Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Mrs Pargeter's Public Relations - cover

Mrs Pargeter's Public Relations

Simon Brett

Publisher: Severn House

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Mrs Pargeter discovers the skills by which Public Relations can make evil look good in the latest wickedly entertaining mystery.
 

It is her characteristic generosity rather than her love of animals that finds Mrs Pargeter supporting her friend, Jasmine Angold, at a charity reception for PhiliPussies, whose worthy aim is to rehabilitate stray cats from the Greek island of Atmos into caring English homes. But the evening is to have unexpected consequences. At the event, Mrs P is taken aback to meet a woman who claims to be the sister of her late husband, the much-missed Mr Pargeter.  


This surprising encounter leads to unwelcome digging into past secrets, the discovery of a body in Epping Forest, an eventful trip to Greece - and unexpected danger for Mrs Pargeter. In the course of her investigations, she learns the true nature of charity and the dubious skills by which Public Relations can make evil look good.

Other books that might interest you

  • Exit Stage Left - A contemporary police procedural set in London and Paris - cover

    Exit Stage Left - A contemporary...

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Detective Chief Inspector Brock investigates the murder of a well-known actorWhen the body of Lancelot Foley, a well-known actor, is discovered in an excavation in a fashionable Chelsea street one snowy February morning, Detective Chief Inspector Harry Brock is assigned the case.Is the dead man’s wife, fellow actress Vanessa Drummond, as innocent as she would like the police to believe? As Brock – aided by Detective Sergeant Dave Poole and Kate Ebdon, his Australian-born detective inspector – investigates, the case takes him from London to Paris, and there will be more than one death before the shocking case is solved.
    Show book
  • Girl in the Woods The - cover

    Girl in the Woods The

    Patricia MacDonald

    • 11
    • 103
    • 0
    A deathbed confession has chilling consequences in this gripping novel of psychological suspense.“I have to tell you something … I did something bad”.Ever since her best friend Molly was murdered fifteen years before, Blair Butler has returned to her small hometown in the Pocono mountains as seldom as possible. Now she has been summoned home to see her terminally ill sister one last time – only for Celeste to make a shocking deathbed confession. Is it really true that the wrong man has spent fifteen years in jail for a crime he didn’t commit?Having promised her dying sister that she would do her best to right the wrongs of the past, Blair sets out to discover what really happened that cold, wet November night fifteen years before: the night Molly’s battered body was found in the woods behind her home. But is Blair prepared for the shocking truth … ?
    Show book
  • Desert Heat - cover

    Desert Heat

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A cop lies dying beneath the blistering Arizona sun—a local lawman who may well have become the next sheriff of Cochise County. The police brass claim that Andy Brady was dirty, and that his shooting was a suicide attempt. Joanna Brady, his devoted wife and mother of their nine-year-old daughter, knows a cover-up when she hears one . . . and murder when she sees it. But her determined efforts to hunt down an assassin and clear her husband's name are placing Joanna and her surviving family in harm's way—because in the desert, the one thing more lethal than a rattler's bite . . . is the truth.
    Show book
  • Skeleton Canyon - cover

    Skeleton Canyon

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Top ten New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance brings us another mesmerizing thriller featuring Arizona Sheriff Joanna Brady as she searches for the brutal killer of a young girl. 
     Brianna "Bree" O'Brien never returned from Skeleton Canyon. Someone brutally murdered the pretty, popular teenager who had stolen away under cover of darkness to rendezvous with her boyfriend. Perhaps youthful rage, jealousy and savage passion cost young Bree her life. Or maybe she stumbled onto something too dangerous to know. Sheriff Joanna Brady of Cochise County knows only too well the pain of losing a loved one to violence. But she is disturbed by the O'Brien's insistence that Bree's boyfriend is responsible for their daughter's slaying. Joanna senses there are words not being spoken, and dark mysteries locked behind doors of the sprawling O'Brien family compound. But it is the strange disappearance of a good friend that is pulling Sheriff Brady ever closer to the lethal nest of lies, greed and secrets hiding in a desolate corner of the Arizona desert - where the next blood that feeds the parched, cracked earth could be her own.
    Show book
  • Sorcerer - A Manchester crime thriller featuring DSI Jeff Barton - cover

    Sorcerer - A Manchester crime...

    David Menon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    REVIEWS
     
    'A chilling yet humane thriller'
     
    'Loved it!'
     
    'A harrowing tale skilfully told'
     
    'A compelling page turner'.
     
    'A cracking good read! Couldn't put it down'.
     
    DESCRIPTION
     
    The remains of three bodies are found in an old house close to Manchester University. The house used to be a care home for teenage boys and Detective Superintendent Jeff Barton and his team uncover a horrific period of brutality and abuse that took place there. Their investigations lead to the former manager of the care home and his wife who are traced to a villa in Spain. The secrets and lies of the family are exposed and the line of victims starts very close to home but Jeff, who is a single Dad following the death of his wife and balances a demanding job with the care of his five year-old son Toby, begins to see what nobody else can. A determined and audacious plot by a former resident of the home, a former victim of the abuse, who is now hellbent on revenge. And if he's right then Jeff and his team have to act quickly before justice is taken out of their hands.
    Show book
  • The Club - cover

    The Club

    Takis Würger

    • 1
    • 8
    • 1
    For fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Leïla Slimani’s The Perfect Nanny, The Club is a smoldering story of class, privilege, and matters of the heart 
    The Club is a blistering, timely, and gripping novel set at Cambridge University, centering around an all-male dining club for the most privileged and wealthy young men at Cambridge and following an outsider who exposes the dark secrets of this group, the Pitt Club.  
     As a boy, Hans Stichler enjoys a fable-like childhood among the rolling hills and forests of North Germany, living an idyll that seems uninterruptable. A visit from Hans’s ailing English aunt Alex, who comes to stay for an entire summer, has a profound effect on the young Hans, all the more so when she invites him to come to university at Cambridge, where she teaches art history. Alex will ensure his application to St. John’s College is accepted, but in return he must help her investigate an elite university club of young aristocrats and wealthy social climbers, the Pitt Club. The club has existed at Cambridge for centuries, its long legacy of tradition and privilege largely unquestioned. As Hans makes his best efforts to prove club material and infiltrate its ranks, including testing his mettle in the boxing ring, he is drawn into a world of extravagance, debauchery, and macho solidarity. And when he falls in love with fellow student Charlotte, he sees a potential new life of upper-class sophistication opening up to him. But there are secrets in the club’s history, as well as in its present—and Hans soon finds himself in the inner sanctum of what proves to be an increasingly dangerous institution, forced to grapple with the notion that sometimes one must do wrong to do right.
    Show book