Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Rocking the System - Fearless and Amazing Irish Women who Made History - cover

Rocking the System - Fearless and Amazing Irish Women who Made History

Siobhán Parkinson

Publisher: Little Island Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Twenty illustrated essays on Irish women, historical and contemporary, who have defied cultural norms around femininity and achieved great things. The subjects include Irish women from Queen Medb to Eileen Gray, from Constance Markievicz to Sonia O’Sullivan, covering stateswomen, artists, writers, activists and rebels of all kinds. Written by multi award-winning author and first Laureate na nÓg (Irish Children’s Laureate), Siobhán Parkinson. Perfect for use in schools as well as for leisure reading, this collection celebrates the role of women in Ireland’s changing society.

Other books that might interest you

  • Vamps - cover

    Vamps

    Nancy A. Collins

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    When the sun goes down, New York's true elite all head to one place: Bathory Academy, where the young ladies of the finest vampire families are trained in shapeshifting and luring their prey.  
    Bathory's reigning queen, Lilith Todd, is the daughter of a powerful vampire businessman, and she knows exactly what she wants from life. She wants to look beautiful for eternity and party till the sun comes up with her gorgeous boyfriend, Jules. And she doesn't want any New Blood upstarts standing in her way. 
    Enter Cally Monture, an unexpected threat from a trash zip code. When their first meeting leads to tragic results, Lilith is hungry for revenge.
    Show book
  • The One - cover

    The One

    Kiera Cass

    • 4
    • 19
    • 0
    The captivating third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    America Singer searches for her happily ever after in this swoon-worthy YA dystopian romance, perfect for readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants. 
     
    Show book
  • Finding Katie - The Diary of Anonymous A Teenager in Foster Care - cover

    Finding Katie - The Diary of...

    Beatrice Sparks

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This appealing teen read tells the story of Katie, a teen from an abused home, and her journey through foster care. 
    Katie is always surrounded by wealth, but feels terribly alone because of the secret horror of her angry, abusive father. When she's thrown out of her house and put into foster care, it seems like the end of the world. 
    But as she moves through the foster care system, she begins to realize that she can help others. Can she, at last, find courage and strength of her own?
    Show book
  • MILA 20: Redemption - cover

    MILA 20: Redemption

    Debra Driza

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This final book in Debra Driza's exhilarating MILA 2.0 series is perfect for fans of books filled with suspense and imagination, like The Bourne Identity and Legend, and it will surprise and thrill readers to the very end. 
    Mila has been running for her life for so long. But that was before she betrayed Hunter, the boy she'll always love, and before she discovered she was an incredible danger to anyone who dares to get close to her. 
    Now she's gone into hiding with friend and tech expert Lucas. But when Mila discovers that her enemy General Holland is an even bigger threat to humanity than she is, she must make a choice: either push aside her fears and fight him with everything she's got . . . or turn her back on the world forever.
    Show book
  • Revenge and the Wild - cover

    Revenge and the Wild

    Michelle Modesto

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    True Grit meets True Blood in this delightfully dark and fantastical Western perfect for fans of Gail Carriger, Cassandra Clare, and Holly Black. This thrilling novel is a remarkable tale of danger and discovery, from debut author Michelle Modesto. 
    The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place, full of dark magic and saloon brawls, monsters and six-shooters. But it’s just perfect for seventeen-year-old Westie, the notorious adopted daughter of local inventor Nigel Butler. 
    Westie was only a child when she lost her arm and her family to cannibals on the wagon trail. Seven years later, Westie may seem fearsome with her foul-mouthed tough exterior and the powerful mechanical arm built for her by Nigel, but the memory of her past still haunts her. She’s determined to make the killers pay for their crimes—and there’s nothing to stop her except her own reckless ways. 
    But Westie’s search ceases when a wealthy family comes to town looking to invest in Nigel’s latest invention, a machine that can harvest magic from gold—which Rogue City desperately needs as the magic wards that surround the city start to fail. There’s only one problem: the investors look exactly like the family who murdered Westie’s kin. With the help of Nigel’s handsome but scarred young assistant, Alistair, Westie sets out to prove their guilt. But if she’s not careful, her desire for revenge could cost her the family she has now.
    Show book
  • Full Throttle - cover

    Full Throttle

    Jon Hartless

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In a world that refuses to let her move forward, can Poppy stay ahead of the pack?
     
    Sixteen-year-old Poppy Orpington seems destined for a life of poverty until her father perfects a petrol-fuelled engine. Their success allows Poppy to get a new prosthetic arm, giving her the mobility she's longed for all her life.
     
    But can a working class family crack open the aristocratic world of motor racing? Can Poppy overcome prejudice as she fights to find a place in the world? Or will the ruling elite crush her only chance of a better life?
    Show book