Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Dragon and Thief - cover

Dragon and Thief

Timothy Zahn

Publisher: Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy

  • 0
  • 7
  • 0

Summary

The first novel in the Dragonback series is “a romp of a space thriller” (Booklist) from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Star Wars: Thrawn.   Jack Morgan is dealing with more trouble than any young man deserves. Raised to be a professional thief and con artist by his late uncle Virgil, he’s survived on his uncle’s spaceship with the help of an AI program. But when he’s accused of a crime he actually didn’t commit, Jack is forced to flee to a remote, uninhabited planet where he can stay off the radar for a while.   His solitude is soon interrupted when a ship crashes on Jack’s hideout after a terrible space battle. There’s only one survivor: a warrior called Draycos, whose reptilian race is being targeted for extinction.   The good news is that if Jack helps Draycos, the odd creature might be able to help clear Jack’s name. The not-so-good news is that to survive, Draycos must bond—physically and mentally—with a sentient being to use as his “host.”   And it looks like Jack is the only sentient being around . . .

Other books that might interest you

  • Pregnant with Ideas - Short Story Collections - cover

    Pregnant with Ideas - Short...

    Harvey Stanbrough

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    These tales range from the merely odd to the fantastic, from the tragic to the magical. In one story you'll accompany a Cajun on a single-minded mission into the backwoods of Louisiana on a deep, humid night. In another, you'll witness the life or death struggle between a fifteen year old boy and the mean drunk who's been his oppressor for years. There's also a story about writing and the writer stalking his mentor; a job that very few could do but for which many would apply (wanna be a Mind Cleaner?); and a child's tale of a favorite pasttime: crushing bugs. Eric also offers up the ground rules for getting by when your shadow is doing odd things, writes of the passion between Giacomo Casanova and the one woman he has loved down through the ages, and wonders aloud what might happen if the characters in a story grew tired of a hack writer and banded together against him. Finally he takes the reader on a hectic road trip in "Interference," and ends with "A Natural Study of the Scream." All in all, this collection provides a very satisfying, if extremely unusual, reading experience. The reader will remember these stories.
    Show book
  • The Wingman Adventures Volume One - Wingman The Circle War and The Lucifer Crusade - cover

    The Wingman Adventures Volume...

    Mack Maloney

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first three books in the bestselling military adventure series by “the best high-action thriller writer out there today, bar none” (Jon Land).  With nearly a quarter of a million copies sold, this high-octane series features Hawk Hunter, a fearless fighter pilot who saves the not-so-distant future United States from the brink of all-out anarchy.  Wingman: World War III started in Western Europe with a Soviet nerve gas attack that laid waste to France, Germany, and Spain. The world’s democracies fought back against the Russians but could not save America from a devastating nuclear strike. Two years after Soviet nukes rained from the sky, US Air Force pilot Hawk Hunter gets a message to report to his old commander. America is in pieces: Pirates rule the skies and an airborne armada is plotting to attack Football City (formerly St. Louis). The armada is made up of criminals flying state-of-the-art jets, and Hunter will do whatever it takes to reclaim his ravaged homeland.  The Circle War: One of the most decorated pilots of the old US Air Force, Hawk Hunter now flies for the Pacific American Air Corps, a group of sky jockeys who are ready to fight to save what’s left of America after a nuclear sneak attack shattered the nation into a collection of warring states dominated by criminals, fascists, and pirates. Flying his U-2 over the frozen tundra late one night, Hunter detects a full-scale Soviet invasion force of fifty jet fighters. World War IV is about to begin.  The Lucifer Crusade: After expelling a Russian invasion force, Hawk Hunter sets out in pursuit of Viktor Robotov, the sinister terrorist behind the attack. In a world where it’s a crime to wave stars and stripes, Hunter paints his F-16 red, white, and blue, and tears up the sky in search of revenge. There are hundreds of killers on his tail, but Hunter has only one target—and he never misses.
    Show book
  • The Blue Lotus Society - Guardians of the Time Stream #1 - cover

    The Blue Lotus Society -...

