Come on board for a journey through literature!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Riddance - Or: The Sybil Joines Vocational School for Ghost Speakers & Hearing-Mouth Children - cover

Riddance - Or: The Sybil Joines Vocational School for Ghost Speakers & Hearing-Mouth Children

Shelley Jackson

Publisher: Black Balloon Publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

In the supernatural and imagined intertextual spirit of Lincoln in the Bardo and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, with a dash of Guillermo del Toro, comes the long-awaited return of Shelley Jackson (Half Life) and her new novel, Riddance
For readers of Kelly Link, Samantha Hunt, Lynne Tillman, Carmen Maria Machado, Neil Gaiman, and other authors who blend, break, and celebrate genre in their fiction
Jackson is well connected in the artistic and literary communities in New York, and is a creative and committed self-advocate. Her Instagram snow story project has over 2,600 followers; more than 2,000 people participated in her “Skin” tattoo project  
Contained in the "papers from the archives" of the Sybil Joines Vocational School: dispatches from travels in the land of the dead, theoretical writings in necrophysics, diagrams, maps, drawings, translations of the ectoplasmic objects disgorged by advanced students, sound files, and homework assignments for would-be students
 The designer of cover and interior art, Zachary Thomas Dodson, is a well-connected author in his own right (Bats of the Republic, 2015); the interior contains approximately thirty-three color and black-and-white images, illustrations, and graphs
 We’re exploring options to have additional content in the ebook edition
 Author events in October 2018: New York, NY in Portand, OR; Berkeley, CA; Seattle, WA; Austin, TX; Cambridge, MA; Brooklyn, NY; participating in NEIBA Fall Trade Show in September

 
Bookseller praise for Riddance

"I'm not sure when last I encountered such word play, such weirdness, such slapping brilliance. It's a little like Jonathan Strange and The Magicians had a love child, looked at it aghast, gulped, and let it go to town, removing the fork from its hand just before it stuck it into an electric outlet. . . . Weird, wonderful, bizarre, hilarious, and really quite amazing." —Erica Eisdorfer, Flyleaf Books (Chapel Hill, NC)
"As a longtime fan of Shelley Jackson, I was incredibly excited to read her new book—and it exceeded even my sizable expectations. Riddance is a wild dream written in extraordinarily precise and stunning prose. A ghost story, an alternative scientific universe, and the story of some thrillingly compelling characters, Riddance is the most original and innovative novel I've read in years." —Jill Owens, Powell's Books (Portland, OR) 
"Bless Black Balloon for letting this book be as big (in size and scope) as Shelley Jackson and Zachary Dodson needed it to be. You'll be mesmerized by these stories of a (fictional but credible) school for children with speech disorders. The book uses the faux anthology form to great effect—each chapter is a found document that either clarifies or makes more mysterious just what happened at the Sybil Joines Vocational School. Jackson's writing is perfectly braided with Dodson's illustrations (documents, figures, charts) in this one-of-a-kind book." —John Francisconi, Bank Square Books (Mystic, CT)
"A speech impediment leads eleven-year-old Jane to enroll at a special school for children who stutter, there to learn a way to overcome their difficulties. Yet that is not exactly why Sybil Joines' school takes in these children. The truth is more disturbing, since it's really all about life after death, channeling the dead, and something called 'necrophysics.' Jane becomes Ms. Joines' new stenographer (taking notes dictated by the headmistress while she is 'on the other side'), and at first, all goes well. And then a child disappears. The terror of reality soon draws the attention of parents, authorities, and, well, things go a bit downhill from there. Fans of Miss Pettigrew will love Riddance." —Linda Bond, Auntie's Bookstore (Spokane, WA)
"A small girl, a stutterer, mistreated by family and schoolmates, is invited to attend a boarding school for those like her. Sybil Joines, the headmistress, believes that stuttering, when properly channeled, is a highly evolved method of communication with the dead. Necrophysics, the study of the relationship between this world and the next, is Joines's raison d'etre. But the periodic disappearances of boarders and alarming events that occur cause an existential threat to the school that she cannot tolerate. The history of the school is told from multiple points of view that bear witness to the grotesque school. This is a fully realized world, dark and challenging, with three-dimensional characters and accompanying illuminations and artifacts so realistic that you soon forget this is fiction. Riddance is an astounding feat of imagination."  —Cindy Pauldine, the river's end bookstore (Oswego, NY)
"Riddance is unlike anything I’ve read. It’s a sprawling novel that’s part ghost story, part fictionalized scientific research and history, and part mystery with other thrilling facets in between. Jackson’s writing is precise, and it’s wonderful to let her lead you down complex narrative path she builds. Riddance is utterly original and brilliant!" —Sarah Cassavant, Subtext Books (St. Paul, MN)

Other books that might interest you

  • The Moonlight Masquerade - cover

    The Moonlight Masquerade

    Rachel Morgan

    • 0
    • 13
    • 0
    Cinderella retold: Fae, vampires, shifters, and a Godmother who’ll grant you any wish—if you pay the price.
     
    Elle is desperate enough to do the one thing she promised herself she’d never do: bargain with the Godmother for a wish. But if she pays the price, it will leave her forever changed.
     
    So she makes the daring decision to lie to the Godmother.
     
    She’ll pretend to pay the price.
     
    Can she get away with her freedom before the Godmother finds out?
     
