Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
In Times Gone By (Golden Gate Secrets Book #3) - cover

In Times Gone By (Golden Gate Secrets Book #3)

Tracie Peterson

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

  • 1
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

After getting left at the altar, Kenzie Gifford flees to San Francisco to start her life over, determined never to love again. She's made new friends and has a good job in the office of her cousin's chocolate factory. The only thorn in her side is Dr. Micah Fisher, who insists on pursuing her despite her constant rejection.Then the Great 1906 Earthquake strikes the city, and everything changes. The devastation all around her makes Kenzie reevaluate her outlook on life--and possibly even her feelings for Micah. But then her world is rocked again when her ex-fiancé appears, full of apologies and determined to win her back. But Arthur already broke her heart once. Does she dare trust him again? The sudden arrival of a hidden danger will expose the motivations of all involved, but it could cost Kenzie her life--as well as her heart.
Available since: 09/04/2018.

Other books that might interest you

  • Legend of the Dreamer - cover

    Legend of the Dreamer

    David G. Rasmussen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Legend of the Dreamer is book number two of: The Wyakin Trilogy.  The book continues to follow the life and adventures of Cortez Modrables from his adoption by a band of Nez Perce Native Americans trough his maturing years as becoming a "healer/shaman."Through these growing experiences, Cortez continues to be guided and protected by his great grizzly wyakin: Modrables, El Oso.
    Show book
  • The Diplomat's Daughter - A Novel - cover

    The Diplomat's Daughter - A Novel

    Karin Tanabe

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the “thought-provoking” (Library Journal, starred review) and “must-read” (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another.During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas internment camp. She feels hopeless until she meets handsome young Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that love can bloom in even the bleakest circumstances.When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the United States Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front—and, he hopes, a reunion with Emi—unaware that her first love, Leo Hartmann, the son of wealthy of Austrian parents and now a Jewish refugee in Shanghai, may still have her heart.Fearful of bombings in Tokyo, Emi’s parents send her to a remote resort town in the mountains, where many in the foreign community have fled. Cut off from her family, struggling with growing depression and hunger, Emi repeatedly risks her life to help keep her community safe—all while wondering if the two men she loves are still alive.As Christian Lange struggles to adapt to life as a soldier, his unit pushes its way from the South Pacific to Okinawa, where one of the bloodiest battles of World War II awaits them. Meanwhile, in Japanese-occupied Shanghai, as Leo fights to survive the squalor of the Jewish ghetto, a surprise confrontation with a Nazi officer threatens his life. For each man, Emi Kato is never far from their minds.Flung together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people will collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her “elegant and extremely gratifying” (USA TODAY) storytelling, Karin Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history.
    Show book
  • Marius' Mules I: The Invasion of Gaul - Marius' Mules Book 1 - cover

    Marius' Mules I: The Invasion of...

    S.J.A. Turney

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It is 58 BC and the mighty Tenth Legion, camped in Northern Italy, prepare for the arrival of the most notorious general in Roman history: Julius Caesar. Marcus Falerius Fronto, commander of the Tenth is a career soldier and long-time companion of Caesar's. Despite his desire for the simplicity of the military life, he cannot help but be drawn into intrigue and politics as Caesar engineers a motive to invade the lands of Gaul. Fronto is about to discover that politics can be as dangerous as battle, that old enemies can be trusted more than new friends, and that standing close to such a shining figure as Caesar, even the most ethical of men risk being burned.
    Show book
  • Top 10 Short Stories The - The 1920's - The English - The top ten short stories written in the 1920s by authors from England - cover

    Top 10 Short Stories The - The...

    Virginia Woolf, D H Lawrence, A...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Short stories have always been a sort of instant access into an author’s brain, their soul and heart.  A few pages can lift our lives into locations, people and experiences with a sweep of landscape, narration, feelings and emotions that is difficult to achieve elsewhere. 
     
    In this series we try to offer up tried and trusted ‘Top Tens’ across many different themes and authors. But any anthology will immediately throw up the questions – Why that story? Why that author?  
     
    The theme itself will form the boundaries for our stories which range from well-known classics, newly told, to stories that modern times have overlooked but perfectly exemplify the theme.  Throughout the volume our authors whether of instant recognition or new to you are all leviathans of literature. 
     
    Some you may disagree with but they will get you thinking; about our choices and about those you would have made.  If this volume takes you on a path to discover more of these miniature masterpieces then we have all gained something. 
     
    In this volume the decade reveals some who are doing very well and the many who are not; underfoot, underpaid and under-represented.   
     
    Our writers of many hues and telling talents bring both their stories and their characters to bear on the decade between the two world wars with searing clarity. 
     
    01 - The Top 10 - The 1920's - The English - An Introduction 
    02 - The String Quartet by Virginia Woolf 
    03 - The Horse Dealer's Daughter by D H Lawrence 
    04 - Rats by M R James 
    05 - The Resurrection of Father Brown by G K Chesterton 
    06 - Miss Ogilivy Finds Herself by Radclyffe Hall 
    07 - Running Wolf by Algernon Blackwood 
    08 - Mrs Amworth by E F Benson 
    09 - Smee by A M Burrage 
    10 - Young Magic by Helen Simpson 
    11 - Decay by Marjorie Bowen
    Show book
  • Bride Of Lammermoor - Extended Annotated & Illustrated Edition - cover

    Bride Of Lammermoor - Extended...

    Walter Scott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This is the fully illustrated and extended annotated edition including a rare and extensive biographical essay on the author, his life and works plus a wealth of illustrations.
    
    Although the period of this tragedy of Lammermoor is placed within the reign of William and Mary, the story (unlike most of the others) has little historical connection. It tells, instead, of the feud of two Scotch families, which—as in "Romeo and Juliet''—brings woe to two lovers who have dared plight their troth despite the ancestral hatred. Scott states that it is based closely upon fact.
    
    Edgar of Ravenswood is the last of a noble house which has formerly been rich and powerful; but his father, having been involved in the Jacobite cause, is ousted from the family estates by Sir William Ashton. After the old lord's death, nothing remains to Edgar save the dilapidated Tower of Wolf's Crag, and the fidelity of two ancient servants Mysie and Caleb. Shortly after his father's funeral, the young man rescues Sir William and his daughter Lucy from the charge of an infuriated bull, and thus wins the respect of his ancient enemy and a warmer interest on the part of the maiden ...
    Show book
  • The Scandalous Summer of Sissy LeBlanc - A Novel - cover

    The Scandalous Summer of Sissy...

    Loraine Despres

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It's a steamy June afternoon in Louisiana, circa 1956, and Sissy LeBlanc is sitting on her front porch, wondering -- half seriously -- if she could kill herself with aspirins and Coca-Cola. She's been living in stifling old Gentry since the day she was born and trapped in a sham of a marriage to PeeWee LeBlanc since she was only seventeen. In short, she's fed up, restless, and ready for an adventure. Sissy just never imagined temptation would come into her life that breathless summer day as she sat smoking on her porch swing. For although she may have been fixated on the taut muscles of the lineman shimmying down the telephone pole across the street, she hadn't allowed herself to imagine that he'd be none other than her high school sweetheart, Parker Davidson, who left town fourteen years before without so much as a wave good-bye. But suddenly, here he is, leaning in for a kiss that will stir up more excitement than Sissy could ever have imagined...
    Show book