Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Haunting Bombay - A Novel - cover

Haunting Bombay - A Novel

Shilpa Agarwal

Publisher: Soho Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This San Francisco Chronicle bestseller is “[an] intriguing debut [that] seeks to give voice to the dispossessed through the supernatural” (USA Today).   After her mother’s death crossing the border from Pakistan to India during Partition, baby Pinky was taken in by her grandmother, Maji, the matriarch of the powerful Mittal family. Now thirteen years old, Pinky lives with her grandmother and her uncle’s family in a bungalow on the Malabar Heights in Bombay. While she has never really been accepted by her uncle’s family, she has always had Maji’s love.   One day, as monsoons engulf the city, Pinky opens a mysteriously bolted door, unleashing the ghosts of an infant who drowned shortly before Pinky’s arrival and of the nursemaid who cared for the child. Now, three generations of the Mittal family must struggle to come to terms with their secrets amidst hidden shame, forbidden love, and a call for absolute sacrifice.   “In her stunning debut novel Shilpa Agarwal takes on the ghosts that bedevil young Pinky Mittal’s extended family and dispatches them with rambunctious wit and affection. The result is like finely wrought mirror work, a glittering tapestry of vibrant contradictions, characters, and mysteries. Haunting Bombay flirts deliciously with the true spirit of India.” —Aimee Liu, author of Flash House   “Will definitely appeal to fans of Monica Ali and Jhumpa Lahiri. . . . Fresh, original.” —Library Journal
Available since: 04/01/2009.
Print length: 368 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Claimed by Shadow - cover

    Claimed by Shadow

    Karen Chance

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A recent legacy made Cassandra Palmer heir to the title of Pythia, the world's chief clairvoyant. It's a position that usually comes with years of training, but Cassie's circumstances are a little...unusual. Now she's stuck with a whopping amount of power that every vamp, fey, and mage in town wants to either monopolize or eradicate—and that she herself doesn't dare use.What's more, she's just discovered that a certain arrogant master vampire has a geis on her—a magical claim that warns off any would-be suitors, and might also explain the rather intense attraction between them. But Cassie has had it with being jerked around, and anyone who tries it from now on is going to find out that she makes a very bad enemy.
    Show book
  • Immortal Legacy: A Supernatural Suspense Thriller - Hunters for Hire - cover

    Immortal Legacy: A Supernatural...

    Jonathan Yanez

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A past written in blood.A future in question.Time corrodes truth.Over the centuries fact turns to myth.This is no truer than in a small county where stories surrounding Wakan Canyon have pushed their way to the surface.The death of a young girl triggers reporter Marshall Montgomery. The events surrounding her demise hit too close to home.But following the white rabbit down this hole means uncovering an ancient supernatural sect that would prefer to be left buried.Can Marshall trust his gut to break this story without losing his life?
    Show book
  • The Temple - cover

    The Temple

    H. P. Lovecraft

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "The Temple" is a short story written by H. P. Lovecraft in 1920, and first published in the pulp magazine Weird Tales #24 in September 1925. The story is narrated as a "found manuscript" penned by Karl Heinrich, Graf von Altberg-Ehrenstein, a lieutenant-commander in the Imperial German Navy during the days of World War I. Altberg begins by declaring that he has decided to document the events leading up to his untimely end in order to "set certain facts" before the public, aware that he will not survive to do so himself. In the North Atlantic, after sinking a British freighter and its occupied lifeboats, the cruel and arrogant Altberg commands his U-boat to submerge, surfacing later to find the dead body of a seaman who died clinging to the exterior railing of the sub. A search of the body reveals a strange piece of carved ivory. Because of its apparent great age and value, one of Altberg's officers keeps the object, and shortly thereafter, strange phenomena begin to occur - such as the dead man apparently swimming away rather than sinking...
    Show book
  • The Giant Wistaria - cover

    The Giant Wistaria

    Charlotte Perkins Gilman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A short story from the British Library Tales of the Weird collection Evil Roots. Charlotte Perkins Gilman is known for her themes of female entrapment and patriarchal control, and she gives this a Gothic twist in ‘The Giant Wistaria’. A wealthy young couple and their friends rent a manor house, excited by the prospect that it’s haunted, and they are not disappointed when they all experience the same vivid dream…
    Show book
  • Pin - cover

    Pin

    Andrew Neiderman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Young Leon and Ursula had little except each other. Mother was driven by a psychotic need to clean—constantly—everything in sight. Father was consumed by his medical practice and an analytical approach to life. But he understood the sensual hunger growing inside his children’s young bodies. He knew they could help each other answer, “The Need.” Father had Science. Father had Reason. And he had Pin.     Pin who answered all the children’s questions in a voice not unlike the doctor’s. Father’s clever trick. Father’s brilliant illusion. But then there was the accident and Mother and the doctor were dead. Still there was Pin—who had so much to tell then even yet…whose enigmatic stare held such wisdom. There would just be the three of them now. Quiet Leon, beautiful and frightened Ursula, and wise, implacable Pin. They were all each of them would need. Ever. 
    Show book
  • Carmilla - cover

    Carmilla

    Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Due to an unfortunate series of events, a teenage girl named Carmilla is left in the care of a wealthy widower and his daughter, Laura. Laura, upon meeting the poor girl, comes to realize that she knows her face. Years prior when she was but a child, Laura was haunted by a presence in her room with the likeness of the young girl. Convinced it was just a nightmare, Laura and Carmilla become fast friends. But as Carmilla's stay continues, strange things begin to happen to the townspeople nearby. It's not until Carmilla disappears that Laura and her father discover the truth about their mysterious houseguest.
    Show book