Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Throwim Way Leg - Tree-Kangaroos Possums and Penis Gourds: On the Track of Unknown Mammals in Wildest New Guinea - cover

Throwim Way Leg - Tree-Kangaroos Possums and Penis Gourds: On the Track of Unknown Mammals in Wildest New Guinea

Tim Flannery

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From the bestselling author of The Weather Makers: “An enthralling introduction to the mountain people of New Guinea . . . and to their magnificent land” (The New York Times Book Review).   A world expert on the fauna of New Guinea with twenty new species and over seven books to his credit, Tim Flannery takes us into the field and on an unforgettable journey into the heart of this mysterious and uncharted country.   Flannery’s scientific voyage leads him to places he never dreamed of: he camps among cannibals and befriends Femsep, a legendary warrior who led the slaughter of colonial whites decades before. He enters caves full of skeletons of long-extinct, giant marsupials, scales mountains previously untouched by Europeans, and is nearly killed when tribes people decide to take revenge for their prior mistreatment by his “clan” (wildlife scientists). And Flannery writes movingly of the fate of indigenous people in collision with the high-tech world of late-twentieth-century industry.   In New Guinea Pidgin, “throwim way leg” means to thrust out your leg on the first step of a long journey. Full of adventure, wit, and natural wonders, Flannery’s narrative is just such a spectacular trip. Like Redmond O’Hanlon’s classics Into the Heart of Borneo and No Mercy, Throwim Way Leg is a tour de force of travel, anthropology, and natural history.   “Flannery combines diligent science, heart-pounding adventure, and a respect for ancient cultures to create a compelling tale.” —Sierra, The National Magazine of the Sierra Club

Other books that might interest you

  • Magical Cross Stitch - Over 25 Enchanting Fantasy Designs - cover

    Magical Cross Stitch - Over 25...

    Charles The Editors of David &

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Become a stitching wizard with a collection of designs featuring your favorite fantastical creatures! 
     
    This fantastic cross stitch collection features a range of designs including the Celtic fairy queen, Chinese dragons, beautiful mermaids, and a majestic unicorn. Glittering metallic threads and gleaming beads are incorporated into many of the designs for a truly magical finish. 
     
    The projects range from full-sized pictures to cushions, greeting cards, sachets and bags, and quick-to-stitch gifts and accessories. It also features easy-to-follow color charts and complete step-by-step project making-up instructions. 
     
    Includes designs from: Claire Crompton * Joan Elliott * Joanne Sanderson * Ursula Michael * Lesley Teare * Carol Thornton
    Show book
  • Outraged - Why Everyone is Shouting and No One is Talking - cover

    Outraged - Why Everyone is...

    Ashley 'Dotty' Charles

    • 4
    • 7
    • 1
    'The powerful new voice of her generation' 
    The Times 
     
    'Funny, nuanced and wonderful'  
    Jon Ronson 
     
    'A book that had me hollering, nodding and questioning at the same time'  
    Candice Carty-Williams, author of Queenie 
     
    ------- 
     
    A candid exploration of the state of outrage in our culture, and how we can channel it back into the fights that matter, from presenter and DJ Ashley 'Dotty' Charles. 
      
    In this wise and very funny journey into the outrage industry, Ashley 'Dotty' Charles explores how by shouting about everything, we have lost sight of the fights that actually matter - and created a world where our outrage feels with consequence. 
     
    Here's how we can get it back on track. 
     
    ------- 
     
    'Funny, educational, enlightening . . . Way ahead of its time' Chris Evans 
     
    'A smart and timely manifesto for surviving the age of rage' i 
     
    'Everyone with a social media account should read this book' Bella Mackie 
     
    'A swipe at the empty rhetoric of activism' Observer
    Show book
  • Welcome to the Club - 100 Parenting Milestones You Never Saw Coming - cover

    Welcome to the Club - 100...

