As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Way of Perfection - cover

The Way of Perfection

Avila Teresa of

Publisher: Lulu.com

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Despite the fact this inspiring classic on the practice of pray was written almost four centuries ago, it is as fresh and meaningful today as it was when Teresa first wrote it.  The Way of Perfection is a practical guide to prayer setting forth her counsels and directives for the attainment of spiritual perfection.  Through the entire work, the author's desire to teach a deep and lasting love of prayer begins with a treatment of the three essentials of the prayer in a fulfilled life: 1) fraternal love 2) detachment from created things 3) true humility. Teresa's counsels on these are not only the fruit of lofty mental speculation, but of mature practical experience. This work can be broken into two sections. The first section, she develops these ideas and brings the reader directly to the subjects of prayer and contemplation. Then she gives various maxims for the practice of prayer and leads up to the topic, which occupies the balance of the book; a detailed and inspiring commentary on the Lord's Prayer.

Other books that might interest you

  • Runaway Bride (With This Ring? Collection) - A Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas Novella - cover

    Runaway Bride (With This Ring?...

    Mary Connealy

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    1870s TexasBig John Conroy is a Texas Ranger asked by a friend to assist Carrie. He catches up to Carrie and her brother Isaac and races away from a dangerous man who will stop at nothing to make the beautiful young woman his wife. Soon Big John's feelings for Carrie turn to more than simply protective, and Carrie finally feels that she's in the presence of a man she can respect--something she's never known. Fans of Mary's The Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas series will enjoy catching up with those characters.
    Show book
  • The Patch of Heaven Collection - Sarah's Garden Lilly's Wedding Quilt Threads of Grace - cover

    The Patch of Heaven Collection -...

    Kelly Long

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sarah’s Garden 
    Quite by accident, Sarah King has fallen in love. But this love is forbidden, and could cost her everything she holds dear. 
    Tucked into the majesty of Pennsylvania's Allegheny Mountains is a garden Sarah King has been nurturing for years. She never feels more alive than when she is alone with her thoughts and her Creator among the delicate rows of plants. But then duty calls her away from her beloved garden and into a world she knows little about. 
    Grant Williams, a handsome young veterinarian, has left the city to open a rural practice among the Amish. Within minutes of meeting shy but feisty Sarah King, he is captivated by her. 
    As their feelings grow for one another, Sarah insists they can never be together. Marrying Grant would mean being uprooted from her home, her family, and her community. Throughout the cold Pennsylvania winter, with her garden tucked away until spring, Sarah begins crafting a quilt that illustrates her pain. Can anything lasting blossom from a love that's forbidden? 
    Lilly’s Wedding Quilt 
    Handsome, headstrong Jacob offers Lilly his hand in marriage, but his heart belongs to someone else. 
    While Lilly Lapp has loved Jacob for years, she wouldn't compete with Sarah King, the woman Jacob was determined to marry. But when Sarah marries another, Jacob spontaneously agrees to wed Lilly. 
    Lilly divides her time between teaching the local Amish children and caring for her widowed mother who suffers from depression. Lilly's faith comforts her, but her heart still longs to be the sole object of Jacob's affection. 
    As the days slip by, Lilly decides that hoping is too risky and vows to protect her heart. But God is subtly as work, and as winter turns to spring, their hearts awaken. 
    The furthest thing from Lilly's mind is her Amish wedding quilt, a traditional gift for new brides. And the person she'd least suspect is the one making it. Like stray pieces of fabric quilted into a new design, Jacob and Lilly's marriage begins to bind them together in ways neither expected. 
    Threads of Grace 
    Grace’s beauty almost cost her everything. This new start is all she has left. 
    When Grace Beiler was only a girl, she was married off to an older Amish man in order to save her family’s farm. Years later, she finds herself newly widowed and a mother to a young son. She has finally fled her sad past and plans to settle into a quiet life in Pennsylvania. 
    As soon as she arrives, she captures the attention of Seth Wyse, the most eligible bachelor in Pine Creek. Seth is candid about his feelings for her, and for her son Abel, but Grace is determined to protect her heart. 
    Her determination falters when her brother-in-law reveals the troubling contents of her late husband’s will. 
    Seth offers Grace his hand in marriage, and thus a means of escape. But despite his having saved her from another loveless marriage, Grace is slow to trust her new husband. And as the months wear on, Seth wonders if he has made a mistake. But God is quietly at work in their hearts, and Seth and Grace soon discover that threads of grace bind them together in a tapestry rich in hope and love.
    Show book
  • The Tangled Ties That Bind (Hearts Entwined Collection) - A Kincaid Brides Novella - cover

    The Tangled Ties That Bind...

    Mary Connealy

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    While running from an angry buffalo, two friends, who always wanted more, reunite. Connor has returned home determined to pursue the woman he never stopped caring about. But Maggie wants to be a city doctor, and he is a rancher through and through. Will either be willing to give up their dream? Or will they both have to give up the love of a lifetime?
    Show book
  • Plain Pursuit - cover

    Plain Pursuit

    Beth Wiseman

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Carley has given up chasing her dreams. Now her dreams are chasing her. 
    Carley Marek experiences culture shock when she visits her friend LillianÆs family on their farm deep in Amish country. SheÆll get an article out of the visitùand maybe some of LillianÆs newfound peace will somehow rub off on her. 
    Just when Carley is getting used to the quiet nature of the Plain community, Lillian and SamuelÆs son falls ill. But the local doctor who can offer the most help has been shunned by the community and forbidden to intervene. 
    As DavidÆs condition deteriorates, Dr. Noah determines to do whatever it takes to save the boyÆs life. Carley is caught in the middleùdrawn to Noah, wanting to be helpful in the crisisùand confused by all their talk about a God she neither knows nor trusts. Carley must decide what in life is worth pursuing . . . and what to do when sheÆs pursued by a love she never expected.
    Show book
  • Vying for the Viscount (Hearts on the Heath) - cover

    Vying for the Viscount (Hearts...

    Kristi Ann Hunter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    For Hudson, the newly titled Viscount Stildon, moving to England from India where he was born and raised was already an arduous enough endeavor. When he learns the fate of the racing empire he inherited along with his title depends upon him getting in the good graces of another stable owner, he's even more at a loss.  
     
    The stable at the neighboring estate has been Miss Bianca Snowley's refuge for years, and when a strange man appears to be stealing the horses, she jumps to their protection without a second thought. Upon learning Hudson is actually the new owner, she can't help but be intrigued by the area's newest eligible bachelor.  
     
    Any thought of romance is quickly set aside, however, when Hudson proposes they work together to secure suitable spouses for each other. As their friendship grows, Hudson and Bianca begin to reconsider what they truly want in life. But will societal expectations and the weight of their responsibilities keep them from pursuing their true desires?
    Show book
  • Plain Perfect - cover

    Plain Perfect

    Beth Wiseman

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Lillian Miller hopes the Plain life will offer her the peace of mind her heart desperately seeks. 
    LillianÆs first twenty-seven years have been challenging at best. Her decision to get reacquainted with her Amish grandparents in Lancaster County, PA, is an attempt at finding peace in a complicated world. But her plan has a flaw . . . Lillian is practicing the Amish lifestyle with no real understanding or relationship with God. And despite her best efforts, complications arise when she takes a fancy to Amish widower Samuel Stoltzfus who has an eleven-year-old son, David.
    Show book