    Michelle L. Levigne

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A traveling exhibit of Egyptian artifacts is threatened by thieves. Pinkerton agents, including Ess Fremont, are assigned to protection duty. The thefts of artifacts around the world makes this a priority mission, not just for the sake of antiquity but for diplomatic reasons. 
    A midnight vigil in the Smithsonian Institution's warehouse brings Ess face-to-face with the reason behind the thefts -- and the two groups seeking what is hidden within the artifacts. 
    Encountering her missing grandparents' allies, Ess has a chance to reclaim her heritage. The question is if she wants to. Athena Latymer and the members of the Blue Lotus Society aren't being honest with her. How can she join a battle affecting the entire world when she doesn't understand the reasons for the war? There is more to the Blue Lotus Society than protecting Egyptian history and culture. 
    As the exhibition crosses the country, Ess approaches the tipping point, when her decision could be made for her. Who can she trust? Who is lying to her and using her? Even for the chance to be reunited with her brother, Uly, she isn't quite ready to commit herself to an organization full of secrets. 
    Then the enemy strikes far too close, and she discovers that making the right choice can't always wait until all her questions are answered.
    Show book
  • Rhapsody in Red - Shades of Crimson #1 - cover

    Rhapsody in Red - Shades of...

    Mila Waters

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Calix Mabry had everything a vampire could ever want. A mate, eternal life, and enough money to sustain them for the rest of their lives. But when his beloved is taken from him, he vows to bring her back at any cost. 
    Enter Vivienne Peltier. Long legs. Deep red hair. She is everything his Sofia wasn't. He is drawn to her like a moth to a flame. 
    Torn between his desire to bring Sofia back and his lust for Vivienne, Calix makes a decision that could potentially tear everything and everyone he knows apart. 
    True love always wins in the end. But at what cost?
    Show book
  • Shadow Burns - Preternatural Affairs #4 - cover

    Shadow Burns - Preternatural...

    SM Reine

    • 1
    • 17
    • 0
    When more than a dozen people die at a retirement home, the official story is carbon monoxide poisoning. Cèsar Hawke is convinced the reason is less mundane and more infernal. But that’s his job. As an agent working for the Office of Preternatural Affairs, he’s always looking for supernatural answers to deadly questions.
    
     
    Isobel Stonecrow agrees to help him find the truth. With her powers of necrocognition, she can speak to the dead and get the real story.
    
     
    But when they return to the crime scene, they find a lot more than cadavers. They find a nightmare that they can’t escape—a nightmare from Isobel’s past, which even she can’t completely remember thanks to the contract that signed away her soul.
    
     
    Cèsar will have to disinter Isobel’s secrets to save her. He’ll learn who Isobel used to be, what she’s done, and the price she paid…no matter how deadly the knowledge might be.
    Show book
  • To Kill A Siren - Monster Hunter Tales - cover

    To Kill A Siren - Monster Hunter...

    Shannon McRoberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A love worth fighting for!  
     
    Lexi River had only one job--keep Gareth Blaze out of trouble and on time for his appointments. For the most part, Lexi was able to keep Gareth's nose clean and his name out of the tabloids. Usually any mischief he found himself in was easily taken care of with a few phone calls; until Gareth fell head over heels for a mysterious girl named Genevieve. 
     
    Genevieve was otherworldly and elegant. Lexi hated her from day one. There was something not quite right about her, but Lexi could never figure out what bothered her about Genevieve. Everyone chalked it up to jealousy, until Lexi's worse fears about Genevieve were realized when she causes Gareth to lose his fortune in a business deal gone bad. 
     
    Penniless, both Gareth and Lexi are forced to return to their childhood hometown in Kentucky. It was a place neither one of them wanted to see again, but Lexi was determined to make the best of the situation. Things were finally looking up for the pair. That is until Gareth fell violently ill and Lexi was charged with his attempted murder.  
    Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Patricia Briggs will not want to miss this new series. Scroll up and purchase your copy today!
    Show book