which seems suspicious even at first glance? And how can such a seemingly primitive scam still exist after almost 70 years?
     
    The initial question is answered by the shocking story of Diana Dudas. 
     
    The book was first published on March 21, 2019 in Hungary and judging from the responses received so far, it rapidly became a readers’ favourite and a source of inspiration to many. In addition to a heart-wrenching story, which is presented in gripping detail, the book also contains a detailed and precise description of the everyday life of a Scientologist. As one reviewer put it: "her radiant, brave and iron-willed personality and her unique storytelling style infuse the entire novel and make it a real page-turner".
     
    The reader will have a better understanding of the whys and wherefores by following her along her path in Scientology.This book is recommended to anyone who would like to better understand the inner workings of this so-called church. Especially those people who want to takea stand against this sophisticated, well-established system that is dripping with malice. There is no great arsenal of effective weapons to fight it, but one of them is knowledge, through gaining a thorough understanding of the monster one faces.
    Show book
  • Nevertheless She Wore It - 50 Iconic Fashion Moments - cover

    Nevertheless She Wore It - 50...

    Ann Shen

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From the creator of the bestselling Bad Girls Throughout History!Celebrated illustrator and author Ann Shen shares her striking study of history's most iconic styles, and the women who changed the world while wearing them.From the revolutionary bikini to the presidential pantsuit, this book explores 50 fashions through bold paintings and insightful anecdotes that empower readers to make their own fashion statements.• Demonstrates the power of fashion as a political and cultural tool for making change• Brilliantly illustrated with Ann's signature art style• Filled with radical clothing choices that defined their timeLooks include the Flapper Dress, the unofficial outfit of women's independence in the 1920s; the Afro, worn as a symbol of black beauty, power, and pride; the Cone Bra, donned by Madonna in her 1989 power anthem "Express Yourself"; and the Dissent Collar, Ruth Bader Ginsburg's famous signifier for when she disagrees with the majority.With stunning and vibrant illustrations, this is a treasure for anyone who wants to defy style norms and rewrite the rules. • An insightful look at the intersection of fashion statements and historical female power• Perfect for fans of Ann Shen, as well as anyone who loves fashion, feminism, and political consciousness• You'll love this book if you love books like Women In Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed The World by Rachel Ignotofsky; Strong Is the New Pretty: A Celebration Of Girls Being Themselves by Kate T. Parker; and Women Who Dared: 52 Stories Of Fearless Daredevils, Adventurers, And Rebels by Linda Skeers.
    Show book
  • Marcus Agrippa - Right-hand Man of Caesar Augustus - cover

    Marcus Agrippa - Right-hand Man...

    Lindsay Powell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The authoritative biography of the ancient Roman general and loyal deputy to Emperor Augustus by the acclaimed historian and author of Augustus at War.   When Gaius Octavius became the first emperor of Rome, Marcus Agrippa was by his side. As the emperor’s loyal deputy, he waged wars, pacified provinces, beautified Rome, and played a crucial role in establishing the Pax Romana—but he always served knowing that he would never rule in his own name. Why he did so, and never grasped power for himself, has perplexed historians for centuries. In this authoritative biography, historian Lindsay Powell offers a penetrating new assessment of Agrippa’s life and achievements.   Following Caesar’s assassination, Agrippa was instrumental in asserting the rights of his friend Gaius Octavius as the dictator’s heir, seeing him crowned Emperor Augustus. Agrippa then established a reputation as a bold admiral, defeating Marcus Antonius and Queen Cleopatra at the Battle of Actium, and ending bloody rebellions in the Cimmerian Bosporus, Gaul, Hispania, and Illyricum.   Agrippa was also an influential statesman and architect. He established the vital road network that turned Julius Caesar’s conquests into viable provinces, overhauled Rome’s drains and aqueducts, and built the original Pantheon. Marrying Augustus’s daughter, Julia the Elder, Agrippa became co-ruler of the Roman Empire until his death in 12 BC. His bloodline lived on in the imperial family, through Agrippina the Elder, his grandson Caligula, and great-grandson Nero.
    Show book
  • Brutus - Caesar's Assassin - cover

    Brutus - Caesar's Assassin

    Kirsty Corrigan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The extraordinary life of the “noblest Roman of them all.”   Although Marcus Junius Brutus is one of the most famous, or infamous, conspirators of Rome and the ancient world, if not of all time, knowledge of this historical figure has principally been passed to the modern world through the literary medium of Shakespeare’s tragedy, Julius Caesar. Furthermore, any interest in Brutus has tended to focus only on events surrounding his most legendary act: Caesar’s murder. This biography instead considers Brutus in his historical context, gathering details from ancient evidence and piecing together, as much as possible, his whole life.   While his actions played a pivotal role in Roman history, ultimately, although completely unintentionally, bringing about the downfall of the Roman republic, Brutus has often been neglected. Indeed, he has rarely been considered on his own merits, instead featuring as part of the biographies and studies of other leading political figures of the time, especially those of Julius Caesar, Cicero, and Octavian. As the first dedicated biography in over thirty years, this full and balanced reconsideration of this significant Roman republican is long overdue.  
    Show book
  • America's First Daughter - A Novel - cover

    America's First Daughter - A Novel

    Stephanie Dray, Laura Kamoie

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    In a compelling, richly researched novel that draws from thousands of letters and original sources, bestselling authors Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie tell the fascinating, untold story of Thomas Jefferson’s eldest daughter, Martha “Patsy” Jefferson Randolph—a woman who kept the secrets of our most enigmatic founding father and shaped an American legacy. 
    From her earliest days, Patsy Jefferson knows that though her father loves his family dearly, his devotion to his country runs deeper still. As Thomas Jefferson’s oldest daughter, she becomes his helpmate, protector, and constant companion in the wake of her mother’s death, traveling with him when he becomes American minister to France. 
    It is in Paris, at the glittering court and among the first tumultuous days of revolution, that fifteen-year-old Patsy learns about her father’s troubling liaison with Sally Hemings, a slave girl her own age. Meanwhile, Patsy has fallen in love—with her father’s protégé William Short, a staunch abolitionist and ambitious diplomat. Torn between love, principles, and the bonds of family, Patsy questions whether she can choose a life as William’s wife and still be a devoted daughter. 
    Her choice will follow her in the years to come, to Virginia farmland, Monticello, and even the White House. And as scandal, tragedy, and poverty threaten her family, Patsy must decide how much she will sacrifice to protect her father's reputation, in the process defining not just his political legacy, but that of the nation he founded.
    Show book
  • Healed and Whole - cover

    Healed and Whole

    Margaret Stunt

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Victim or Victor? Now there's a question. We live in a world where being a victim has sadly become the 'norm'. I understand, as I was a victim for many years. If I had not met a very special Saviour I would still be one. I have learnt to forgive and to release, and you could too.
     
    As you turn these pages, I hope you will find hope and freedom. This is a book for men and women. It has been used in small groups followed by discussions, as well as individually. The print edition has been given to prisons in the UK and South Africa.
    Show book