Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Creative and Successful Set Designs - How to Make Imaginative Sets with Limited Resources - cover

Creative and Successful Set Designs - How to Make Imaginative Sets with Limited Resources

Todd Muffatti

Publisher: Atlantic Publishing Group, Inc.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Filled with dozens of photos, illustrations, and technical diagrams, Todd Muffatti’s Creative and Successful High School Set Design guides theatre teachers through the preparation and design steps necessary to build an appropriate and effective stage set. Using his 40-year career as a professional set designer and university professor, Muffatti shares tips from his creative process and offers practical ideas about how to approach and accomplish imaginative set designs for high school theatre. Creative and Successful High School Set Design discusses the spatial relationship of the auditorium and stage, the factors to be considered when choosing a script, and the research necessary to arrive at a proper visual metaphor for a production. 
 
Muffatti covers many design style options and creative approaches that don’t require extensive building expertise, large amounts of time, or great expense. He shows how a small stock of basic scenery can be used to creatively serve multiple set designs with minimal additions. Muffatti outlines the skills involved in the design process — from sketching and drafting, to set dressing and model building — and provides illustrations to offer further guidance.
 
Creative and Successful High School Set Design instills in high school drama teachers the imaginative, practical, and safe set designing habits that will help lift their students’ dramatic performances to their highest levels of achievement.

Other books that might interest you

  • Wild Rescuers: Guardians of the Taiga - cover

    Wild Rescuers: Guardians of the...

    StacyPlays

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times bestseller! 
    From StacyPlays, creator of the mega-popular YouTube series Dogcraft, comes a thrilling illustrated novel about a girl raised by a pack of wolves and her quest to protect their shared forest home. The first in a new Minecraft-inspired fantasy adventure series!  
    Stacy was raised by wolves. She’s never needed humans to survive and, from what she sees of humans, they’re dangerous and unpredictable. For as long as she can remember, Stacy’s pack of six powerful, playful wolves—Addison, Basil, Everest, Noah, Tucker and Wink—have been her only family.    
    Together, Stacy’s pack patrols the forest to keep other animals safe, relying on her wits and each wolf’s unique abilities to accomplish risky rescue missions. But as the forest changes and new dangers begin lurking, are Stacy and the wolves prepared for the perils that await them? 
    Fans of DanTDM: Trayaurus and the Enchanted Crystal and the Warriors series—plus shows like Ranger Bob—will love this Minecraft-inspired adventure.
    Show book
  • Tuesdays at the Castle - cover

    Tuesdays at the Castle

    Jessica Day George

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    See  where it all began with the start to Jessica Day George's bestselling  series about a castle that can rebuild itself and the children who  defend it. 
     
    Tuesdays at Castle Glower are Princess Celie's  favorite days. That's because on Tuesdays the Castle adds a new room, a  turret, or sometimes  even an entire wing. No one ever knows what the  Castle will do next,  and no one-other than Celie, that is-takes the  time to map out the new additions.  
     
    But when King and Queen  Glower are ambushed and their fate  is unknown, it's up to Celie, with  her secret knowledge of the castle's never-ending twists and turns, to  protect their home and save their  kingdom. 
     
    Don't miss these other stories from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George: 
     
    The Rose Legacy series 
    The Rose Legacy 
     
    Tuesdays at the Castle series 
    Tuesdays at the Castle 
    Wednesdays in the Tower 
    Thursdays with the Crown 
    Fridays with the Wizards 
    Saturdays at Sea 
     
    Dragon Slippers series 
    Dragon Slippers 
    Dragon Flight 
    Dragon Spear 
     
    The Twelve Dancing Princesses series 
    Princess of the Midnight Ball 
    Princess of Glass 
    Princess of the Silver Woods 
     
    Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow 
     
    Silver in the Blood
    Show book
  • The Queen's Secret - cover

    The Queen's Secret

    Jessica Day George

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Bestselling author Jessica Day George continues her heartfelt fantasy series about a girl who can communicate with horses and a kingdom on the brink of collapse.   
     
    Anthea knows the truth about horses. They're not carriers of deadly disease like everyone in their kingdom thinks; they're majestic creatures who share their thoughts and feelings with her through The Way. Anthea has convinced the king of this, but at a cost--he demands that horses and riders with The Way do his bidding.  
      
     But when a deadly plague breaks out, the people believe that horses are the cause. As more fall ill, it's up to Anthea and her friends to transport medicine, all while keeping out of reach from Anthea's wicked mother. And when Anthea discovers a secret that could change the kingdom forever, she must risk everything to reveal the truth before it's too late. 
     
    Continuing the sweeping storytelling of The Rose Legacy, bestselling author Jessica Day George delights readers--especially horse lovers--once again.
    Show book
  • The Selection - cover

    The Selection

    Kiera Cass

    • 27
    • 209
    • 0
    Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. 
    This ebook edition contains an excerpt of Kiera Cass's newest novel, The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike! 
     
    Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want. 
    Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. 
    Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Survivors: The Gathering Darkness #1: A Pack Divided - cover

    Survivors: The Gathering...

    Erin Hunter

    • 2
    • 37
    • 0
    The first book in an epic new series about the Survivors dogs! From Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors, Survivors is full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) that will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    For the first time Storm can remember, she has a place in a Pack, and the world that was devastated by the Big Growl is finally at peace. But tensions are rising among the dogs of the Wild Pack—and the greatest danger they face may come from within.
    Show book
  • Soul Riders - The Legend Awakens - cover

    Soul Riders - The Legend Awakens

    Helena Dahlgren, Star Stable...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Step into the second installment of the massively popular online Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game (MMORPG) Star Stable, and follow four friends who discover their magic powers and learn that every girl can be a hero in this fantasy trilogy. The Soul Riders series tells the heroic tale of four young girls who have been chosen by destiny to save the world from the ancient demon: Garnok and his band of dangerous Dark Riders.Having split up on their own individual missions at the end of book 1, the Soul Riders are now in increasing danger. In a desperate act, Anne manages to save her friends by using her newfound magical abilities. Together again, the Soul Riders feel their powers intensify as they work in unison for the first time. The legend awakens as they start their training with the druids and learn who they are and what it means to be a Soul Rider.To truly master their powers they must obtain a book that is kept by the witch Pi who was once an ally to the druids, but now has turned on them. When they return to the druids, they learn that a magical rift has been opened up threatening to destroy Winter Valley and the thousands who live there. Linda has visions of the dark and terrible fate that awaits if the Dark Riders succeed. But worst of all, they realize that they are the ones who caused the rift and have no choice but to ride out together to try and neutralize the threat . . . The Legend Awakens is the second installment in the epic, fantasy trilogy, Soul Riders, about magic, friendship, and horses bound to thrill all young equestrian fans. 
    Show book