"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Sincere Huron (French Classics Series) - Pupil of Nature: Religious satire from the French writer historian and philosopher famous for his wit his attacks on the established Catholic Church and his advocacy of freedom of religion - cover

The Sincere Huron (French Classics Series) - Pupil of Nature: Religious satire from the French writer historian and philosopher famous for his wit his attacks on the established Catholic Church and his advocacy of freedom of religion

Voltaire Voltaire

Translator William F. Fleming

Publisher: e-artnow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This carefully crafted ebook: "The Sincere Huron (French Classics Series)" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents.
The Huron, or originally called L'Ingénu is a satirical novel and it tells the story of a Huron called "Child of Nature" who, after having crossed the Atlantic to England, crosses into Brittany, France in the 1690s. Upon arrival, a prior notices depictions of his brother and sister-in-law, whom they deduce to be the Huron's parents - making him French. Having grown up outside of European culture, he sees the world in a more 'natural' way, causing him to interpret things directly, unaware of what is customary, leading to comic misinterpretations. After reading the Bible, he feels he should be circumcised and calls upon a surgeon to perform the operation (which is stopped through the intervention of his 'family'). After his first confession, he tries to force the priest to confess as well - interpreting a biblical verse to mean confessions must be made mutually and not exempting the clergy. Not expecting to be baptized in a church, they find the Child of Nature waiting in a stream, as baptisms are depicted in the Bible. The story satirizes religious doctrine, government corruption, and the folly and injustices of French society.
François-Marie Arouet (1694-1778), known by his nom de plume Voltaire, was a French Enlightenment writer, historian, and philosopher famous for his wit, his attacks on the established Catholic Church, and his advocacy of freedom of religion, freedom of expression, and separation of church and state. As a satirical polemicist, he frequently made use of his works to criticize intolerance, religious dogma, and the French institutions of his day.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2020 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 4
    • 41
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • I Am A Cat - cover

    I Am A Cat

    Aiko Ito, Natsume Soseki

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    "A nonchalant string of anecdotes and wisecracks, told by a fellow who doesn't have a name, and has never caught a mouse, and isn't much good for anything except watching human beings in action…" —The New Yorker Written over the course of 1904-1906, Soseki Natsume's comic masterpiece, I Am a Cat, satirizes the foolishness of upper-middle-class Japanese society during the Meiji era. With acerbic wit and sardonic perspective, it follows the whimsical adventures of a world-weary stray kitten who comments on the follies and foibles of the people around him. A classic of Japanese literature, I Am a Cat is one of Soseki's best-known novels. Considered by many as the greatest writer in modern Japanese history, Soseki's I Am a Cat is a classic novel sure to be enjoyed for years to come.
    Show book