If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Shadow Women - cover

Shadow Women

Therese Bonvouloir Bayol

Publisher: Éditions Dédicaces

  • 22
  • 241
  • 2

Summary

St. Brigide might be a small point on the Quebec map, but it is rich in its ancestry of various ethnic groups, the Irish being amongst the first Brigidians. The reader is introduced to such a family: the McNulty clan who emigrated to French Canada to escape British oppression and to be free to practice their Catholic religion. This story underlines the lives of four women who defeated all odds to survive, thus insuring their descendant’s chance of a more clement world. The other side of the coin is the facility by which the Irish demonstrated assimilation. All of this is portrayed in a colorful text which makes readers feel as if they were part of an extended family. Indeed if they pause for a moment, many characters will step out of the shadows to call our names and to repeat the sweetness of their sounds. As it is written in the novel, “Life for the Ludger family was so full, so saturated with joy and dreams; they thought themselves the most blessed citizens of this earth”. Welcome to a reading adventure, a pilgrimage to the past: yours and mine. - Therese Bonvouloir Bayol

Other books that might interest you

  • Bedeviled - A Dark Breed Novel - cover

    Bedeviled - A Dark Breed Novel

    Sable Grace

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “Kyana brings a new dimension to the ranks of kick-ass heroines…I’m looking forward to more of her adventures.”—New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Day 
    Enter a nightmare world where Dark Breeds—Vampyre, demons, and shapeshifters—war with mortals, and one extraordinary woman stands between them. Readers of Jeaniene Frost will love Bedeviled, the second book in author Sable Grace’s Dark Breeds paranormal series. Part vampire, part Lychen warrior Kyana Aslan joins the genre’s pantheon of unforgettable female supernatural avengers—along with Buffy the vampire slayer, Jeaniene Frost’s Cat Crawfield, and Rachel Morgan of the bestselling Hollows novels. Bedeviled takes the war for humankind’s survival to breathtaking new heights, as the terrifying rise of the darkest god to ever exist threatens the future of Kyana’s world. Fans of Marjorie Liu, Nalini Singh, Kim Harrison, Christine Feehan…add Sable Grace to list of paranormal fiction’s superstars!
    Show book
  • The Pact - A Love Story - cover

    The Pact - A Love Story

    Jodi Picoult

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    From Jodi Picoult, one of the most powerful writers in contemporary fiction, comes a riveting, timely, heartbreaking, and terrifying novel of families in anguish -- and friendships ripped apart by inconceivable violence. Until the phone calls came at 3:00 A.M. on a November morning, the Golds and their neighbors, the Hartes, had been inseparable. It was no surprise to anyone when their teenage children, Chris and Emily, began showing signs that their relationship was moving beyond that of lifelong friends. But now seventeen-year-old Emily has been shot to death by her beloved and devoted Chris as part of an apparent suicide pact -- leaving two devastated families stranded in the dark and dense predawn, desperate for answers about an unthinkable act and the children they never really knew.
    Show book
  • Selected Short Stories of Nietzsche - cover

    Selected Short Stories of Nietzsche

    Friedrich Nietzsche

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    The German philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche became one of the most influential thinkers of the nineteenth century. Nietzsche's utterance 'God is dead', his insistence that the meaning of life is to be found in purely human terms, and his doctrine of the Superman and the will to power were all later seized upon and unrecognisably twisted by, among others, Nazi intellectuals. The works of Friedrich Nietzsche have fascinated readers around the world ever since the publication of his first book more than a hundred years ago.
    Show book
  • How to Knit a Heart Back Home - A Cypress Hollow Yarn Book 2 - cover

    How to Knit a Heart Back Home -...

    Rachael Herron

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A warm-hearted hug from a talented author—and knitter. It’s a sweet comfort read, with an edge of humor and irony that strikes just the right note.”—New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs “Rachael Herron charms with an emotional, heart-warming story of family, friendship and love in a town you’ll never want to leave.”—USA Today bestselling author Barbara Freethy Return with rising romance star Rachael Herron to the town of Cypress Hollow—site of her unforgettable debut, How to Knit a Love Song—and learn How to Knit a Heart Back Home. Fans of Debbie Macomber will adore this joyous tale of a fiery independent lady whose life interweaves with a bad-boy ex-cop’s and the shared mission that knits their hearts together.
    Show book
  • The King's Witch - Frances Gorges historical trilogy Book I - cover

    The King's Witch - Frances...

    Tracy Borman

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Borman’s latest book, The Private Lives of the Tudors, was a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice and published in hardcover to strong sales and favorable reviews, cited as an “authoritative work” (New York Times Book Review) and “riveting history” (O, The Oprah Magazine). The book was the basis for a multi-part documentary series, hosted by Borman, which aired on British television in June 2016.
    Americans continue to be fascinated by the Tudors, from the Showtime dramatic series to Philippa Gregory and Hilary Mantel’s novels (and their TV and stage adaptations). The King’s Witch will appeal to readers of Mantel’s Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, Alison Weir’s Six Tudor Queens series, and Gregory’s The Last Tudor.
    HBO is producing a three-part mini-series entitled Gunpowder that focuses on the Gunpowder Plot of 1605, which is also the culmination of Borman’s novel. The adaptation is premiering in December 2017 in the U.S. and includes many of the real-life characters also seen in The King’s Witch, such as Robert Catesby, King James I, and Guy Fawkes. 
    Borman is the joint Chief Curator of Historic Royal Palaces in the UK, working daily in the palaces that formed the private world of the Tudors.
    Show book
  • DRIVE - A NASCAR novel - cover

    DRIVE - A NASCAR novel

    Susan Strecker

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Piper Pierson is on her way to becoming a NASCAR superstar driving for her family’s team, Pierson Racing. But a terrible wreck nearly takes her father's life, so Piper trades her dreams of racing for a journalism degree. Writing for the famed NASCAR Weekly newspaper, Piper meets Colt Porter, Pierson Racing’s hot-shot new driver and sparks fly. In a world filled with danger and crashes, Colt’s mantra is that life is beautiful and must be lived as if every day is the last. He helps Piper realize all she has to live for in spite of the past. But when another senseless accident happens, someone she loves is taken from her, testing her new-found philosophy. Drive is the story of hard truths and disappointments, growing up, and embracing what matters most.
    Show book