    Raquel D'Apice

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From an Emmy Award–winning comedy writer: “An absolute must for every parent who needs to laugh so they don’t cry.” —Bunmi Laditan, author of Confessions of a Domestic Failure 
     
    From the comedian behind the popular parenting blog The Ugly Volvo comes a refreshing spin on the baby milestone book. Instead of a place to lovingly capture the first time baby sleeps through the night, this book commemorates baby’s first poop explosion; first time baby says a word you didn’t want her to say; and first time you forget the details of childbirth enough to consider having a second kid. 
     
    Accompanied by distinctive illustrations, these one hundred rarely documented but all-too-realistic milestones provide comfort, solidarity, and comic relief for exhausted and terrified new parents.
    Show book
  • Beekeeper's Lab - 52 Family-Friendly Activities and Experiments Exploring the Life of the Hive - cover

    Beekeeper's Lab - 52...

    Kim Lehman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Very informative and fun . . . Science, art, bee care, 52 different labs to entertain, delight, educate and inspire everyone in your family." —A Net in Time 
     
    Beekeeping's popularity as a hobby continues to skyrocket. And now, with Beekeeper's Lab, you can fill the year ahead with weekly activities from around and about the hive—including art projects, recipes, experiments, garden activities, and more! 
     
    Bees are important to local ecosystems,now more than ever. Whether you're already a beekeeper, or are still considering getting your first hive, Beekeeper's Lab has projects perfect for you. This extensive guide book features 52 beekeeping and hive-inspired projects to keep you involved with your buzzing friends all year long. 
     
    The tutorials are brief, accomplishable, rewarding, and best of all, they are presented in afriendly lab-style format. Try a new technique each weekwith how-tos and sidebars with tips that are perfect for the whole family. Beekeeping is a fun hobby to enjoy, plus, who doesn't want their own supply of honey?
    Show book
  • Cross Stitch for the Soul - 20 Designs to Inspire - cover

    Cross Stitch for the Soul - 20...

    Emma Congdon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Craft your own comfort with these uplifting cross stitch projects featuring spirit-boosting quotes. 
     
    Cross Stitch for the Soul is a collection of beautifully designed motivational and inspirational quotes rendered in easy cross-stitching techniques that will raise the spirits, both during the making process and beyond, as gifts for loved ones or as treasured pictures on the wall. 
     
    Cross stitch is a wonderfully calming and mindful occupation, a chance to slow down, embrace the process, and create something beautiful. The twenty designs in this collection feature quotes that will resonate with anyone in need of a little boost. 
     
    Designed by leading cross stitch designer Emma Congdon, aka Stitchrovia, whose modern styling appeals to crafters of all ages and abilities, these inspiring quotes will provide comfort, motivation, and an all-around positive spin on life, reminding us that we are brave, we are strong, and we have the power to make our own futures—one stitch at a time!
    Show book
  • No Room at the Little Cornish Inn - a sweet and uplifting Christmas romance - cover

    No Room at the Little Cornish...

    Nancy Barone

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    There's magic in the Cornish air this Christmas... 
     
    When Rosie Anderson's boss suddenly assigns her to go incognito and save a tiny inn in Cornwall from being shut down, her dreams of a Christmas holiday with her son are shattered. And, for the life of her, Rosie has no idea why she's got to go.
     
    It's chaos from the start – after hours in the car, Rosie arrives at the inn to find that there are no rooms left. She isn't there for more than a minute before she's butting heads with the manager, Irishman Mitchell Fitzpatrick. He seems to dislike her on sight, so it's confusing that he seems to get on so well with Danny... But if he's as terrible as his reputation, Rosie will have to be the one to fire him.
     
    This really isn't the Christmas Rosie was dreaming of. But maybe, just maybe, it could be a whole lot more...
     
    A sweet and uplifting Christmas romance, No Room at the Little Cornish Inn is perfect for fans of Philippa Ashley, Holly Martin and Jenny Hale.
     
    Praise for Nancy Barone: 
     
    'I thoroughly enjoyed this utterly lovely story. Touching, heartwarming and a joy to read' Holly Martin on New Hope for the Little Cornish Farmhouse
     
    'Nothing like the magic of Cornwall!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer 
     
    'A sweet and delightful Christmas tale' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'All the makings of a classic Hallmark Christmas movie!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
    Show book