Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Catch a Star - Shining through Adversity to Become a Champion - cover

Catch a Star - Shining through Adversity to Become a Champion

Tamika Catchings, Ken Petersen

Publisher: Revell

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

When all she wanted was to fit in, Tamika Catchings never imagined one day she'd stand out--as a basketball superstar and an inspiration. Catchings faced being set apart by her hearing loss, separation from family, living up to high expectations, and the pain and discouragement of debilitating physical injuries. Yet she reached for the stars with hard work, perseverance, and her faith in God. Through the silence, she found the way to shine.Catch a Star tells Tamika's story of overcoming: of leading the Indiana Fever to its first championship, being named to the WNBA's All Decade Team, earning four Olympic gold medals, and founding the Catch the Stars Foundation to help young people achieve their dreams. Her story will inspire readers to face their doubts and fears, encouraging them to reach for their own stars, no matter what challenges come their way.
Available since: 03/01/2016.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Impeachment and Trial of Andrew Johnson - Seventeenth President of the United States - cover

    The Impeachment and Trial of...

    David Miller DeWitt

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On February 24th, 1868, the impeachment of the United States’ seventeenth president was initiated. Democrat Andrew Johnson was accused of high crimes and misdemeanors that were detailed in eleven articles of impeachment and faced trial before the United States Senate.Andrew Johnson took office after John Wilkes Booth assassinated Abraham Lincoln on April 15th, 1865. After months of Johnson and the Senate butting heads, oftentimes with Johnson defying the Senate and doing whatever he wanted, the final straw came when Johnson fired his Secretary of War, Edwin M. Stanton.The eleven-week trial began on March 4th, 1868, and ended with the president escaping removal from office by just one vote. In this detailed look at the birth of the impeachment process and the seventeenth president's historical term, listeners will learn about one of the most vital tools available to the United States government.
    Show book
  • The Limit - Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit - cover

    The Limit - Life and Death on...

    Michael Cannell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The true story of the first American to win the Grand Prix title, with vivid accounts of the glamorous—and deadly—world of motor racing circa 1961. 
    Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell’s high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars. 
    Written with the pacing of a novel, The Limit pits Hill against his Ferrari teammate, German Count Wolfgang Von Trips, as they jockey for the top spot throughout the 1961 season, culminating in one of the deadliest races in Grand Prix history. The Limit captures a distinct moment when men the world over were driven to push the boundaries of the possible.
    Show book
  • US Troops Suicide - cover

    US Troops Suicide

    PBS NewsHour

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Suicides by active duty U.S. troops last year exceeded the number of servicemen and women killed in combat in Afghanistan. Ray Suarez talks to psychiatrist and retired U.S. Army Brig. Gen. Stephen Xenakis, who says more than half of the soldiers who killed themselves had already sought help from a mental health professional.
    Show book
  • Kindergarten - A Teacher Her Students and a Year of Learning - cover

    Kindergarten - A Teacher Her...

    Julie Diamond

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “[Diamond] has captured the world of the class—at times chaotic, always busy, usually inspired”— Essential reading for parents and teachers alike (Los Angeles Times).   Hailed by renowned educator Deborah Meier as “a rare and special pleasure to read,” Kindergarten explores a year in the life of a kindergarten classroom through the eyes of the gifted veteran teacher and author Julie Diamond. In this lyrical, beautifully written first-person account, Diamond explains the logic behind the routines and rituals children need to thrive. As she guides us through all aspects of classroom life—the organization, curriculum, and relationships that create a unique class environment—we begin to understand what kindergarten can and should be: a culture that builds children’s desire to understand the world and lays the foundation for lifelong learning.  Kindergarten makes a compelling case for an expansive definition of teaching and learning, one that supports academic achievement without sacrificing students’ curiosity, creativity, or development of social values. Diamond’s celebration of the possibilities of classroom life is a welcome antidote to today’s test-driven climate. Written for parents and teachers alike, Kindergarten offers a rare glimpse into what’s really going on behind the apparent chaos of a busy kindergarten classroom, sharing much-needed insights into how our children can have the best possible early school experiences.   “As a classroom insider, Diamond pulls back the curtain and allows parents and others a view of how an effective classroom actually works.” —Library Journal   “An extraordinary resource for parents and teachers at all stages. It is honest and masterful, engrossing and unique. And it is utterly real.” —Ruth Sidney Charney, author of Teaching Children to Care
    Show book
  • Rock Stars on the Record - The Albums That Changed Their Lives - cover

    Rock Stars on the Record - The...