    ~ ~ ~
     
    This is episode 3 of 6 of a SERIALIZED Cinderella retelling. It is not novel-length. Expect cliffhangers! Approximately 23,000 words or 100 print pages.
     
    ~ ~ ~
     
    In a world of fae, vampires and shifters, where wishes can be bought and bargained for, Elle is human, bound to her stepmother by a slave charm. Her only hope at freedom is to wish for it. But the Godmother rules the illegal wish trade, and the price she demands is steep. Is Elle willing to pay it?
    Show book
  • Archon - The Books of Raziel - cover

    Archon - The Books of Raziel

    Sabrina Benulis

    • 3
    • 8
    • 0
    Angels and demons do battle for a girl possessed by the spirit of a powerful, dead angel in this fabulous paranormal debut by Sabrina Benulis. Archon is the first of the Books of Raziel, a truly fantastic and very hip new take on heaven’s warriors that readers of the angelic novels of Danielle Trussoni, Lauren Kate, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Alexandra Adornetto are sure to adore. Archon is new wave urban fantasy, a tale of the supernatural that brilliantly blends passion, obsession, horror, and suspense in a way that will appeal to dark fantasy fans and paranormal romance readers equally. Sabrina Benulis’s angels are creepy, sexy, and totally awesome—and, like Anne Rice’s amoral, ambiguous, and addicting vampires, they will seduce and terrify you at the same time.
    Show book
  • The Clockwork Crown - cover

    The Clockwork Crown

    Beth Cato

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Rich in atmosphere, imagination, and fun, the action-packed, magic-filled sequel to The Clockwork Dagger is an enchanting steampunk fantasy, evocative of the works of Trudi Canavan and Gail Carriger. 
    Narrowly surviving assassination and capture, Octavia Leander, a powerful magical healer, is on the run with handsome Alonzo Garrett, the Clockwork Dagger who forfeited his career with the Queen’s secret society of spies and killers—and possibly his life—to save her. Now, they are on a dangerous quest to find safety and answers: Why is Octavia so powerful? Why does she seem to be undergoing a transformation unlike any witnessed for hundreds of years? 
    The truth may rest with the source of her mysterious healing power—the Lady’s Tree. But the tree lies somewhere in a rough, inhospitable territory known as the Waste. Eons ago, this land was made barren and uninhabitable by an evil spell, until a few hardy souls dared to return over the last century. For years, the Waste has waged a bloody battle against the royal court to win its independence—and they need Octavia’s powers to succeed. 
    Joined by unlikely allies, including a menagerie of gremlin companions, she must evade killers and Clockwork Daggers on a dangerous journey through a world on the brink of deadly civil war.
    Show book
  • City of Fae - A London Fae Novel - cover

    City of Fae - A London Fae Novel

    Pippa DaCosta

    • 5
    • 25
    • 0
    Look, but don't touch. Touch, but don't feel. Feel, but never ever love.  
     
    From the moment Alina touches London's hottest fae superstar, breaking one of the laws founded to protect all of her kind, her fate – and the fae – close in.  
       
    Below ground, the fae High Queen plots to claim the city as her own and places her pawns, ready for the battle to come. A battle she cannot lose, but for one small problem – Alina. There are four ancient keepers powerful enough to keep the queen in her prison. Three are dead. One remains … And to fight back, Alina risks sacrificing everything she has come to love.  
       
    This New Adult urban fantasy is packed with action and suspense and will have you yearning for more forbidden fae romance.
    Show book
  • The Novice - The Black Magician Trilogy - cover

    The Novice - The Black Magician...

    Trudi Canavan

    • 1
    • 73
    • 0
    "Even if a magician's powers surface of their own accord, he will soon be dead if he does not gain the knowledge of how to control them." 
     
    Alone among all the novices in the Magicians' Guild, only Sonea comes from lowly beginnings. Yet she has won powerful allies—including Lord Dannyl, newly promoted to Guild Ambassador. But Dannyl must now depart for the Elyne court, leaving Sonea at the mercy of the lies and malicious rumors her enemies are busy spreading . . . until the High Lord Akkarin steps in. The price of Akkarin's support is dear, however, because Sonea, in turn, must protect his mysteries—and a secret that could lead a young novice mage deep into the darkness. 
    Meanwhile, Dannyl's first order to resume High Lord Akkarin's long-abandoned research into ancient magical knowledge is setting him on an extraordinary journey fraught with unanticipated peril—as he moves ever-closer to a future both wondrous . . . and terrible.
    Show book
  • Lair of the Lion - cover

    Lair of the Lion

    Christine Feehan

    • 6
    • 38
    • 0
    “The Queen of paranormal romance.”—USA Today 
    A classic from #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan, Lair of the Lion is a  dark-edged and enthralling take on the beloved “Beauty and the Beast” fairy tale. It is the breathtaking story of a beautiful, penniless aristocrat who promises herself to the handsome, powerful, mysterious, and not wholly human Don Nicolai DeMarco in order to free her imprisoned brother—even though legend has it that the Don will destroy any woman he weds. Perhaps best known for her bestselling “Dark” series, featuring the haunted and mesmerizing immortal Carpathians, Feehan is arguably the biggest name in paranormal historical romance—and any reader who loves passionate love stories tinged with the supernatural should enter the Lair of the Lion.
    Show book