Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Sky's Dark Labyrinth - The Sky's Dark Labyrinth Book I - cover

The Sky's Dark Labyrinth - The Sky's Dark Labyrinth Book I

Stuart Clark

Publisher: Birlinn

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

At the dawn of the seventeenth century everyone believed that the sun revolved around the earth. Yet some men knew that the heavens did not move as they should. And some men began to suspect that this heresy was in fact the truth. As Europe convulsed in conflict between Catholic and Protestant, these men prepared to die for that truth. This is the story of Kepler and Galileo, two men whose struggle with themselves, with the evidence and with the forces of reaction changed not simply themselves but our world.
The Skyapos;s Dark Labyrinth is the first of a trilogy of novels inspired by the dramatic struggles, personal and professional, and key historical events in manapos;s quest to understand the Universe.
Available since: 05/01/2011.
Print length: 288 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Testimony of the Hanged Man - cover

    The Testimony of the Hanged Man

    Ann Granger

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In Victorian England, a Scotland Yard inspector and his wife investigate a condemned man’s claim about a seventeen-year-old murder. A hanged man would say anything to save his life. But what if his testimony is true?  When Inspector Ben Ross is called to Newgate Prison by a man condemned to die by the hangman's noose he isn’t expecting to give any credence to the man’s testimony. But the account of a murder he witnessed over seventeen years ago is so utterly believable that Ben can’t help wondering if what he’s heard is true.  It's too late to save the man’s life, but it's not too late to investigate a murder that has gone undetected for all these years . . . The perfect read for fans of Wilkie Collins and Susanna Calkins.
    Show book
  • The Great British Heroes and Antiheroes Trilogy - Empire of Sand Death on the Ice and Signal Red - cover

    The Great British Heroes and...

    Robert Ryan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A trio of gripping historical novels from an acclaimed British author who “skillfully blends fact with fiction” (Time Out London).  Empire of Sand: The legendary exploits of Lawrence of Arabia are the starting point for this captivating World War I suspense novel. In the British Army’s general headquarters in Cairo, a young intelligence officer, Lt. Thomas Edward Lawrence, must contend with a notorious German spy, Wilhelm Wassmuss. Local tribes are capturing British soldiers at the German’s behest, and the War Office has sent an assassin. Lawrence must get Captain Quinn within range of his target, a challenge given Wassmuss’s deep knowledge of the desert and its people. In matching wits with a sinister European nemesis, Lawrence starts down a path that will change the face of the Middle East forever.   “Plenty of action, some sharp dialogue and swift characterisation . . . Absorbing and thoughtful as well as tense and exciting.” —The Daily Telegraph  Death on the Ice: The ill-fated Terra Nova Expedition led by Robert Falcon Scott to the South Pole is brilliantly reimagined in this epic novel. The expedition was Scott’s second journey to Antarctica, driven by the dream of winning the race to the South Pole for England. But small mistakes and bad luck plagued the mission from the start, and when they finally reached their destination on January 17, 1912, Scott and his team were heartbroken to find that Norwegian Roald Amundsen had beaten them there—by more than a month. Little did they know, things were about to get much, much worse . . .   “Brings vividly to life the relationships and rivalries, the highs and lows, of the exploration that ended so tragically.” —Daily Mail  Signal Red: Inspired by the Great Train Robbery in the United Kingdom in August 1963, Ryan’s gripping re-creation is an edge-of-your-seat caper. Traveling between Glasgow and London, a Royal Mail train was forced to make an unscheduled stop by tampered signals. Led by a charismatic jewel thief, a gang of fifteen unarmed men boarded the train, incapacitated the driver, and made off with more than £2 million. Incensed by the brazenness of the crime, Scotland Yard employed every means to get the thieves to turn on one another. Soon, a meticulous plan descended into a desperate free-for-all as the gang went down one by one. This edition features an afterword by Bruce Reynolds, the mastermind behind the robbery.
    Show book
  • The Tulip Shirt Murders - cover

    The Tulip Shirt Murders

    Heather Weidner

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Private investigator Delanie Fitzgerald, and her computer hacker partner, Duncan Reynolds, are back for more sleuthing in The Tulip Shirt Murders. When a local music producer hires the duo to find out who is bootlegging his artists' CDs, Delanie uncovers more than just copyright thieves. And if chasing bootleggers isn't bad enough, local strip club owner and resident sleaze, Chaz Smith, pops back into Delanie's life with more requests. The police have their man in a gruesome murder, but the loud-mouthed strip club owner thinks there is more to the open and shut case. Delanie and Duncan link a series of killings with no common threads. And they must put the rest of the missing pieces together before someone else is murdered.The Tulip Shirt Murders is a fast-paced mystery that appeals to listeners who like a strong female sleuth with a knack for getting herself in and out of humorous situations such as larping and trading elbow jabs with roller derby queens.
    Show book
  • Bet Against the House - cover

    Bet Against the House

    Catherine Dain

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Freddie O’Neal is again called away from her cats, the Keno games, and her private plane to solve a case. Gloria Scope’s daughter wanted Freddie to dig up some dirt on Gloria to force a resignation from the Scope computer-chip company. The daughter, her siblings and the company board members want Gloria out of the way. Someone decides murder is more efficient. Freddie hadn’t wanted to be involved in Gloria Scope’s scandalous life, but now she’s mixed up in her death...
    Show book
  • Jealousy Filled Donuts - cover

    Jealousy Filled Donuts

    Ginger Bolton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When a firecracker becomes a murder weapon, Emily Westhill pursues a killer with a short fuse . . .  It is a truth universally acknowledged—cops and donuts go together. Exhibit A: Deputy Donut Café, owned and operated by detective's widow Emily Westhill and her father-in-law, the retired police chief of Fallingbrook, Wisconsin. Named after Emily's adored and adorable tabby, the donut shop is a favorite among cops, firemen, and EMTs, as well as tourists and townspeople. So, when Fallingbrook needs donuts for their Fourth of July picnic, Emily's shop gets deputized. But a twisted killer has found another use for Emily's treats. At the picnic, a firecracker is hidden in a stack of raspberry-filled donuts and aimed at the unwitting queen of the festivities. When it explodes, she is killed. Having her jelly donuts involved puts Emily in a sticky situation, and when a shady shutterbug tries to frame her with incriminating photos, she finds herself in quite a jam. To preserve her freedom and her shop's reputation, Emily needs to solve this case—before the fuse-lighting felon goes off again . . .
    Show book
  • Ambush at Dry Gulch - cover

    Ambush at Dry Gulch

    Joanna Wayne

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A cowboy must protect a widow from a dangerous killer with an axe to grind in this romantic suspense novel. 
     
    Jake Dalton believes in worthy causes—like opening his Texas ranch to inner-city kids for the summer. But there’s a catch . . . that involves a woman. Dedicated do-gooder Carolina Lambert can hold her own against any man . . . Jake included. Except now someone with a nasty grudge who’s been waiting for the perfect moment to strike has the beautiful widow in his sights. 
     
    R.J. Dalton’s estranged son is the last man on earth Carolina wants to trust with her life. But the rugged single father has sworn to keep her safe. As passion ignites—and a killer closes in—Carolina and Jake may lose their chance at a love neither expected to find again.
    Show book