    Eric Spitznagel

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An all-star lineup of rock-n-rollers relay the uproariously wild, sentimental, and unexpected pre-stardom stories behind their favorite records.Rock Stars on the Record is a collection of first-hand tales by artists of all ages, backgrounds, and musical influences, remembering the meaning behind the records that mattered most to them. From Laura Jane Grace to Ian MacKaye, Don McLean to Cherie Currie, Alice Bag to Mac DeMarco, Perry Farrell to Suzi Quatro and Verdine White, and many more, bestselling author Eric Spitznagel talks to rock stars across the sonic spectrum about the albums that changed them in ways only music can change someone. Everyone’s most cherished childhood record―be it a battered piece of vinyl, torn cassette tape, or scratched CD―has a story, and those stories can be more revealing about their owners than you might expect. Read about how “Weird Al” Yankovic refined his accordion skills by playing along to Elton John’s Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, or how Fishbone’s Angelo Moore saved his life with a boombox and a Bad Brains album. Or about how Wendy Melvoin and Lisa Coleman of Prince’s longtime band, The Revolution, fell in love while trading mixtapes. Each profile is more emotional, fascinating, and hilarious than the last. So place that needle in the groove, and prepare to hear something revelatory from your favorite rockers past and present. “Absolutely fascinating. It’s hard to believe that no one has done this before, but now that I’ve read it, it seems totally obvious―except that most journalists wouldn’t be able to get people to talk so openly and compellingly about something that, to an artist, may feel very private. I know these great musicians and their music better now. Thank you, Eric.” —Daniel J. Levitin, bestselling author of This Is Your Brain on Music, professor of Neuroscience and Music at McGill University in Montreal “In asking a slew of rock stars about the record that changed their lives, Eric Spitznagel also ferrets out fascinating backstories and unexpected anecdotes. Who knew that Tommy Roe’s granddaughter calls him ‘the Justin Bieber of the ‘60s’? Or that Perry Farrell entertained his older siblings’ friends’ by dancing the Hully Gully at their parties? Rock Stars on the Record is so much fun, and more illuminating that you’d expect.” —Caroline Sullivan, author of Bye Bye Baby: My Tragic Love Affair with the Bay City Rollers
    Show book
  • The Little Book of Big Lies - A Journey into Inner Fitness - cover

    The Little Book of Big Lies - A...

    Tina Lifford

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An inspiring and illuminating guide to true self care, from the sage teacher and breakout star of the critically acclaimed drama, Queen Sugar, from Executive Producers Oprah Winfrey and Ava DuVernay for OWN. 
    In all your years of schooling, did you ever take a single class that explained how to navigate the hurt, drama, and fear that come with living? Tina Lifford sure didn't. She learned the hard way—through experience as both a Hollywood actress and as the founder of the personal development network The Inner Fitness Project. Now, she brings together her own hard-won insights as well as those of her clients in this helpful and transformative guide. A blend of personal anecdotes and meaningful, practical—and most important, actionable—advice, The Little Book of Big Lies is the life skills class you need to nurture the inner you and move beyond the past. 
    In fourteen raw, personal stories, Tina teaches you how to change your self-perception—to see yourself in the best possible light, to love and honor what you see, and to forge a new sense of what's possible in every aspect of your life. But make no mistake, The Little Book of Big Lies is not a "rah-rah" quick fix for fear and pain. Like physical fitness, building and maintaining emotional strength requires continued effort. This invaluable audiobook is the foundation you need to start building inner health and well-being so you can thrive.  
    Tina guides you on a journey of self-discovery that will help you turn shame into self-acceptance, self-rejection into self-love, blame into freedom, and old hurt into power. Wise and powerful, The Little Book of Big Lies will completely change how you think and live.
    Show book